Savers Health and Beauty
Happiness score is 46 out of 100
3.2 out of 5 stars.
Get weekly updates, new jobs, and reviews

Savers Health and Beauty: 38 Reviews in London

Review this company
Job Title
All
Location
London38 reviews

Ratings by category

3.1Work-life balance

Sort by

HelpfulnessRatingDate
Found 38 reviews matching the searchSee all 975 reviews

No work life balance

Indeed featured review

The most useful review selected by Indeed
Often expected to work on lunch break Expected to travel to other stores to cover even if it means a 12 hour day Getting a weekend off nigh on impossible. managers aren’t allowed to manage their teams. run stores on inadequate hours often only two members of staff in store

Pros

None

Cons

Hours, no work life balance
Was this review helpful?

Okey but stress

Lovely management however pay is poor:(You meet nice staff which brightens up the mood to work however customers can be rude and pressure on SAS causes mental problems
Was this review helpful?

Insights into Savers Health and Beauty

Based on 151 survey responses
Areas for improvement
  • Sense of belonging
  • Energising work tasks
  • Trust in colleagues

In all honesty, quite poor!

The only thing keeping me with the company is job security, that and the team I work with. Started off really well as a Sales Assistant then got promoted to Supervisor not long after which is where I made the biggest mistake of my life! Being a member of management is horrendous! Managers constantly moan about each other, pick and choose days off to suit them while leaving everyone else in the proverbial. Company constantly move goalposts to make it almost impossible to achieve any bonuses, eg. Our budget for 2021 year is up against 2019 because apparently 2020 wasn’t a real year! No annual pay rise because they “lost money” even though they kept us open as key workers so people could buy essential items such as perfumes, alcohol, nail varnish and hair dyes? So regular sales assistants get a bump in the national living wage yet I get the same as last year which isn’t much more than they get! They also told us that they want us to “spend as much time with your families over Christmas” yet stayed open on Boxing Day.. Bank holidays are always dead no matter what store you go into yet they always keep us open to grab as many pennies as possible! If you want a part time job, go for it but I can totally see why so many new managers come and go after a few months.

Pros

Team spirit and delivery shifts

Cons

Poor work/life balance. Pay.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Savers Health and Beauty

25 January 2022
Hi!Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.I'm really sorry to hear you aren't happy with your experience with us, your feedback is very valuable.If you wish to discuss this in more detail, please contact the people team who will be happy to assist you.Thanks, Savers

Not the best

Pay is quite low in my opinion, compared to my previous jobs, short shifts, low contracted hours. a lot of pressure on cashiers to promote perfumes “on offer”. Managers can be okay it just depends on who you work with, other colleagues are usually pretty friendly and helpful.

Pros

discount at superdrug

Cons

low pay, short shifts
Was this review helpful?

Productive and Fun

I have really enjoyed my time at Savers I have also enjoyed stacking the shelves and answering the customers inquiries I was really on my feet all of the time. I have worked as part of a team.

Pros

Packed Lunch

Cons

Longer working hours
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Savers Health and Beauty

11 February 2021
Hi!Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.I'm so happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us. It's really important.We wish you all the best for your future.Thanks, Savers

Rate your recent company

Share your experience to help others

Productive work place

A typical day at work was Serving customers and providing great customer service and stocking the shelves Promoting the products Keeping up with the standards
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Savers Health and Beauty

19 March 2020
Hi!Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.I'm really sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your time with us.If you wish to discuss this in more detail, please contact the people teamThanks, Savers

work life

A typical day involves in, stock management, shop replenishment, shop floor supervision, managing the team, achieving sales targets, handling cash paper work and surveillance.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Savers Health and Beauty

3 March 2020
Hi!Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.I'm so happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us. It's really important.We wish you all the best for your future.Thanks, Savers

Would NOT recommend! Stressful

It started out good in the beginning, did 3 weeks of work experience, a typical day consisted of working on stock, then I was eventually trained on tills once they hired me, but things just went downhill over the years At least every few months we would get severely understaffed, there was one day in particular there was only 3 people working myself included on top of having a delivery of 40 cages which was difficult to complete. Was made to work every weekend due to it being understaffed and how busy it would get, they used to pay extra for working weekends and bank holidays but they discontinued the extra pay incentive, often felt burned out on days when we were understaffed, as did everyone else. SAS was always the same promotional offers, repeated every couple of weeks, asking every customer for razors, perfumes and sunscreen, would get lectured if I didn't reach my target each day which was unfair, if I forget to ask I would get criticized at every chance they get. You do not get any incentive from Savers for SAS sales, definitely the worst part of the job.

