Savers Health and Beauty
Happiness score is 46 out of 100
3.3 out of 5 stars.
Get weekly updates, new jobs, and reviews
Savers Health and Beauty Employee Review

Great place to work

5.0
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
21 February 2020
I have worked for the company for 15 years worked my way up to store manager a fantastic place to work feel valued and appreciated for all the hard work fast paced environment and challenging at times like all retailers. Area managers and regional manager are a massive support. I started in a smaller store and have moved to a larger one area manager has been a massive support and will go above and beyond to help and support all his stores his dedication to his role inspires you to want to achieve and be the best leader you can. I personally think its a fantastic place to work.
Ratings by category
4.0Work/Life Balance
5.0Salary/Benefits
5.0Job security/advancement
5.0Management
5.0Culture
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Savers Health and Beauty
19 March 2020
Hi!Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.I'm so happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us. It's really important.We wish you all the best for your future.Thanks, Savers
Similar reviews
3.0
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
11 April 2021
Same role
Store manager (Current Employee) - Oxfordshire
Worked with the company for many years. 50+ hours a week, no overtime pay, unrealistic targets set out in the middle of a pandemic. There is absolutely no balance with work and personal life.No decent maternity pay from the company which has made it totally unfeasible for female store managers to think about having a child, especially if theyre the main source of income. The company will only pay out if you work more than an average of 16 hours a week, and even then the company will only pay the statutory pay the government issues, which in my case is almost £1,200 less than my salary each month, their maternity payment would barely pay my mortgage, let alone all my other living bills AND fund a growing family.Tatty stores in desperate need of revamps being pushed aside and swept under the rug in favour of the new opening storesIf there's an absence be prepared to cancel holidays, lose days off and work well over 14 days straight with no days off, these shifts will average out to be 11-12 hours a day, if you have to travel this can raise your work day to 14 hours.Management are expected to cover EVERYTHING as the Management overtime does not cause wage budgets to take a hit. Keeping the store open and running is a much bigger priority to this company than their employees mental health.Very high staff turnover, especially in management roles, as the company really DONT care about retaining management.
Pros
Chance of getting a bonus each march
Cons
Long hours, unfair expectations, cutting hours whilst adding extra jobs
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Savers Health and Beauty
14 April 2021
Hi There,We are very sorry to read through the review that you have left us, the issues you have raised is something we take very seriously so please can you get in contact with our People Team so we can investigate further.We wish the best of luck in your future and hope hear from you soonThanks,SaversThanks,
2.0
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
5 April 2021
Same role
Store Manager (Former Employee) - Hampshire
Joined the company as asm promoted to store manager within a couple of months. No training given expected to learn as I went. I know that other managers got at least 6 weeks training. The workload was ok as long as you had a great team and the back up from other managers. I found myself in a position where I was left to just get on with things even though there were several issues with staffing, health and safety concerns for the safety and well being of staff and customers. Then totally let down when needed the most by the area manager. I was working 55+ hours a week just for the store to open. Nearly destroyed my home life until I realised that I was not appreciated in anything I was trying to do. I did however love the team members and got on well with other store managers.
Pros
Team
Cons
Long hours and no appreciation
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Savers Health and Beauty
14 April 2021
Hi!Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.I'm really sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your time with us.If you wish to discuss this in more detail, please contact the people teamThanks, Savers
1.0
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
26 August 2019
Same location
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) - Colwyn Bay
No hours for staffing. No air con. Unrealistic targets. Upper management have no people skills and have favourites that they openly admit. No help when asked. Expected to run the store as a AM over the Christmas period with 3 sales assistants and no other management help. Shop got broke in to at 3am and I got called out by the alarm company. I was expected to wait at the store by myself after the police had checked it until it was dusted by the CSI. After which I was told by the area manager to clean up the glass myself and get the store open ASAP as to not lose money. Was given abuse that I didn't have the store open by 10:30 by the area manager. I was there from 3:10am until 8pm as I had to wait for a security guard for the store overnight and was openly told by the area manager that it is my job I have to do it. 17 hours is a ridiculous and illegal amount of time to be expected to work with no extra pay as I was salary or gratitude at all from any member of upper management. Company will happily fire you if you don't sell a certain amount of selected products at the till points and make a point of telling you that after you get a job with them. STAY CLEAR!!!
Pros
Money
Cons
Everything else. Stay away.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Savers Health and Beauty
17 September 2019
Hi!Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.I'm really sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your time with us. If you wish to discuss this in more detail, please contact the people teamThanks, Savers