Rethink Mental Illness
3.1 out of 5 stars.
Get weekly updates, new jobs, and reviews

Rethink Mental Illness Employee Reviews for Mental Health Technician

Job Title
Location
Found 24 reviews matching the search
See all 76 reviews
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Long Hours, with not much support. High risk work load. Working with vulnerable adults on a one to one basis. 24 hour service working weekends and bank holidays
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Rethink Mental Illness
7 February 2020
Thank you for your feedback about your time with us at Rethink Mental Illness. We would encourage you if you haven’t already, to complete an exit interview so that we can gather any feedback and address any concerns and issues. We do get lots of positive feedback from our leavers too, and we use all feedback received to help us improve what we do.If you would be happy to talk to us please do get in touch with our HR team on 0121 522 7111.Many thanksRethink Mental Illness
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Loved my job at first was supported. Then felt very unsupported and lost my motivation and my mh started to deteriotate. Manager always getting us to do jobs (that not in our job description and should be doing self) when asked if could have certain day off for own commitments (that was doing before started job) and wouldn't said needs of the service came first (this was something i needed for myself to support my own mental health. Always short staff i could keep going on. Not flexible for parents
Pros
Salary and food on site
Cons
Management, no work life balance short staffed
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Rethink Mental Illness
7 September 2020
We’re very sorry to hear that you feel this way about your time with us here at Rethink Mental Illness. We would like to encourage you, if you haven’t already, to complete the exit interview or contact our HR team. We can then gather feedback which will help us address any concerns and focus on any improvements required. All feedback we receive is used to continually help us improve what we do.If you would be happy to talk to us please do get in touch with our HR team on 0121 522 7111.Many thanksRethink Mental Illness
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
After reading countless bad reviews of this work place I went into this job expecting the worse but was pleasantly surprised. I was greeted with a friendly staff team and management who made me feel welcome straight away. It has been a fast paced environment and a very rewarding job so far . Management are helpful and guiding, I have been pushed to progress quickly with extra training which has allowed me to learn lots of new skills. really enjoying the role .
Pros
Lovely staff, friendly residents, rewarding job, good work life balance with the shifts
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Rethink Mental Illness
7 September 2020
Thank you for your feedback about your time here at Rethink Mental Illness. All feedback we receive is used to help us improve what we do, so we really appreciate you taking the time out to share your experience with us.Many thanksRethink Mental Illness
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Wow! I have learned so much in such a short time about mental health and how to empower others recovery! The staff team are really great at what they do and well supported by the management team. There is a comprehensive induction and lots of further training and development opportunities for people. Through support and supervision Recovery Workers are encouraged to be creative in our approaches when identifying solutions with people engaged in the service, this allows us to develop truly person centred care packages involving peoples own likes, hobbies and aspirations. As with all shifts in this sector, the shifts can be long and demanding but rewarding! I really feel that I am getting the support and training to further my own development and career opportunities.
Pros
Excellent training and development
Cons
Long shifts
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Rethink Mental Illness
22 April 2020
Thank you for your feedback about your time here at Rethink. All feedback we receive is used to help us continually improve what we do, so we really appreciate you taking the time out to share your experience with us.Many thanksRethink Mental Illness
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
For a mental health charity, they care little about their staff. Too many sleep ins and they do not uphold their own company policy on this.. Unhealthy too much lone workingcutting budgets and line working which could be
Pros
Meal on duty
Cons
Little/no sleep on a sleep in
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Rethink Mental Illness
22 April 2020
We’re sorry to hear your experience with us at Rethink Mental Illness. We would encourage you if you haven’t already, to complete an exit interview or contact our HR team so we can gather feedback and address any concerns and issues. We do get lots of positive feedback from our leavers too, and all the feedback we receive continues to help us to improve what we do.If you would be happy to talk to us please do get in touch with our HR team on 0121 522 7111.Many thanksRethink Mental Illness
Rate your recent company
Share your experience to help others
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
A fast paced place to work however this was a great experience and the training opportunities were good. There was a lot of lone working which i believe was changing after I left
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Rethink Mental Illness
26 February 2020
Thank you for your feedback about your time here at Rethink. All feedback we receive is used to help us improve what we do, so we really appreciate you taking the time out to share your experience with us.Many thanksRethink Mental Illness
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Doing the floating support for rethink was the best job I had. If I had stayed it would have been interesting to see where I ended up. The team at the Gravesend office were really good people and worked as i feel a team should do. Supporting each other but not getting in each others way.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Rethink Mental Illness
8 January 2020
Thank you for your positive words about your time here at Rethink. All feedback we receive is used to help us improve what we do, so we really appreciate you taking the time out to share your experience with us. Many thanksRethink Mental Illness
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
It's the best company I have worked with, I feel empowered and valued. I do make a difference and I learn everyday. I become surprised about the strength of the clients and staff
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Rethink Mental Illness
8 January 2020
Thank you for your positive words about your time here at Rethink. All feedback we receive is used to help us improve what we do, so we really appreciate you taking the time out to share your experience with us. Many thanksRethink Mental Illness
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Varied work with a close team who support each other, ongoing training and support always available. Supportive management who respect your experience and knowledge
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Rethink Mental Illness
8 January 2020
Thank you for your positive words about your time here at Rethink. All feedback we receive is used to help us improve what we do, so we really appreciate you taking the time out to share your experience with us. Many thanksRethink Mental Illness
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Management lazy and not bothered about Birmingham even though it is the second largest city in UK. Over the past 10 years or so Rethink have closed a lot of services. They can't blame funding as other charities and organisations have managed to keep some of their current services running and even get funding for new services in Birmingham.
