Rentokil Initial
3.8 out of 5 stars.
Get weekly updates, new jobs, and reviews

Rentokil Initial Employee Reviews

Job Title
Location
Found 563 reviews matching the search
See all 734 reviews
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
I have been working with the company for 4 months now, it can be stressful at times, but given the global pandemic, it's to be expected.I start work at 8am and finish at 5pm, however as I do not live close to my patch, I have to drive for an hour each way. This makes the day rather long, but at least they provide a company van and fuel card.You learn a lot about pests that you otherwise probably wouldn't have. It's educational, and you definitely get better at it with time and experience. There are also decent opportunities to progress with your learning and training, which will all add to your personal arsenal for future job roles.The driving aspect is easily my favourite and least favourite aspect of the job. I enjoy driving, when there is no traffic, or idiots.I would not reccomend this job to the weak of heart (or physicality) there can be unpleasant moments in this job that you need a strong stomach for. There's often a lot of weight to carry in terms of preparations and equipment as well as lots of walking.Time management and planning is essential to be successful at this job. As you are practically in charge of your working hours for the most part.
Pros
Conpany van, friendly environment
Cons
Can be a lot of travelling, some mandatory out of hours and weekend work included.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Rentokil Initial
1 February 2021
Thank you for leaving us a review.We appreciate your honest feedback from your first four months with us. We are glad you are settling in well and are enjoying the variety that a technician role offers.It is great to hear that you are finding the training and development opportunities beneficial for your career progression. We hope you continue to enjoy your time working with us.Marketing Manager – Rentokil Initial
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Used to be a fantastic company, with excellent pay, fair work life balance, helpfull and intelligent management.Now its been ripped inside out by GREED, poor management, insane levels of stress that are not even remotely worth even double the 'just above minimum wages' you will get for the first few years. you will be micro managed by a child straight out of university. YOU CAN EARN MORE WORKING IN LIDLES.
Pros
Very very high staff turn over, so meet new people before they break down.
Cons
Tracked vans. Phones. Excessive workload. No life. Awful awful management. Poor pay.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Rentokil Initial
11 February 2021
Thank you for your review.Your comments are disappointing to read as we put our colleagues at the heart of our business, and we strive to provide a friendly, supportive and inclusive work environment. All of our managers are provided with extensive training and, as we promote heavily from within, most of our managers have progressed through the company from roles like the one you held, and are therefore well equipped to understand the daily challenges colleagues may encounter. We provide a range of benefits to help colleagues enhance their basic pay and to help make their money go further including overtime opportunities, incentives, commission from sales leads, RI Rewards (which provides a range of discounts from over 3000 retailers), Cycle to Work and our Employee Assistance Programme. We have noted your comments. If you would like to discuss this further then please email feedback-uk@rentokil-initial.com.HR Manager - Rentokil Initial
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Since working for Inital I have exceded my own goals and I am still progressing up the ladder from admin to potential manger.I love my job and highly recommend this company for the opportunies they give you.When we were requiered to work from home the company ensured I had all the tools I needed to do this without question my needs were met.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Rentokil Initial
10 February 2021
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.It's fantastic to read that you are proud of your personal development whilst working with Rentokil Initial- we wish you all the best in achieving your job goals. Be sure to utilise the support from your team and the many training opportunities available.Marketing Manager - Rentokil Initial
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Wow, this company are a shambles, don't ever allow them to give you time off for family emergencies or break downs, as you will have no job to go back too.. Shocking treatment...
