Red Carnation Hotels
Happiness score is 73 out of 100
3.9 out of 5 stars.
Write a review

Red Carnation Hotels Employee Reviews

Review this company
Job Title
All
Location
United Kingdom70 reviews

Ratings by category

3.6Work-life balance

Sort by

HelpfulnessRatingDate
Found 70 reviews matching the searchSee all 127 reviews
lunchfreerecommendstaffplacelongteamexperience

Stressful but enjoyable

Indeed featured review

The most useful review selected by Indeed
Good place to work and good staff but starting to feel unhappy here .it’s a great environment to thrive in with plenty of colleagues to help you out.

Pros

Free lunch

Cons

Not taken seriously
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Red Carnation Hotels

18 July 2022
Hello there and thank you for your review. I think that one of the toughest jobs in the world is being a breakfast chef. I did for a summer job and I enjoyed it but it was hard work and relentless. Thank you for sticking with it so far and please do come and talk to me or your manager if you are not being taken seriously and we will do all in our power to help you. Thank you again for alerting us to how you are feeling and I can only act on negative reviews if I know about them. Liz

Stressful and understaffed

The job was really stressful, not enough staff when I started working there. The department manager tried their best but was never enough staff and the housekeeping staff would barely manage to finish rooms in time. Only after repeated pleas did HR begin to fill the positions, even though these were vacant for months. The most common response you would receive was that nobody applied for it...I loved working with the employees there, the staff was really hard working and just fantastic. Made friends and good memories. Cannot say the same about HR and higher management.***Only apply for a position if you are like-minded, or able to cope with anything.
Was this review helpful?

Insights into Red Carnation Hotels

Based on 11 survey responses
What people like
  • Ability to learn new things
  • Feeling of personal appreciation
  • Supportive environment
Areas for improvement
  • Energising work tasks

Fun workplace

Very nice place to work, no stress, good management, very nice work team, free launch. I recommend for everybody who wants to work in the heart of London

Pros

Free launches

Cons

No
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Red Carnation Hotels

18 July 2022
Thank you so much for this positive review! I really appreciate that you took the time and hope that you are still enjoying your weekend job with us! Liz

The best Hotel chain to work for

I highly recommend RCH it’s owned and run by people who are truly passionate about hospitality. Managers are approachable and very friendly. Great career progression so don’t be put off by lower salary for entry positions (not the lowest in the industry tho)
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Red Carnation Hotels

18 July 2022
Thank you for your fair and favourable remarks! We do our best and it's brilliant to receive reviews like this. We are not perfect though and this ever changes for you please come and speak to me! Thank you again. Liz

Work and life

Hotel 41 is the best place if you want to progress and have a life at the same time.Very good environment, good benefits with the company, the salary is ok... but everything else great. I had the best time when i was working and i worked for almost 3 years.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Red Carnation Hotels

18 July 2022
Thank you very much indeed for your lovely review and I agree, 41 is a wonderful place to work. It's busy and hard work but so rewarding. Thank you for your time with us and I hope that one day, you come back. Liz

Rate your recent company

Share your experience to help others

Great place to work in hospitality

Great working environment, opportunities to progress, learn and create a career in hospitality. Long term place to work and you usually form a work family with your colleagues.

Pros

Free breakfast lunch dinner, regular training provided

Cons

Hours can be early, late and/long, usually working during the holidays
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Red Carnation Hotels

18 July 2022
Thank you for your review and I have noted all your comments, good and not so good. Most of all, thank you for taking the time! Liz

Its ok to start

Colleagues are ok but you are being underpaid specially under 25s for doing the same job as over 25s. Being a waiter there is ok but wouldnt recommend it for progression

Pros

free lunch good colleagues

Cons

Underpaid
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Red Carnation Hotels

