Rethink Mental Illness
3.1 out of 5 stars.
Get weekly updates, new jobs, and reviews

Rethink Mental Illness Employee Reviews

Job Title
Location
Showing all 76 reviews
Featured review
Rethink Mental Illness selected this as a representative review
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
In the course of a year here at Rethink there has been a massive amount of change within our team, which has sometimes made it hard to see or feel change and direction. I am happy to say that this is now improving ten fold and the sense of motivation, commitment and just passion to get change happening and make Rethink Mental Illness a great place to work is visible every single day!!
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Rethink Mental Illness
7 February 2020
Thank you for your feedback about your time here at Rethink. All feedback we receive is used to help us improve what we do, so we really appreciate you taking the time out to share your experience with us.Many thanksRethink Mental Illness
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
This was a great restart for me after being made redundant following the financial crisis, I had not set up a new service from the start and this was an opportunity to gain the experience in doing so, I like the way in which the organisation did what it stood for, I had the time of my life working in the London service, but this change when i moved to the EastMidlands as the Regional Director at the time attempted to make my life difficult, this impacted my own mental health.
Pros
Training, New Opportunities
Cons
Bullying by Regional Director
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Rethink Mental Illness
4 January 2021
Thank you for sharing your feedback about your time here at Rethink Mental Illness. We would like to encourage you, if you haven’t already, to complete the exit interview or contact our HR team. We can then gather feedback which will help us address any concerns and focus on any improvements required. All feedback we receive is used to help us improve what we do, so we really appreciate you taking the time out to share your experience with us.Many thanksRethink Mental Illness
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Loved my job at first was supported. Then felt very unsupported and lost my motivation and my mh started to deteriotate. Manager always getting us to do jobs (that not in our job description and should be doing self) when asked if could have certain day off for own commitments (that was doing before started job) and wouldn't said needs of the service came first (this was something i needed for myself to support my own mental health. Always short staff i could keep going on. Not flexible for parents
Pros
Salary and food on site
Cons
Management, no work life balance short staffed
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Rethink Mental Illness
7 September 2020
We’re very sorry to hear that you feel this way about your time with us here at Rethink Mental Illness. We would like to encourage you, if you haven’t already, to complete the exit interview or contact our HR team. We can then gather feedback which will help us address any concerns and focus on any improvements required. All feedback we receive is used to continually help us improve what we do.If you would be happy to talk to us please do get in touch with our HR team on 0121 522 7111.Many thanksRethink Mental Illness
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Multi-faceted approach to addressing mental heath in the public eye. Forward thinking in its innovative approach . Different departments keen to hear more about how each other is working together for the common cause
Pros
London weighting on salary
Cons
Uncertain contract length
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Rethink Mental Illness
7 September 2020
Thank you for providing us with your feedback about your time here at Rethink Mental Illness. All the feedback we receive is used to help us improve what we do, so we really appreciate you taking the time out to share your experience with us.Many thanksRethink Mental Illness
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Brilliant team work, ethos and support interactions A real person centred approach. Individualised support plans structured together with service users. Inclusion and support to optimise independent living a priority.
Pros
Non medical ethos. Recovery.
Cons
Lack of funding therefore limited accommodation opportunities for service users.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Rethink Mental Illness
7 September 2020
Thank you for sharing your feedback about your time here at Rethink Mental Illness. All feedback we receive is used to help us improve what we do, so we really appreciate you taking the time out to share your experience with us.Many thanksRethink Mental Illness
Rate your recent company
Share your experience to help others
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
After reading countless bad reviews of this work place I went into this job expecting the worse but was pleasantly surprised. I was greeted with a friendly staff team and management who made me feel welcome straight away. It has been a fast paced environment and a very rewarding job so far . Management are helpful and guiding, I have been pushed to progress quickly with extra training which has allowed me to learn lots of new skills. really enjoying the role .
Pros
Lovely staff, friendly residents, rewarding job, good work life balance with the shifts
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Rethink Mental Illness
7 September 2020
Thank you for your feedback about your time here at Rethink Mental Illness. All feedback we receive is used to help us improve what we do, so we really appreciate you taking the time out to share your experience with us.Many thanksRethink Mental Illness
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
It's coming to something when an egotistical manager who sounds like he's swallowed a thesaurus has to write a fraudulent review to boost the ratings of a once excellent service that is now managed by narcissistic bullies. My dealings with this once excellent service are now limited, thankfully and to place a client in this environment would be a fundamental failing.
