Saint-Gobain
Happiness score is 54 out of 100
3.9 out of 5 stars.
Write a review

Saint-Gobain Employee Reviews

Review this company
Job Title
All
Location
United Kingdom181 reviews

Ratings by category

3.7Work-life balance

Sort by

HelpfulnessRatingDate
Found 181 reviews matching the searchSee all 3,627 reviews
saintbranchdrivercolleaguenumbroletrainingstaff

No support

Indeed featured review

The most useful review selected by Indeed
Was not what they sell you in the interview. You struggle to do your job because they don't have enough equipment in the area. When you raise it with higher management they just tell you to put the hire off till the equipment becomes available, then they raise concerns that your not doing enough hires

Pros

Set hours

Cons

No support from higher management
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Saint-Gobain

27 October 2022
Hi and thank you for taking the time to send us a review. I’m sorry to hear however you do feel like you didn't have the support from your managers. This is certainly not how we want our colleagues to feel. We do try to ensure and encourage we portray our Saint-Gobain attitudes across all brands and teams of being; Innovative, Customer Focused, Agile, Open and Engaging and Entrepreneurial. I would be very happy to speak with you about this, or arrange for someone in your business HR team to support you if you require. One of our main Principles is to have ‘respect for others. So if you would like to reach out to me please feel free to email me at jeegna.chohan@saint-gobain.com.ThanksJeegna

Awful place to work

If you want to feel belittled, stressed, bullied, harassed, vindicated, lied to then this is for you.Top level management appalling, middle level management i.e.- production manager, even worse, shop floor are great till the night shift begins...If you happen to get covid then prepare for the worst, this company will badger you into submission to get back to work, if you have a prior engagement that's been booked for months, expect to be told to work overtime at 5 minutes notice, this will usually be covered up with the purchase of cider by a French imbecile, no development in your role if anything you will regress, sacking members of staff after weeks and weeks of bullying them into hopefully quitting then when they don't sack them unceremoniously anywayHow about lying to get you to join the business to then change the deal and force you to do something you have no experience of? if you like the sound of this then SG is for youThis turned out to be the worst job I've ever had in my life, other than what I've mentioned above, there's the constant working in fibrous atmosphere that clings to your lungs and affects your skin, the lack of duty of care should you unfortunately experience a issue out of work hours, how about working with resin and caustic minerals that can affect you're health, there's nothing good about this company nothing at all
Was this review helpful?

Insights into Saint-Gobain

Based on 57 survey responses
Areas for improvement
  • Sense of belonging
  • Support from manager
  • Supportive environment

I worked for 3 Branches and was left on my own to plan and develop sales.

Each day varied and took planning well in advance from making appointments with new and existing companies,booking flights, Hotels and Ferries depending on the Branch I was working for. I was involved with training new staff and existing on new products this rolled out to all customers and involved some merchandising.I was left in the main to my own devises to produce and increase sales.Most enjoyable part of the job was getting the order.
Was this review helpful?

Relaxed

Good work ethic’s and friendly people , flexible in hybrid working , good working conditions and management supportive to employers Everyone gets on and different teams all muck in
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Saint-Gobain

27 October 2022
Hi and thank you for taking the time to send us a review. We really appreciate the positive words you have said about our colleagues and the people who work at Saint-Gobain. We do try to ensure and encourage we portray our Saint-Gobain attitudes across all brands and teams of being; Innovative, Customer Focused, Agile, Open and Engaging and Entrepreneurial. Thanks again and we hope to hear from you again in the future.Jeegna Chohan.