18 July 2022
Thank you for taking the time to make this review! We are looking to ensure that at this hotel, we bring it in line with the others in our collection and pay the same no matter someone's age. we are within the law and do ensure that everyone is given a fair share of the service charge so this means people's take home pay is very good and competitive. Thank you for alerting us to this again. Liz

Friendly caring team

I have worked at Summer Lodge for a year now and continue to grow in my development, I have been treated very well and fairy and feel listened too and appreciated with support from all I work closely with. The management are friendly and supportive and strive to keep their staff happy with incentives and general appreciation and given me the freedom to make choices and welcome ideas for the enhancement of the business. It’s a very busy hotel with lovely guests, members and non residents , so never a dull moment and salary reflect this. If you like being busy and well valued then I recommend Summer Lodge Spa a great place to work.

Pros

Free lunches free parking and beautiful scenery
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Red Carnation Hotels

18 July 2022
Thank you for your review. The spa is actually managed separately to the hotel but I will make sure the manager is aware of your review. Thank you for taking the time and I agree, you couldn't work in more beautiful surroundings! Liz

Spa workers poorly treated

This review is not fair on the actual hotel management they are lovely and it’s such a wonderful hotel. Sadly for me I work for the company Amelia Rose Holdings limited that run the spa and it was a far cry from how the rest of the hotel was run. They don’t like to pay you, minimum wage, promised commission but never paid it, work every weekend and back to back massage. Dirty, no joke you had 8 pairs of mitts for the whole spa that were washed out in between clients by hand, so they went from peoples feet onto faces time and time again, no stock, literally a couple of bottles of Elemis product to do a facial not the full range you are supposed to have. No decent nail product to do manicures. Yet they charge a fortune. I was really surprised such a high end hotel would have these two woman running its reputation into the ground. They expect 2 staff members to run the spa 7 days a week. Crazy pressure to do more hours. They literally do not care about their staff it’s all about the money. It’s such a shame could be such a lovely spa to work in,

Pros

Hotel is lovely

Cons

Unkind and uncaring sub management
Was this review helpful?

Its a pleasure to serve!

The Hotel has a very high level of service, its renowned for the high level of detail and discretion.I love working here, unstressed and rewarding my colleagues are all great people, we share the desire to provide top 5 star services to our guests.

Pros

Free breakfast, lunch, dinner, uniform and cleaning, discounted hotel stays in all RCH global venues, good staff incentives

Cons

Long hours, but worth it
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Red Carnation Hotels

28 October 2021
Thank you so much for your really favourable review and taking the time to do this. I and the senior management team really appreciate you doing this. Thank you and sorry if you have been working long hours at times, I know it’s been really tough recently but it is appreciated. Liz, Vice President People & Culture

Spa Directors are awful

I have never felt so used, exploited and manipulated! You are expected to do back to back massage with no breaks, the pay is appalling if you get paid correctly at all, it’s all about making money you are just a work horse there is no care for staff at all. You will work every weekend despite being told otherwise, no stock to work with. No lunch breaks, restricted in holidays, no training. You will turn up at working thinking you finish at 5 and see you are in until 7

Pros

The hotel staff are friends

Cons

Poorly paid, no breaks, repetitive strain injury
Was this review helpful?

Fantastic company

The best hotel company to work for the opportunities are endless staff benefits are excellent and every member of staff is a person a real family company to work for
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Red Carnation Hotels

28 October 2021
Thank you so much for your lovely review and we also loved having you as part of the company, all the best for the future. Liz, Vice President People & Culture

Great place to grow and challenge yourself.

Most Red Carnation hotels are a great place to work. Some of them are not up to the regular Red Carnation Standards. Sadly it is depending on the individual hotel and its management. However, most of their hotels are recommended.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Red Carnation Hotels

28 October 2021
Thank you for the review. I am aware that our hotels may differ with different managers but I hope we treat everyone with kindness, dignity and respect as a fundamental. I wish you all the best! Liz, Vice President People & Culture

Excellent place to experience and gain a skills

The best place with followings Excellent team Excellent supervisor Excellent condition Excellent trainings Excellent salary Excellent view Excellent ceremonies Excellent meals
Was this review helpful?