Cons
Management, management, management
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Rethink Mental Illness
22 June 2020
We’re very sorry to hear that you feel this way about your time with us here at Rethink Mental Illness. We would like to encourage you, if you haven’t already, to complete the exit interview or contact our HR team. We can then gather feedback which will help us address any concerns and focus on any improvements required. All feedback we receive is used to continually help us improve what we do.If you would be happy to talk to us please do get in touch with our HR team on 0121 522 7111.Many thanksRethink Mental Illness
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
This place used to be ok but its interesting what a change of manager can do !!!! It has been run down by the current management who are useless. If your not a yes sir, no sir type of person and don't creep you get no where even if you are experienced and good at your job. There is no progression with residents. They are often unshowered, wearing dirty clothes and sleeping in unkempt rooms. I would not let a relative of mine live here. Rethink needs a rethink !!!
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Rethink Mental Illness
22 April 2020
We’re sorry to hear that you feel this way about your time with us at Rethink Mental Illness. We have checked our records and they show that we have not had leaver at this service recently. Therefore we would encourage you, if you haven’t already, to complete an exit interview or contact our HR team. We can then gather feedback which will help us address any concerns and focus on any improvements required. All feedback we receive is used to continually help us improve what we do. If you would be happy to talk to us please do get in touch with our HR team on 0121 522 7111.Many thanksRethink Mental Illness
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
I really enjoyed my time working at Rethink, it's a great charity to work for as they really want to make a difference. I worked with such a good team with a really supportive manager. The induction and training offered is also excellent.
Pros
Salary and training
Cons
Limited progression
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Rethink Mental Illness
22 April 2020
Thank you for your feedback about your time here at Rethink. All feedback we receive is used to help us improve what we do, so we really appreciate you taking the time out to share your experience with us.Many thanksRethink Mental Illness
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Wow! I have learned so much in such a short time about mental health and how to empower others recovery! The staff team are really great at what they do and well supported by the management team. There is a comprehensive induction and lots of further training and development opportunities for people. Through support and supervision Recovery Workers are encouraged to be creative in our approaches when identifying solutions with people engaged in the service, this allows us to develop truly person centred care packages involving peoples own likes, hobbies and aspirations. As with all shifts in this sector, the shifts can be long and demanding but rewarding! I really feel that I am getting the support and training to further my own development and career opportunities.
Pros
Excellent training and development
Cons
Long shifts
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Rethink Mental Illness
22 April 2020
Thank you for your feedback about your time here at Rethink. All feedback we receive is used to help us continually improve what we do, so we really appreciate you taking the time out to share your experience with us.Many thanksRethink Mental Illness
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
For a mental health charity, they care little about their staff. Too many sleep ins and they do not uphold their own company policy on this.. Unhealthy too much lone workingcutting budgets and line working which could be
Pros
Meal on duty
Cons
Little/no sleep on a sleep in
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Rethink Mental Illness
22 April 2020
We’re sorry to hear your experience with us at Rethink Mental Illness. We would encourage you if you haven’t already, to complete an exit interview or contact our HR team so we can gather feedback and address any concerns and issues. We do get lots of positive feedback from our leavers too, and all the feedback we receive continues to help us to improve what we do.If you would be happy to talk to us please do get in touch with our HR team on 0121 522 7111.Many thanksRethink Mental Illness
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Great place to work,excellent communication cold were all very supportive & great backup from Local Management. However HR Department was inept.Good prospects,everyone had a good opportunity to discuss case loads& I was always listened to & everyone was treated equally.We were encouraged to help each other & help both in the office & in the field,so that we could always get help either from a colleague of Manager.Everyone was very approachable & you could rely on their support &if need discretion.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Rethink Mental Illness
26 February 2020
Thank you for your positive words about your time here at Rethink. All feedback we receive is used to help us continue to improve what we do. If there is anything you feel could be improved we could encourage you to complete your exit interview if you haven't done so already. We really appreciate you taking the time out to share your experience with us.Many thanksRethink Mental Illness
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
A fast paced place to work however this was a great experience and the training opportunities were good. There was a lot of lone working which i believe was changing after I left
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Rethink Mental Illness
26 February 2020
Thank you for your feedback about your time here at Rethink. All feedback we receive is used to help us improve what we do, so we really appreciate you taking the time out to share your experience with us.Many thanksRethink Mental Illness
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
