Savers Health and Beauty
3.3 out of 5 stars.
Get weekly updates, new jobs, and reviews

Savers Health and Beauty Employee Reviews

Job Title
Location
Showing all 840 reviews
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Huge deliveries not a lot of hours. If you have a good team then You’ll be alright if you don’t you’ll end up doing about 55 hours instead of your 39 hour contract. Bonus is alright if you hit sales and shrinkage.
Pros
Bonus work banter
Cons
Long hours/unpaid
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Savers Health and Beauty
8 January 2021
Hi!Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.I'm so happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us. It's really important.We wish you all the best for your future.Thanks, Savers
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
I have really enjoyed my time at Savers I have also enjoyed stacking the shelves and answering the customers inquiries I was really on my feet all of the time. I have worked as part of a team.
Pros
Packed Lunch
Cons
Longer working hours
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Savers Health and Beauty
11 February 2021
Hi!Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.I'm so happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us. It's really important.We wish you all the best for your future.Thanks, Savers
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Joined savers on a temp contract was told I would get a permanent position at the end of it. Worked any shift was asked always worked my hardest and management was so bad rotas we’re meant to be 3 weeks in advance had to keep asking for them didn’t get them until the day of the next rota. Was told I was getting a permanent position but was never given a contract so looked elsewhere and then was told my manager would get me a contract only to find out he shouldn’t have had me employed as long as he did and ended my contract there and then. Terrible management couldn’t believe how bad it was, the Jon itself isn’t to bad but no security in job.
Pros
Easy job
Cons
Terrible management
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Savers Health and Beauty
11 February 2021
Hi There,We are very sorry to read through the review that you have left us, the issues you have raised is something we take very seriously so please can you get in contact with our People Team so we can investigate further.We wish the best of luck in your future and hope hear from you soonThanks,SaversThanks,
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Always worked 30 mins past your shift and & never get paid for it, also never got more than a weeks rota at a time. Doing the workload of 2-3 people treated like a dogs body and it’s still never enough. No support from management or company in regards to your welfare. Never enough people to manage the enormous workload and what is required of you during your shift. Only receive negative feedback. NEVER WORK THERE IF YOU LOVE YOURSELF!!!
Pros
None
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Savers Health and Beauty
11 February 2021
Hi There,We are very sorry to read through the review that you have left us, the issues you have raised is something we take very seriously so please can you get in contact with our People Team so we can investigate further.We wish the best of luck in your future and hope hear from you soonThanks,SaversThanks,
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Managers way or no way was the stores policy, rota would get changed no notice, not enough staff so you are expected to do twice the work for same pay. Managers spy on you from the office via the cameras, often given short shifts even though short staffed, left to your own devices but buzz if need help. Not very team orientated as all part timers, so hard to keep team rapport. Most enjoyable part of this job was the day I said I was leaving,...after all we all try to better ourselves.
Pros
Cheap goods
Cons
Not enough team players
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Savers Health and Beauty
11 February 2021
Hi There,We are very sorry to read through the review that you have left us, the issues you have raised is something we take very seriously so please can you get in contact with our People Team so we can investigate further.We wish the best of luck in your future and hope hear from you soonThanks,SaversThanks,
Rate your recent company
Share your experience to help others
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Thanks to Savers, I got a Distinction in my Retail Diploma as an Apprentice. They took me on when I finished and I’m loving it. I still work there, and I still enjoy it.
Pros
Opportunities, Flexibility, Management.