Pros
None
Cons
Every part of job
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Rentokil Initial
9 February 2021
Thank you for writing a review and we are disappointed that you had problems during your time with us. At Rentokil Initial we take all concerns very seriously, please contact feedback-uk@rentokil-initial to discuss how we can improve.Marketing Manager - Rentokil Initial
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Working for Rentokil-Initial is great. You are valued and allowed to thrive. You are given the tools you need. You are given training you need. Excellent health & safety practices. Good holidays and fair salary.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Rentokil Initial
9 February 2021
Thank you for your review. We are extremely happy to read your comments and we hope you continue to utilise the training opportunities available to you for personal and professional development. As you mention health and safety is a top priority to ensure the wellbeing of all our colleagues and customers.In addition, relationships are one of our values here at Rentokil Initial, we value the relationships within our teams, we are supported and encouraged to grow- we are glad your team has encompassed this.We wish you all the best in your future with us.Marketing Manager - Rentokil Initial
Rate your recent company
Share your experience to help others
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Although you can spend a lot of time working alone. There is a great team culture. Every at every level is very supportive.Very much enjoying being part of the team.
Pros
Different day different tasks
Cons
None really suits me.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Rentokil Initial
9 February 2021
Thank you leaving us a five star review.As you mention, some roles do require you to work independently. However, your manager, team and the wider RI team are always on hand and willing to answer any questions and provide support. We focus on hiring people who fit into our work culture and in doing so, you should find your colleagues hold a similar work and team ethic.We wish you all the best in your career with us.Marketing Manager - Rentokil Initial
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Rentokil Initial give great job security, a great work environment. They are flexible to people's needs and thrive to help their staff. Overall great place to work.
Pros
Company Van, Flexibility
Cons
Can get tiring
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Rentokil Initial
9 February 2021
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a five star review, we appreciate your feedback.At Rentokil Initial we try to create a family-like atmosphere for our employees to feel supported, comfortable and recognised. We understand that a work life balance is important so we do our best to allow our employees flexibility in their role to meet their personal commitments. Marketing Manager - Rentokil Initial
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Good place to work l, very active and varied day to day. Great support and staff interaction. Plenty of opportunities available for learning and progression.
Pros
Over time and Career progression
Cons
Poor lunch facilities
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Rentokil Initial
1 February 2021
Thank you for leaving us a review, it is great to read your feedback.We are glad that you are enjoying your time working with us at Rentokil Initial. It is great to hear your team are supporting you in your role and you are finding the training opportunities useful for your development – please continue to make use of these resources. Marketing Manager – Rentokil Initial
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Good company to work for with alot of opportunities for progression to develop and learn different roles. Pay is good and work is always different and requires active thinking.
Pros
Good salary, varied work
Cons
Away from home
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Rentokil Initial
1 February 2021
We would like to thank you for leaving a review.It is fantastic to hear that you are learning a lot from your role and finding great support from us in terms of training opportunities. This role does require you to work away from home sometimes as this is the nature of the role. If you do have any concerns or questions regarding this please do reach out to your manager to discuss your options. We would like to wish you every success in your future career with us. Marketing Manager – Rentokil Initial
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
The best part of working for Rentokil is no two days are the same. The people are all nice and happy to show you the ropes. Pay isn't great but there's opportunities for overtime
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Rentokil Initial
1 February 2021
We would like to thank you for leaving a review.It is great to hear that you are finding your work as a Hygiene Technician varied and exciting – we understand that these criteria are so important in a position. We are glad that you have found great support from your colleagues – this is reflective of our family-like work culture which we strive to create. As you mention, we offer many opportunities to boost your income such as overtime, RI Rewards and promotion incentives to help you maximise your take home pay. Marketing Manager – Rentokil Initial
We want to help you find great companies. Help us be the best!
Do these reviews help you learn more about working at Rentokil Initial?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
The job itself is enjoyable, there is always new people to meet and jobs to be doing. You are your own boss by planning your own days and in charge of booking in clients etc. 8am-5PM days which is good for a work life/personal life balance. Graduate scheme pay however has been cut due to coronavirus. Colleagues are always looking out for each other and help each other out.