If I could have given 0 stars I would have. Worked as support staff for years and was treated like dirt on the bottom of management’s shoes. Found out they were hiring their friends and paying them much higher rates. HR did nothing. Only plus was my fellow support workers but management slowly but surely pushed us all out. If you value your mental health DO NOT work here.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Rethink Mental Illness
7 February 2020
We’re sorry to hear about your experiences with us at Rethink Mental Illness. We would encourage you if you haven’t already, to complete an exit interview or contact our HR team so that we can gather any feedback and address any concerns and issues. We do get lots of positive feedback from our leavers too, and all the feedback we receive helps us to improve what we do.If you would be happy to talk to us please do get in touch with our HR team on 0121 522 7111.Many thanksRethink Mental Illness
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Long Hours, with not much support. High risk work load. Working with vulnerable adults on a one to one basis. 24 hour service working weekends and bank holidays
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Rethink Mental Illness
7 February 2020
Thank you for your feedback about your time with us at Rethink Mental Illness. We would encourage you if you haven’t already, to complete an exit interview so that we can gather any feedback and address any concerns and issues. We do get lots of positive feedback from our leavers too, and we use all feedback received to help us improve what we do.If you would be happy to talk to us please do get in touch with our HR team on 0121 522 7111.Many thanksRethink Mental Illness
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Rethink is a Charity and as such there were alot of budget cuts that meant that my department were really short staffed. As such I felt under alot of pressure to perform which adversely affected my work life balance
Pros
great team
Cons
Heavy work load
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Rethink Mental Illness
28 January 2020
Thank you for your feedback about your time here at Rethink Mental Illness. We would encourage you if you haven’t already, to complete an exit interview so that we can gather any feedback and address any concerns and issues. We do get lots of positive feedback from our leavers too, and all feedback we receive is used to help us improve what we do.If you would be happy to talk to us please do get in touch with our HR team on 0121 522 7111.Many thanksRethink Mental Illness
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
I worked at Rethink for many years in various roles. It was good for the 1st few years but then management staryed to slowly change and long standing work colleagues left due to the harsh treatment by management. Others were forced out due to having mental health problems themselves. Several members of staff were sacked as they had become obstacles for the management as they didn't agree with the way the charity was operating and becoming unsafe for the staff and service users.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Rethink Mental Illness
28 January 2020
We’re sorry to hear about your experiences here at Rethink Mental Illness. We would encourage you if you haven’t already, to complete an exit interview or contact our HR team so that we can gather any feedback and address any concerns and issues. We do get lots of positive feedback from our leavers too, and all feedback we receive is used to help us improve what we do.If you would be happy to talk to us please do get in touch with our HR team on 0121 522 7111.Many thanksRethink Mental Illness
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Place is lovely however if you are not friends with managers then you will be pushed Out! Claim you are not qualified enough and Use your own mental health to bully you out of the job. Managers get you to do there jobs for them and are lazy.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Rethink Mental Illness
28 January 2020
Thank you for your feedback, we’re sorry to hear about your experiences here at Rethink Mental Illness. We would encourage you if you haven’t already, to complete an exit interview so that we can gather any feedback and address any concerns and issues. We do get lots of positive feedback from our leavers too, and all feedback we receive is used to help us improve what we do.If you would be happy to talk to us please do get in touch with our HR team on 0121 522 7111.Many thanksRethink Mental Illness
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Over all good to work for, but manager was incongruent. Client base for the most part we're supported well. Staff could have had better training in mental health
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Rethink Mental Illness
15 January 2020
Thank you for your feedback about your time here at Rethink. All feedback we receive is used to help us improve what we do, so we really appreciate you taking the time out to share your experience with us.Many thanksRethink Mental Illness
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Great people to work with. I had a good training both internally and externally. The staff are encouraging and helping. Everything is well documented and up to date
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Rethink Mental Illness
10 January 2020
Thank you for your positive words about your time here at Rethink. All feedback we receive is used to help us improve what we do, so we really appreciate you taking the time out to share your experience with us.Many thanksRethink Mental Illness
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
I really enjoy working at Rethink Mental Illness, I work with a wonderful team and have a supportive line manager. There is a lot of positive change happening within the Charity at the moment which is exciting to be part off. I'd recommend Rethink as a good employer to anyone interested in working in Mental Health.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Rethink Mental Illness
8 January 2020
Thank you for your positive words about your time here at Rethink. All feedback we receive is used to help us improve what we do, so we really appreciate you taking the time out to share your experience with us. Many thanksRethink Mental Illness