Savers Health and Beauty
3.3 out of 5 stars.
Get weekly updates, new jobs, and reviews
Savers Health and Beauty Employee Review

Great company to work for on the whole

4.0
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
20 February 2020
A very fast pace and demanding role. Every day is different. Can get very tough at times.But very rewarding at the same time. Very supportive with great benefits e.g statutory bonus and conferences. Our area manager is always there if needed at any time of the day and is always approachable. I am proud to work for savers and being a brand ambassador for the company. Sociable and flexible hours with a living wage. Always support available if needed from all levels of management. Its like being a part of a massive family.
Ratings by category
4.0Work/Life Balance
4.0Salary/Benefits
4.0Job security/advancement
5.0Management
4.0Culture
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Savers Health and Beauty
19 March 2020
Hi!Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.I'm so happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us. It's really important.We wish you all the best for your future.Thanks, Savers
Similar reviews
3.0
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
11 April 2021
Same role
Store manager (Current Employee) - Oxfordshire
Worked with the company for many years. 50+ hours a week, no overtime pay, unrealistic targets set out in the middle of a pandemic. There is absolutely no balance with work and personal life.No decent maternity pay from the company which has made it totally unfeasible for female store managers to think about having a child, especially if theyre the main source of income. The company will only pay out if you work more than an average of 16 hours a week, and even then the company will only pay the statutory pay the government issues, which in my case is almost £1,200 less than my salary each month, their maternity payment would barely pay my mortgage, let alone all my other living bills AND fund a growing family.Tatty stores in desperate need of revamps being pushed aside and swept under the rug in favour of the new opening storesIf there's an absence be prepared to cancel holidays, lose days off and work well over 14 days straight with no days off, these shifts will average out to be 11-12 hours a day, if you have to travel this can raise your work day to 14 hours.Management are expected to cover EVERYTHING as the Management overtime does not cause wage budgets to take a hit. Keeping the store open and running is a much bigger priority to this company than their employees mental health.Very high staff turnover, especially in management roles, as the company really DONT care about retaining management.
Pros
Chance of getting a bonus each march
Cons
Long hours, unfair expectations, cutting hours whilst adding extra jobs
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Savers Health and Beauty
14 April 2021
Hi There,We are very sorry to read through the review that you have left us, the issues you have raised is something we take very seriously so please can you get in contact with our People Team so we can investigate further.We wish the best of luck in your future and hope hear from you soonThanks,SaversThanks,
2.0
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
5 April 2021
Same role
Store Manager (Former Employee) - Hampshire
Joined the company as asm promoted to store manager within a couple of months. No training given expected to learn as I went. I know that other managers got at least 6 weeks training. The workload was ok as long as you had a great team and the back up from other managers. I found myself in a position where I was left to just get on with things even though there were several issues with staffing, health and safety concerns for the safety and well being of staff and customers. Then totally let down when needed the most by the area manager. I was working 55+ hours a week just for the store to open. Nearly destroyed my home life until I realised that I was not appreciated in anything I was trying to do. I did however love the team members and got on well with other store managers.
Pros
Team
Cons
Long hours and no appreciation
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Savers Health and Beauty
14 April 2021
Hi!Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.I'm really sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your time with us.If you wish to discuss this in more detail, please contact the people teamThanks, Savers
5.0
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
22 March 2021
Same role
Store Manager (Former Employee) - Heanor
Savers have been my work life for over 15 years I worked hard and had a good working relationship with my team as well as the head office team, They like to get to get feedback from their staff on what's good and bad so they are always looking to improve as a business,You get a lot of support from your line manager and are treated as a individualI would recommend Savers as a retailer to work for they like to promote from within so there are job developments in place to help you getup the company ladder
Pros
Enhance product knowledge, good staff training, prize opportunities to be won by staff individually and collectively
Cons
Can be long hours
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Savers Health and Beauty
25 March 2021
Hi!Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.I'm so happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us. It's really important.We wish you all the best for your future.Thanks, Savers
  1. Great company to work for on the whole