Savers Health and Beauty
Happiness score is 46 out of 100
3.2 out of 5 stars.
Get weekly updates, new jobs, and reviews

Savers Health and Beauty: 23 Reviews in Birmingham

Review this company
Job Title
All
Location
Birmingham23 reviews

Ratings by category

3.1Work-life balance

Sort by

HelpfulnessRatingDate
Found 23 reviews matching the searchSee all 975 reviews

It was alright

Indeed featured review

The most useful review selected by Indeed
The hours/days I was put on were all over the place so it felt like I had no time off from work.You have to stand all day and if your going in as a sales assistant most of the work will be put on you.If you want to try and get another job they say they won't change your days off and your ok to do it but then change your days off at the last minute.It can be fun at times if you've got the right colleagues.
Was this review helpful?

Okay for a student part time

It’s fine for a part time job pay is fine but can be boring spending time stocking shelves and scanning items the whole day. Only worked there for a couple months.
Was this review helpful?

Insights into Savers Health and Beauty

Based on 151 survey responses
Areas for improvement
  • Sense of belonging
  • Energising work tasks
  • Trust in colleagues

Okay stepping stone job

My team were very lovely but pay was very poor and they couldn't offer enough hours in the end. The work was quite easy and customers generally nice.

Pros

Goes fast as so busy, team, management

Cons

Poor pay and hours
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Savers Health and Beauty

1 March 2022
Hi!Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.I'm so happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us. It's really important.We wish you all the best for your future.Thanks, Savers

Ok place to work in

Good place to work however staff are rude. Management team was rubbish never ever helpful. Customers were very rude also. Very stressful environment..

Pros

Discount Offers

Cons

Long hours Rubbish manager
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Savers Health and Beauty

1 March 2022
Hi!Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.I'm really sorry to hear you aren't happy with your experience with us, your feedback is very valuable.If you wish to discuss this in more detail, please contact the people team who will be happy to assist you.Best of luck in the future! Thanks, Savers

Negative environment

A lot of negativity in the workplace, never had a set manager for 6 months and sales assistant’s get treated so badly and like they are useless. Hours would get cut half way through the week with no explanation.

Pros

Long lunch break, flexible

Cons

Management, hours
Was this review helpful?

Rate your recent company

Share your experience to help others

Great place to work

Overall it is a great company to work for very stable unlike most jobs I’ve had and the team are like family/friends we work hard but also have a laugh too and it’s really great for students as most of the hours given are part time nonetheless I really enjoy working here and you meet some really amazing ppl and you get to work with other staff from other stores so it’s quite fun but very fast paced

Pros

Fun to work flexibility around your commitments and very understanding

Cons

No full time hrs given to sales assistants
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Savers Health and Beauty

24 July 2020
Hi!Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.I'm so happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us. It's really important.We wish you all the best for your future.Thanks, Savers

Terrible

You are expected to work for free especially management and the worse thing is you don't even get appreciated for it. There is literally no hours, you have a little amount to play with with loads of jobs to do. The deliveries are always messed up and the company don't care or do anything about it
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Savers Health and Beauty

19 March 2020
Hi!Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.I'm really sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your time with us.If you wish to discuss this in more detail, please contact the people teamThanks, Savers

tedius at time but very productive in the mornings

In the mornings your taking out products from the storage room and getting ready to stock shelves. as well as stick security tags on expensive items. I learned how to specifically stock shelves to make them presentable to customers. Stocking different items each day makes it easier to remember to find items that customers are looking for. The most enjoyable part of the job is meeting new customers and colleagues that work with you. As everyone has their own little stories or circumstance why they need to buy these products. These customers where multi-cultured as well as the staff which made meeting them more interesting and enjoyable to learn about their different lifestyle

Pros

friendly, helpful co workers

Cons

long hours
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Savers Health and Beauty

17 September 2019
Hi!Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us! We wish you all the luck in the future,Savers

Hard work long hours negitive place to work

Long hours expected from u for no extra pay or time back .. Negative Area manager nothing ever good enough .. Staff had no training and had no idea what was expected from them .. No motivation from up above higher management Low self esteem in store ..

Pros

None
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Savers Health and Beauty

17 September 2019
Hi!Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.I'm really sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your time with us. If you wish to discuss this in more detail, please contact the people teamThanks, Savers

Useless

Rubbish company rubbish staff rubbish managment worst company I have and will ever work for would not recommend to anyone ever don't apply to this slave driven company

Pros

None

Cons

Everything
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Savers Health and Beauty

31 October 2018
Hi There,Thank you for taking the time to leave us this review. We are sad to hear you didn't enjoy your time with us and if you have any issues you would like to raise regarding your time with us, please contact Savers people team.Best of luck in the future.Savers

Fantastic company!