Cons
Constant shift arranging, last minute changes.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Savers Health and Beauty
11 February 2021
Hi!Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.I'm so happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us. It's really important.We wish you all the best for your future.Thanks, Savers
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
This job made me miserable as well as the other workers too, my efforts were not appreciated and management do not know how to treat staff with respect. I also got next to no help with my apprenticeship and the apprenticeship workers make next to no effort, my worker was on furlough for about 8 month of my apprenticeship so I had to just teach myself in order to pass without the help of anybody like I should have gotten
Pros
Flexible shifts
Cons
Not enough hours, make to take holidays to save hours and do not how to treat staff with respect
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Savers Health and Beauty
21 January 2021
Hi There,We are very sorry to read through the review that you have left us, the issues you have raised is something we take very seriously so please can you get in contact with our People Team so we can investigate further. We wish the best of luck in your future and hope hear from you soon Thanks,Savers Thanks,
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Was a full time apprenticeship here a few years ago. Overworked hardly managed to get my breaks. And obviously under paid as it was an apprenticeship. Did not enjoy my time here at all
Pros
Experience
Cons
Long hours and low pay
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Savers Health and Beauty
14 January 2021
Hi There,We are very sorry to read through the review that you have left us, the issues you have raised is something we take very seriously so please can you get in contact with our People Team so we can investigate further. We wish the best of luck in your future and hope hear from you soon Thanks,Savers Thanks,
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
sell sell sell, to much emphasis on SAS (Savers Active Selling) I saw Sales Assistants getting chastised for not selling enough even when they ask customers constantly, and when they do achieve sales it's just taken for granted, there's no direct praise to them. Most cashiers have 4 hour shifts and spend the majority of time on the tills constantly being pushed to upsell.Delivery team put under constant pressure with not knowing how many cages the delivery is as estimate is hardly ever correct, having to work stock on shop floor when customers are in the store, trip hazards everywhere for customers. Supervisors put under pressure and constantly moaned at for tasks not always all being done, even when store was running understaffed.As a supervisor you are able to cash up at the end of the day or open the store, be a key holder and answer Alarm Calls if Alarm fault or activates. your also constantly reminded to push the sales assistants to upsell, you may be tasked to do pick lists and other job Management may decide you are capable to undertake.The culture is that majority of the staff aren't fully happy with how the store is and pretty much everyday someone has something bad to say.Be expected to be called in adhoc and for rotas to be changed with less than 24hrs notice so planning things around your shifts can be difficult.Staff turnover is pretty high and basically seems because staff feel beaten down by the amount of work and pressure. In my time with the company I saw 2 cashiers and 2 supervisors leave and now myself leave.Every shift you will feel as if you - more...
Pros
You get paid
Cons
Low wage, To many to list, review says it all
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Savers Health and Beauty
14 January 2021
Hi There,We are very sorry to read through the review that you have left us, the issues you have raised is something we take very seriously so please can you get in contact with our People Team so we can investigate further. We wish the best of luck in your future and hope hear from you soon Thanks,Savers Thanks,
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
It’s a great shop with great products. The sage ls ok but could be better as sometimes it’s none stop in there. Apart from that I found it very friendly mostly but only issue was getting time off if you’re sick due to lack of cover.
Pros
Access to great deals
Cons
None just as above
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Savers Health and Beauty
8 January 2021
Hi!Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.I'm so happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us. It's really important.We wish you all the best for your future.Thanks, Savers
We want to help you find great companies. Help us be the best!
Do these reviews help you learn more about working at Savers Health and Beauty?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
I was an apprentice and I didn’t learn anything I was ment to. I wasn’t allowed to anything but stay on the till for all my shift every shift, and was promised to be promoted after the apprenticeship, I ended up on 12 hr contract for a further 2 years, hoping and waiting to be promoted. And as for active selling(SAS) management would shout and would say if we didn’t sell £50 pound a day of SAS they would be warnings!