Was this review helpful?
We want to help you find great companies. Help us be the best!
Do these reviews help you learn more about working at Rethink Mental Illness?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
My first few years were brilliant, but the last few years were horrendous, top heavy with management, restructure after restructure, terrible pay for what you put up with mainly may I add from management, no way to work your way up the ladder. Starting at 8am in the morning and not finishing until 9pm or later. Terrible
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
The actual job role (I was mental health recovery worker) is amazing. This is about as front line as it gets in mental health work & if you’re born afraid of a bit of hard work, genuinely want to help others and don’t mind working with those with severe mental illness and those who are in crisis point, then it is amazing. The work you can do & the change you can help inspire in other people’s lives is brilliant and so rewarding. However, this is unfortunately hindered by the organisation. I experienced the organisation to be quite “Cliqhey’ - if you did not get on with certain staff or agree with their style of working then you where in trouble. Managers have Definetly got favourites who have their ear and you either do what they say or you’re in trouble. There’s Definetly a gap between the front line staff and service managers, AD’s and upwards. Rethink as a wider organisation seem brilliant - time to change is fab, great website, great information. Rethink however need to practice what they preach with Regards to well-being at work - staff members with lived experience of mental health are encouraged to work at ReThink but I found that it isn’t supported well. The administrative side of this is done (Wrap plans Etc...) so boxes are ticked but there seems little understanding on day to day issues for staff members with mental health & this is a real shame. Pay is also quite poor compared to what work you do.
Pros
Very rewarding job role
Cons
Low pay, lack of support from managers
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Out and about driving to clients and supporting them, regular contact with CMHTS about the people we supported, regular training helped me keep up to date with how things were changing within mental health, completion of paperwork on a regular basis. Hardest part was the driving when the weather wasn't very nice. The most enjoyable part was watching the people you support achieve the goals that they had identified.
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Unsupported at last place I worked. Incompetent manager and proved right as she was asked to leave. I liked most of the staff apart from one who was taken on as she was very friendly with the managers.
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Poor Organisation with poor considerations to procedure, policies, legislation and training. Although this is likely service specific, whilst working with this service they were investigated leading to the closure of a number of services due to not meeting necessary requirements. A number of colleagues working here felt unprepared, unsupported, and bullied by management and other colleagues. I am hopeful that other services nationally are not this way inclined, but for my experience this was very accurate.
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
very rewarding and very challenging at times supporting residents on a daily basis to continue with daily living with support from you when they reqiure the need helping them achieve their goals escorting them where they want to go if family cannot and seeing them happy
Pros
seeing people you support happy
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Such a great company. Excellent manage dent and team work. Was able to manage my own diary and given much flexibility. Great continuous learning about mental health.
Pros
Free parking
Cons
weekend work
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
work to support people with mental health issues within the community. Absolutely fantastic team and the manager was lovely. great job satisfaction when work with a service user is successful. However I have been up for redundancy twice in 3 years due to job changes and staffing cuts.
Pros
great team
Cons
job safety is not guarenteed
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Understaffed and Overworked. While the training opportunities were good here and you learn a lot as you work, the conditions in which you work are poor. There was an over-reliance on agency staff to an extent where every night shift had one alongside only one permanent member of staff. Agency could do next to nothing except clean meaning that it was down to you alone to do most other things. Day shift was only just adequately staffed. One of the service managers were cliquey and only seemed to get on with the staff that she 'liked'. Shifts were a killer at 13 hours each. Doing 3 of them in a row was regular for me that the work made me ill and I had to leave. There is also such a reliance on a sheer amount of paperwork that your time is spent just doing that like you are an admin assistant rather than helping people. I can't tell you what to do but I would think twice before working as a recovery worker with this company. The pay is not worth the work that you do.
Pros
Good Training Opportunities
Cons
Everything Else
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
High turnover of staff. No support from management team, who constantly blame front line staff for clear leadership failings. CQC special measures for one of the homes. Risk not managed well, putting front line staff at risk. No supervision. No induction. Training is awful. Pay is below industry average. Arrogant managers, with a 'like it or here's the door' bullying attitude. If this sounds like the place for you, go for it. Other services may be different, would recommend avoiding Swindon.
Pros
Some nice service users
Cons
Terrible organisation
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
We have a chronic lack of staff, due to a high turnover. HR take around 3 months to process the paperwork. If you pull through that you've got no induction (there is a checklist but this is left to the Assistant support workers to induct new members). We leave this place because there is NO support. Towards the end of my time here I used to go to work feeling scared and unsafe. I emailed my managers and higher up every time an incident with a service user occurred saying "I dread coming to work" and "I feel sick when I am lone working". With no reply, follow up or supervision. I took two months off sick. Rethink head office seems full of blissfully unaware people who haven't taken into account institutionalisation, which is an unfortunate curse of the mental health industry. Rethink mental illness is a self help group that has gotten out of hand. Social recovery heavy, no psychologist input or any biological considerations (despite their own research suggesting the comorbidity between chronic and mental illness). Management refuse to listen to suggestions, furthering the horrid feeling of under support.
Pros
Generous sick leave, which you'll need because you will get burnout or chronic stress working here
Cons
No career development. No job security. Fear for your safety without the monetary benefit.
Was this review helpful?