Pros
Meet new people, your own boss
Cons
Unpaid lunch, can be stressful at times
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Rentokil Initial
1 February 2021
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, we appreciate your feedback.We are glad that you find your role interesting and that you get to manage your own diary. We believe that giving our employees the responsibility to manage their own schedules allows them more flexibility to achieve a work/life balance as you have. At Rentokil Initial we try to create a family-like atmosphere where all employees feel supported by one and other – we are glad you have experienced this.Marketing Manager – Rentokil Initial
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
The training within Rentokil Initial is thorough and professional, allowing individuals confidence and expertise in their job role. The opportunity to progress is apparent and managers are encouraging of your personal development. The apprenticeship course is a great opportunity for new starters and support is given throughout the whole process, allowing employees to develop skills in broadened areas.
Pros
Independence
Cons
Unpaid Breaks
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Rentokil Initial
1 February 2021
Thank you for leaving us a five-star review, we appreciate your feedback.It is great to get your perspective on our many training and professional development materials – we are glad that these resources have allowed your confidence in your role to grow. The apprenticeship course has been well received - it is fantastic to hear that you have also found this course broadened your experience. Marketing Manager – Rentokil Initial
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Rentokil is a huge company with fantastic opportunities to progress and make a career pathway for yourself. If you have bags of initiative and hungry for progression then Rentokil is the business for you.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Rentokil Initial
1 February 2021
Thank you for leaving us a five-star review.At Rentokil Initial we believe in our employees, this means we encourage professional development within our team. This allows us to promote our employees from within and gives our employees the confidence to deliver excellent customer service. As you mention, we reward hard work and there are always opportunities for progression within the company. We hope you continue to enjoy your time at Rentokil Initial.Marketing Manager – Rentokil Initial
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
As of yet I have loved every minute of working for rentokil. Whenever I need help there is always someone there to help me succeed in my task. From managers to the apprentice team, they are all really important to the job that I do.
Pros
Money, hours, hour dinner break
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Rentokil Initial
1 February 2021
Thank you for leaving us a five-star review.At Rentokil Initial we believe in our employees, this means we encourage professional development within our team. This allows us to promote our employees from within and gives our employees the confidence to deliver excellent customer service. As you mention, we reward hard work and there are always opportunities for progression within the company. We hope you continue to enjoy your time at Rentokil Initial.Marketing Manager – Rentokil Initial
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
A typical day at work usually involves multiple sites, meeting up with various customers and can be so varied. From a corner shop to a food factory. My time at Rentokil has taught me a lot, everyday is a school day. I really enjoyed the opportunity to learn about the company and its history within the apprenticeship period and the apprenticeship team were always so helpful and positive, which made my adjustment into the industry so much easier.The culture within the workplace is great, its like a family. Fellow technicians are always happy and willing to help and although you work on your own, you never feel as though you are.The hardest part of the job is when there are few members of the team in, meaning you are responsible for covering multiple areas as well as your own. In this situation there can be a lot of driving time which impacts your overall productivity.The most enjoyable part of the job is that you get the opportunity to meet some fantastic people both within the company and also customers.
Pros
You are free to plan and organise your own days. There is no micromanaging by management.
Cons
At times its hard to get a work life balance. Particularly when there is little staff.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Rentokil Initial
29 January 2021
Thank you very much for leaving us a review, we appreciate your feedback.It is great to hear that you enjoy the variety that a Technician role offers and as you say it makes every day different. At Rentokil we try to create a family-like environment where every employee and customer feels supported – we are glad you have felt this in your role. With regards to periods when there is limited staff, we do our best to allocate technicians locally to cover these instances to minimize travel between jobs but in some situations, this cannot be avoided.Please reach out to your line manager if you ever feel the workload becomes unmanageable, they will be more than happy to help.We wish you all the best in your future career working with us. Marketing Manager – Rentokil Initial
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
I got my job bh indeed so I'm happy to happy where I can , they are very welcoming and I'm happy to work here I would recommend if you think you may enjoy this type of work
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Rentokil Initial
29 January 2021
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review.We are glad you are happy in your role and enjoying the work so far, we hope you continue to enjoy your time working with us.Marketing Manager – Rentokil Initial
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
The interview process is efficient and logical. Once you start with the company you shadow another technician for six weeks, use this opportunity to be as hands on as possible. After that you have an assessment to allow lone working, then you are out working a designated patch. Pay is quite low, but money can be made from sales. Coworkers usually keen to help you learn the ropes whilst on your own. The job gives you as much as you put in.