Stressful Job

Managers constantly on your case although they offer little to no help when you have problems in work or out of work.Machines you work on constantly break downLittle communication between departments

Pros

On-site parking

Cons

Too many
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Saint-Gobain

27 October 2022
Hi and thank you for taking the time to send us a review. I’m sorry to hear however you do feel like you didn't have the support from your managers with limited communication. This is certainly not how we want our colleagues to feel. We do try to ensure and encourage we portray our Saint-Gobain attitudes across all brands and teams of being; Innovative, Customer Focused, Agile, Open and Engaging and Entrepreneurial. I would be very happy to speak with you about this, or arrange for someone in your previous business HR team to support you if you require it. One of our main Principles is to have ‘respect for others’. So if you would like to reach out to me please feel free to email me at jeegna.chohan@saint-gobain.com.ThanksJeegna

Rate your recent company

Share your experience to help others

Bad management

Pros:Great benefitsCons:Favouritism wasn’t uncommon, they give 0 flexibility on anythingManagement are terrible at handling tough situationsIf you have mental health issues i would advise you not to work here, you won’t get any support
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Saint-Gobain

27 October 2022
Hi and thank you for taking the time to send us a review. I’m sorry to hear however you do feel like you did management issues. Mental health and well-being are key for us and our colleagues at Saint-Gobain. This is certainly not how we want our colleagues to feel. I would be very happy to speak with you about this, or arrange for someone in your previous business HR team to support you. If you would like to reach out to me please feel free to email me at jeegna.chohan@saint-gobain.com.ThanksJeegna

Exciting job but managers have no people skills

The operator job is exciting and stressful at time, fast paced and slow. A real mixed bag. The only problems are that if you are wanting to progress then you will be waiting a long time, as you are waiting for someone above you to leave, retire or get promoted themselves. Also management have no people skills and will give you more jobs in a day than is possible to complete. The pay and benefits are great though and all your peers are great to work with.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Saint-Gobain

27 October 2022
Hi and thank you for taking the time to send us a review. We really appreciate the positive words you have said about us and the pay, benefits, and people in the teams. I’m sorry to hear however you do feel like career progression is slow. This is certainly not how we want our colleagues to feel, and we understand the importance of progressing careers and supporting in any way we can. Recently we have introduced new initiatives to advise our colleagues more about how and what roles are available to apply for. For example, a monthly careers newsletter and an updated careers site with an option to show your interest where HR will then help and support you with.I would be very happy to speak with you about this, or arrange for someone in your business HR team to support you. If you would like to reach out to me please feel free to email me at jeegna.chohan@saint-gobain.com.ThanksJeegna

Administrator

Good support for starters. Managers are really accessible, they are always ready to help with any enquire. Environment not that great, but not company fault, but co workers not that friendly.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Saint-Gobain

27 October 2022
Hi and thank you for taking the time to send us a review. We really appreciate the positive words you have said about our colleagues and the people who work at Saint-Gobain. We like to ensure everyone is on hand to help in any situation. We do try to ensure and encourage we portray our Saint-Gobain attitudes across all brands and teams of being; Innovative, Customer Focused, Agile, Open and Engaging and Entrepreneurial. Thanks again and we hope to hear from you again in the future.Jeegna Chohan.

Typical unfulfilling office job

The Company itself is good and looks after it’s staff, however for me the work was very unfulfilling and the managers were almost robotic and unrelatable

Pros

Good benefits

Cons

Pointless tasks
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Saint-Gobain

27 October 2022
Hi and thank you for taking the time to send us a review. We really appreciate the positive words you have said about us and that you feel our colleagues are looked after. I’m sorry to hear however you do feel like the work can be unfulfilling. This is certainly not how we want our colleagues to feel, and we understand the importance of having enjoyment around your work. I would be very happy to speak with you about this, or arrange for someone in your business HR team to support you. If you would like to reach out to me please feel free to email me at jeegna.chohan@saint-gobain.com.ThanksJeegna

Awful company

Poor management, expect you to work stupid amounts of overtime (25+hrs pm). H & S non existent within warehouse. Rates of pay not good. Management belittle you always, staff are not happy here at all and it shows
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Saint-Gobain

27 October 2022
Hi and thank you for taking the time to send us a review. I’m sorry to hear however you do feel like you didn't have support from your managers. This is certainly not how we want our colleagues to feel. We do try to ensure and encourage we portray our Saint-Gobain attitudes across all brands and teams of being; Innovative, Customer Focused, Agile, Open and Engaging and Entrepreneurial. I would be very happy to speak with you about this, or arrange for someone in your business HR team to support you if you require it. One of our main Principles is to have ‘respect for others’. So if you would like to reach out to me please feel free to email me at jeegna.chohan@saint-gobain.com.ThanksJeegna

Fast paced.