A day in red carnation Hotels

Its a fast-moving place that adapts to the requirements of the industry and that wants to deliver the best service possible to its guests. Its workplace culture is one of family and of support for its emplyees
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Red Carnation Hotels

28 October 2021
Thank you, that’s exactly what we are trying to achieve! Liz, Vice President People & Culture

Lovely workplace, supportive environment

I loved working at The Milestone hotel where I felt recognised and appreciated. Company also develops you in your role further and provides many other trainings and interesting options to grow
Was this review helpful?

Ashford Castle

I worked at Ashford Castle on the Management Programme for a year after finishing a degree in Hotel Management. The hotel and the surroundings are beautiful and the local community is lovely. I ended up working as a room attendant for 7 months with no opportunity to learn from management or do any extra projects. I often pushed to gain more responsibly and asked if I could shadow my manager during certain tasks, I was often told that this was need to know information and I didn't need to know. I also didn't get to do many of the training and development courses which were promised on the graduate training scheme. When joining in on a conversation in the housekeeping office I had been told to stay quiet as I wasn't being spoken to. It is not a great company culture I also had items stolen from my pockets in the staff locker room. I lived in staff accommodation with 6 other people, the houses were damp, mouldy, no phone or internet connection. The house I was living in often ran out of gas and we once waited 2 weeks without hot water and heating for the gas to be topped up. If you are doing the management programme in Ireland I would recommend bringing a car with you, renting your own apartment and making sure you set a strict timeline of which departments you would like to work in with your mentor.

Pros

Food during your shift, beautiful surroundings

Cons

Theft, terrible staff accommodation, awful company culture
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Red Carnation Hotels

28 October 2021
I am so sorry to hear of this experience. We have invested so much in our employee accommodation and I have visited it myself to ensure that it is of a good standard. The theft feedback is news to me, I was not aware of this and I have already addressed this with the General Managers on the estate. Sorry again that your experience was not a positive one and I hope that we can improve and make life and work better for other people. It’s only through learning of your opinion on this platform that we get the opportunity to do this - so thank you once again. Liz, Vice President People & Culture

Superb

Fantastic place to work and a great family and you really feel part of something, from day one I felt I’m actually part of a family and I felt like I mattered
Was this review helpful?

Competitive

The place I worked was a good job. I have learned many new things and have improved my knowledge in regards to customer service. Teamwork has given me the chance to work competitively and to think as a team.
Was this review helpful?

Nice Place to work for

Very nice and competitive place to work it, The management was so kind and helpful Everybody pushing so hard to reach the maximum effort. Negative part; the wage was a bit below between the competitor and them, therefore surviving in a big city like London was struggling...
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Red Carnation Hotels

28 October 2021
Thank you for your amazing feedback. I think you are right, we are so competitive and strive always to be the best. Sorry to hear you struggled financially. Liz, Vice President People & Culture

Productive and fun working place

Always be ready and expect the unexpected. I learned to manage my time efficiently, team work, organise and have fun and get along with staff that has different culture, learn about new culture and languages. Only difficulty that could there be a language barrier between staff members.

Pros

Training, lunch are provided. A lot of beneficial staff benefits, all higher staff members are approachable
Was this review helpful?

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Red Carnation Hotels. Our community is ready to answer.Ask a Question

Overall rating

Based on 127 reviews

Ratings by category

3.6 out of 5 stars for Work/Life Balance
3.4 out of 5 stars for Salary/Benefits
3.7 out of 5 stars for Job security/advancement
3.6 out of 5 stars for Management
3.9 out of 5 stars for Culture

Compare Red Carnation Hotels with

Learn about Red Carnation Hotels in popular locations

  • Companies
  • Red Carnation Hotels
  • Employee reviews