I've been a store manager in other companies and I must say, after just 5 months with savers, I can open heartedly say, they really do care about their colleagues. 3 weeks training in management and constant support from my area manager who is easily the best AM I have ever had the pleasure to work for. The support network is absolutely second to none, need any help? Just call People services and the company do everything they can to support you and your store. The rewards with savers are incredible, no other company openly pays for holidays, events, parties and holds competitions to win 2 weeks laid holidays across the world. Massive discounts everywhere, tons of perks and a brilliant head office team make this a place to stay. Trust me, ignore the negative comments here, if you need help whilst working, just ask any member of manager or head office and you'll see why they're the number 1 best company to work for. Even with huge problems with deliveries or staff, the area managers and head office team work tirelessly to support, aid and help you and your team overcome any obstacles. If you're considering applying, do it. You won't regret it!

Pros

Fantastic support, excellent communication, good breaks, salary is very good, no micro management.

Cons

Very long hours but if you don't mind hard work it's not a problem.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Savers Health and Beauty

31 October 2018
Hi There,Thank you so much for leaving us this amazing feedback! We are so pleased to hear you are enjoying your time with us! Many thanks,Savers

A good place to work

I enjoyed this work in Cotteridge. The people who I worked with were friendly, management were good and I enjoyed serving the customers and carrying out work experience here. I would recommend applying for a job here.

Pros

good management and colleagues

Cons

none!
Was this review helpful?

it is a good place to work as a employee

While I'm working here I have learned so much things such as like talking to different people even I see new people every day, I have also developed my confident when i see lots of people in the queue and also i can talk to the customers about the products when customer asks any information about the products. All the management people are really friendly with other members of staff as well as with customers. Working with other co-workers its very enjoyable because they all very friendly and help each other when need a help. I didn't find any hard in the job but few weeks after I have joint at the work i was really nervous and was really scared but now I'm very confident about my jobs. I really enjoy tidying up the aisles and selling different fragrances every weeks.

Pros

no free lunches

Cons

sometimes i get long hours to work
Was this review helpful?

Productive & Fun Workplace

Management are really polite, friendly and supportive, which is a rarity in most retail jobs. Plenty of opportunities to advance and be promoted in this job. The only downside for me was too little pay, and hours which didn't suit me as I'm at college.

Pros

Nice staff & management, good atmosphere

Cons

Low pay
Was this review helpful?

not a nice place to work

I havent worked at savers long but the enviroment is unsafe and staff are vile, i was only contracted 16 hours as i asked but there put me in for over 40 without my consent, long working hours and hardly any breaks.

Cons

long hours, terrible working enviroment
Was this review helpful?

friendly

the people were great to work with and it an excellent place to go your really busy of a day time but coming to the end of the day it goes quiet
Was this review helpful?

productive anf experienced

i thought i found working at savers productive and an experinece i would never forget. i learned alot while working thier which would help me now and going forward. iv learnt skills thier that would help me when i get a job in retail. Iv enjoyed working with the staff and found it easy to communicate with them while working thier my hardest past of the job was carrying numerous boxes of products from the shop floor to the ware house upstairs.
Was this review helpful?

Friendly work place

stores get busy quickly but work gets done and management were fantastic. Wage is minimum but lots of over time was available.

Pros

Customers and friendly staff

Cons

min wage
Was this review helpful?

fun workplace

getting along with everyone establishing a successful working relationship with co-workers.

Pros

maintaing positive relationship with co-workers

Cons

less hours
Was this review helpful?

Great people, unsatisfactory working conditions

I am an asthma sufferer and used to clean out the false drawers underneath the shelves, which were thick with dust. This is the job for which I earned a Customer Service certificate. I feel I learned a great deal as I did not have any retail, sales or customer service skills prior to working here. My confidence also rose due to dealing face to face with customers.
Was this review helpful?

Gained customer service skills

Bad pay and long hours, only just NMW. I wouldnt consider NMW again for 40hours/week.

Pros

Half hour break

Cons

Long hours only £100.00 pay weekly got me no where.
Was this review helpful?

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Savers Health and Beauty. Our community is ready to answer.Ask a Question

Overall rating

Based on 975 reviews

Ratings by category

3.1 out of 5 stars for Work/Life Balance
2.8 out of 5 stars for Salary/Benefits
3.0 out of 5 stars for Job security/advancement
3.1 out of 5 stars for Management
3.1 out of 5 stars for Culture

Compare Savers Health and Beauty with

  • Companies
  • Savers Health and Beauty
  • Employee reviews
  • Birmingham