Can be rewarding but very fast paced always have to stay late to get the picking done. But don’t get paid over time they just add your hours up to take leave

Pros

1 hour lunch.

Cons

No over time pay.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Saint-Gobain

27 October 2022
Hi and thank you for taking the time to send us a review. We are sorry to hear you feel the workload can get too much and is fast-paced. It could be an idea to speak and discuss this with your manager. Alternatively, I can help arrange for someone in your business HR team to support you. If you would like to reach out to me please feel free to email me at jeegna.chohan@saint-gobain.com.ThanksJeegna

Discriminatory firing, abuse of probation period.

Without going into too much detail, this company will happily fire people for protected characteristics such as race, gender, religion etc...They'll just make sure to do so within the probation period so that the employee who has been discriminated against has no leg to stand on.I have witnessed many employees fired for these reasons and cannot in all good conscience stay quiet.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Saint-Gobain

27 October 2022
Hi and thank you for taking the time to send us a review. I’m sorry to hear that you felt this and had a negative experience while working with Saint-Gobain. This is certainly not how we want our colleagues to feel. We are working very hard on our Equality. Diversity and Inclusion status and even have set up various groups within Saint-Gobain across all brands to be part of and speak up. I would be very happy to speak with you about this, or arrange for someone in your business HR team to support you, so if you would like to reach out to me please feel free to email me at jeegna.chohan@saint-gobain.com.ThanksJeegna

Easy job

Not a bad job but very poor pay for what work they want done. Other workers ok managers inexperienced couldn’t route a vegetable destroying the planet on there own send you out in 26 ton lorry with house drops half loaded lorry only to go to the same drop the very next day with what you delivered still there from the day before but according to them it was urgent. Some loads should be on a 7 1/2 ton lorry but that’s the company’s fault for not having the right lorries for the job. Job training great but that all goes out the window afterwards everything takes forever to get fixed they will ask you to use Moffat after it’s be condemned. They pay no overtime that insights poeple to speed and take breaks while unloading/loading that’s why I think they go through a lot of drivers. I believe some of the loads plasterboard and plaster can’t be loaded correctly to keep within axle weights no way of checking but they are relying that there lorries don’t get pulled by vosa.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Saint-Gobain

27 October 2022
Hi and thank you for taking the time to send us a review. I’m sorry to hear however you do feel like you didn't have the support from your managers with route planning suggestions. This is certainly not how we want our colleagues to feel. With regards to pay, we use industry-recognized methods for job evaluation and salary reviews to make sure we offer a fair and competitive salary to all. If you have any further questions or concerns on either point, I would be very happy to address them with you personally, and arrange further follow-up with you if appropriate.My email address is jeegna.chohan@saint-gobain.com so please feel free to reach out if you would like to, and we can schedule a time to speak.ThanksJeegna

Good work life balance

Good place to work, management always got your back, always happy to help you out, easy work, amazing work life balance, probably best job I have ever had, only downside is poor pay

Pros

Easy work, short shifts, nice and relaxed

Cons

Poor money
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Saint-Gobain

27 October 2022
Hello and thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.Thank you for the positive comments you have left us. We are so pleased to hear you are happy in your role and team and that you have a great work-life balance. This is very important to us. With regard to pay, we use industry-recognized methods for job evaluation and salary reviews to make sure we offer a fair and competitive salary to all. But please also be sure to check out all the benefits on offer as well. My email address is jeegna.chohan@saint-gobain.com so please feel free to reach out if you would like to, and we can schedule a time to speak.ThanksJeegna

Fast paced, fun, can be hard graft at very rare times, very well paid for the work done.