Pros
Work van and fuel card supplied
Cons
Low starting salary
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Rentokil Initial
29 January 2021
Thank you for leaving us a review of your time with us so far.We are glad you have been able to make the most of your practical induction with the Technician, this a vital part of your development so you have a holistic understanding of the business. With regards to salary there are many opportunities to boost your income at RI such as overtime, benefits and career progression.We wish you all the best in the rest of your graduate scheme.Marketing Manager – Rentokil Initial
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
The recruitment process started off well. However , between being offered the role and officially starting the communication was not great on their side, it made me a little nervous about what I was getting myself into. Once I started , communication definitely improved. Another pointer is that I was offered a position in a different area to the one I originally applied for. This wasn't explained to me and I only noticed it once I received the job offer. Although, it didn't matter to me too much , it might be problematic for someone who requires for whatever reason to be closer to work. I think it is courteous to let the candidate know regardless.Once fully enrolled , the apprenticeship team were really helpful and made for a quick process towards attaining level 1 . This has continued into level 2 . Can't really fault them!During my training , I was mainly with one trainer. Management at the time wanted trainees to stay with one trainer, in reality this wasn't very feasible as trainers run on their own schedule not the trainees. So there were instances where I would be placed with another trainer. I think your training experience does vary dependent on your trainer. I learnt a lot . Beyond training, colleagues have always been on hand to help, and genuinely nicest bunch of people! However I do think that you don't fully get to grips with pest control until you're out on your own. Every day is different , I like the apprehension before heading into a site not really knowing what you're going to find! Being organised is key and keeping on the ball otherwise you will - more...
Pros
Work colleagues, overtime available, opportunities for progression, paid courses
Cons
Long hours if doing over time
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Great salary!Good work life balance. Mon - Fri 8-5Great management team.Progression is encouraged.🤩Money to be made with overtime and leads.The best job.
Pros
Money
Cons
Nothing
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Rentokil Initial
29 January 2021
Thanks for leaving us such a positive review, we enjoyed reading your comments.We are glad to hear you are enjoying the many benefits that RI offers and that your role allows you to achieve an all-important work/life balance. It is also great to hear that you are taking advantage of all our training opportunities on offer at Rentokil Initial.We hope you continue to enjoy working with us.Marketing Manager – Rentokil Initial
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Basic salary isn't great but you put the time in you can earn some serious cash. Management are the best I have ever had. Great variety of work just all round great job
Pros
Variety of work
Cons
Basic salary
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Rentokil Initial
29 January 2021
Thank you for leaving us a five star review.It is great to hear that you are enjoying the variety your role offers and have a supportive management team around you. With regards to salary, as you mention there are many ways to increase your income through overtime, commission and also benefits such as RI Rewards. All the best in your future career working with us.Marketing Manager – Rentokil Initial
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Targets are set , but can not always be achieved. Plan your own day to try to achieve as many calls as possible in your 8 hrs .If you get a a Call Out , you might need to replan your day .It is a good place to work
Pros
Left to work on your own initiative
Cons
Minimum number of calls cannot always be achieved
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Rentokil Initial
29 January 2021
Thank you for leaving us a review.We do our best to set achievable targets for our teams but we understand unforeseen challenges can cause schedules to change. As we are a service company we are at the call of our customers and often this can be at short notice, we appreciate call outs can disrupt schedules. We are glad that you have enjoyed the autonomy that your role offers you.We wish you all the best in your future career working with us.Marketing Manager – Rentokil Initial
  1. Employee reviews