Pros
None
Cons
Small shifts 4hr
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Savers Health and Beauty
16 December 2020
Hi!Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.I'm really sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your time with us.If you wish to discuss this in more detail, please contact the people teamThanks, Savers
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Fast paced business that is run by a fantastic management team with an ethos that runs through the company and its employees clearly, a very happy place to work
Pros
Good employer
Cons
basic salary
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Savers Health and Beauty
19 November 2020
Hi!Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.I'm so happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us. It's really important.We wish you all the best for your future.Thanks, Savers
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
The store I worked in was quite small, but usually busy. The managers and staff were nice, I got along with everyone which made the work more fun. Everyone was friendly. Jobs included stocking shelves, doing delivery shift, working at the till, facing, brushing and mopping the floor at the end of the day. It does tend to get very hot during the summer, and we had no AC or ceiling fans so it was a nightmare. The pay was minimum wage, and due to the nature of my hours, some weeks were better than others. Shifts were given a week, sometimes less, in advance so it wasn't easy managing work life with personal life.
Pros
Friendly colleagues and managers
Cons
Random ane inconsistent shifts, minimum pay, boring after a month
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Savers Health and Beauty
19 November 2020
Hi!Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.I'm so happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us. It's really important.We wish you all the best for your future.Thanks, Savers
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Overall a job that is for students part time I guess not enough hours available and no room for promotion unless you go way above and beyond for the company
Pros
Superdrug discounts
Cons
No compassion for having sick family members
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Savers Health and Beauty
9 November 2020
Hi!Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.I'm really sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your time with us.If you wish to discuss this in more detail, please contact the people teamThanks, Savers
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Good job and nice company to work for however they don't offer a staff discount and are big on extra sales through upselling at the counters..... you must feel comfortable with sales
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
not the best but not the worst, was great at first but everywhere has there issues but was happy when younger with no idea what I wanted to do, kinda job that you have just to get by, was forced to sell but no one does, overall not that bad.
Pros
short hours
Cons
cheap pay
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Savers Health and Beauty
8 October 2020
Hi!Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review!If you would like to tell us how we can improve in the future then please contact our People Team.Thanks, Savers
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Was need to post pictures on group chat to make place look fun even though they would cut your hours. Area manager is a bully no support from HR AND you are forced to give up days off so another manager gets a days off (if your face fits you will be ok)
Pros
Up to 30% off at superdrug (if you use superdrug)
Cons
Alright if your a nodding dog and face fits
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Change manger so was not happy don't treat staff nice first manger was amazing and very helpful understood staff needs next manger didn't care was not happy place staff made to stay on till and sell sas
Pros
4 hour shif
Cons
Sas
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Savers Health and Beauty
8 October 2020
Hi!Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.I'm really sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your time with us.If you wish to discuss this in more detail, please contact the people teamThanks, Savers
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
No clear leadership, manager leaves all tasks to assistant manager, no motivation or job satisfaction. Manager lords it over all staff unless you're a 16 year old female sales assistant
Pros
You can wear trainers
Cons
Management lord it over you everyday
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Savers Health and Beauty
23 September 2020
Hi There,We are very sorry to read through the review that you have left us, the issues you have raised is something we take very seriously so please can you get in contact with our People Team so we can investigate further. We wish the best of luck in your future and hope hear from you soon Thanks,Savers Thanks,
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
I don't work for this company but I can put a comment about Eltham Savers Store. I have been living here for a many years and I have to say Savers here in Eltham is one of the horrible shop. I don't think they have a manager over there or if they do it is definitely not the right person. Every time you go there you see that there is no discipline at all, store is dirty very dirty and staff it seems like they do whatever they want. There is no customer service there as well and really feeling really sad but seriously HR should look into this particular store. Very often it is lack of stock, shelves are often empty and I would say big no no no for this store.
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
A lot of bullying from higher ups. If you're not pandering to them, they make your life difficult, and insist you post updates that show how happy you are at work - which is a lie.They don't care for your safety, they don't care how hard you work. All they care about are their paychecks. They're punishing us for working hard.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Savers Health and Beauty
23 September 2020
Hi There,We are very sorry to read through the review that you have left us, the issues you have raised is something we take very seriously so please can you get in contact with our People Team so we can investigate further. We wish the best of luck in your future and hope hear from you soon Thanks,Savers