I'm a HGV driver at the purfleet hub. It's a fast paced job, easy work and very well paid for the work that we actually do. Paid til 4 but usually back to the yard around 2 - half 2, with all work finished management will let you job and knock. May need to help out in the yard occasionally if needs must but that's pretty rare. Very good bunch of people surrounding you there.

Pros

Good people, job and knock, very well paid for the work we do, decent fleet of trucks, training there if you want it to boost your wages.

Cons

Management don't always listen, no sick pay (managers discretion)
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Saint-Gobain

27 October 2022
Hi and thank you for taking the time to send us a review. We really appreciate the positive words you have said about us around the job role enjoyment and the people you work with. We do try to ensure and encourage we portray our Saint-Gobain attitudes across all brands and teams of being; Innovative, Customer Focused, Agile, Open and Engaging and Entrepreneurial. Thanks again and we hope to hear from you again in the future.Jeegna Chohan.

Manager is really supportive and understanding

Would definitely recommend to apply. Work life balance. Choice of shifts. Possibilities to work from home. Fair canteen prices…. Supported Training guide.

Pros

40minute break. Good atmosphere. Paid monthly.

Cons

Honestly can’t fault it
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Saint-Gobain

27 October 2022
Hi and thank you for taking the time to send us a review and saying you would recommend people to apply. We really appreciate the positive words you have said about us regarding the work-life balance and the support and training you have access to. We do try to ensure and encourage we portray our Saint-Gobain attitudes across all brands and teams of being; Innovative, Customer Focused, Agile, Open, and Engaging and Entrepreneurial. Thanks again and we hope to hear from you again in the future.Jeegna Chohan.

Good work environment

Willing to give older people a chance to work again. Most of the staff in the store are well over 30. Would recommend anyone to work for the company weather young or more senior.

Pros

Only work every second Saturday and never bank holidays

Cons

Bad language
Was this review helpful?

Unsociable working hours

If you are single and don't have much of a life then this is the perfect job for you. Unrealistic call expectations to try and diagnose and repair faults in 8 mins. Most people we spoke to took 8 mins to tell us their name and employee number. Ridiculous hours. One week you could start at 7am then another week you could be on lates starting at 9:30am. So no consistency.Pay was ok, however you won't have time to spend it as you will be catching up on your sleep on you days off.

Pros

Good people. Not managers

Cons

Long hours
Was this review helpful?

They treat you really bad bath depot

Don't work for these at bath depot they treat you really bad it's the worst company I have ever worked for also they don't supply dust masks it's very dust there it would be the worst mistake of your life

Pros

None

Cons

When you leave
Was this review helpful?

Nothing

Fix ours Stable job and ours You can Laugh with the customers sometimesAlso if you are not from the UK you can improve your skills talk in writing communicated

Pros

Free coffee

Cons

Bad management
Was this review helpful?

Awful company

Poor management, expect you to work stupid amounts of overtime (25+hrs pm). H & S non existent within warehouse. Rates of pay not good. Management belittle you always, staff are not happy here at all and it shows

Cons

Extremely poor management
Was this review helpful?

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Saint-Gobain. Our community is ready to answer.Ask a Question

Overall rating

Based on 3,627 reviews

Ratings by category

3.7 out of 5 stars for Work/Life Balance
3.7 out of 5 stars for Salary/Benefits
3.4 out of 5 stars for Job security/advancement
3.4 out of 5 stars for Management
3.7 out of 5 stars for Culture

Compare Saint-Gobain with

Learn about Saint-Gobain in popular locations

  • Companies
  • Saint-Gobain
  • Employee reviews
Tell us how to improve this page
What would you add or change?