Pros

Pays above minimum wage

Cons

No extra pay on weekends or bank holidays, lack of staff, poor management, Sas, staff
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Savers Health and Beauty

17 September 2019
Hi!Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.I'm really sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your time with us. If you wish to discuss this in more detail, please contact the people teamThanks, Savers

Very busy never bored.

Worked here for over a decade, was unhappy and did not enjoy my time here, not a good company to work for, but if your young you might be okay, prefer not to say to much. Never bored extremely busy, which was good, have to reach targets by selling perfumes which at times was difficult as you were made to feel bad if you didn't sell much, if your not competitive its hard.

Pros

Discount card

Cons

No pension
Was this review helpful?

Not a place to work

As a supervisor Savers expected much more then they were willing to pay. The Area manager didn’t have a clue how to run the stores she was useless. Never had a decent lunch as was sometimes the only manager in store so was always disturbed. Long hours. Would not recommend working for this cowboy company.

Pros

Home time

Cons

Long hours
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Savers Health and Beauty

17 September 2019
Hi!Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.I'm really sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your time with us. If you wish to discuss this in more detail, please contact the people teamThanks, Savers

Bad company to work for!!!!!

I currently work for this company. The working hours are bad! There is never enough members of staff on the shop floor! Your social life is gone! Always making you work on weekends! Even when it supposed to be a rotation on Saturday on One Sunday off!! Oh when the management treat you like Rubbish. So you can work your way up and it's opportunities in savers I haven't seen it yet??? DO NOT APPLY!!!!

Pros

Superdrugs discount Card

Cons

Bad hours/ No weekends off!!!
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Savers Health and Beauty

17 September 2019
Hi!Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.I'm really sorry to hear you aren't enjoying your time with us. If you wish to discuss this in more detail, please contact the people teamThanks, Savers

hard work for minimal reward

The work itself was pretty straight forward however a lot was expected for the amount you were getting paid. You would also be starting really early sometimes and leaving when the shop shut.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Savers Health and Beauty

17 September 2019
Hi!Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.I'm really sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your time with us. If you wish to discuss this in more detail, please contact the people teamThanks, Savers

Friendly environment

I had a really good time as i received an insight on how retail stores work and what the life is like working a 9-5pm. Having this experience taught me to be more responsible and also brought out the best in me as I love to socialise and have fun

Pros

Kind staff

Cons

Long hours, rude manager
Was this review helpful?

not fun

it is a ok company to work for not a great job or pay not reliable not kind needs some more training for most management some stores need to close down asap
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Savers Health and Beauty

9 November 2018
Hi, Thankyou for taking us the time to leave this review. We are sorry that your time with us wasnt what you expected. If you'd like to raise any issues then do not hesitate to contact Savers People Team Best of luck in your career. Savers

Ok

Building a positive relationship with colleagues and customers, working at tills and being able to multitask throughout my daily. Keeping up with time-keeping and having to be very vigilant with money, customers and store. Creating a good atmosphere for colleagues and customers for each visit to the store, making sure the store is presentable and appealing to customers, helping customers in store when asked questions, being first in resort of help when needed. Ensuring the customers get all the help they need. Asking if they would like to view any new perfumes that are on offer.

Pros

Short hours

Cons

cleaning
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Savers Health and Beauty

31 October 2018
Hi There,Thank you for taking the time to leave us this honest review. We appreciate all feedback and wish you the best of luck in your career.Many thanks,Savers

Good benefits but some cons

Its a good jobs for students, quite simple responsibilities and the pay is quite good. You also get quite a few benefits like discounts too. However you were unable to choose your shift times (this is what I experienced within the 4 months I worked there) which meant I was closing up every Sunday and getting the undesireable hours on the weekend.

Pros

Good pay and discounts

Cons

Lack of shift choice and bias management
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Savers Health and Beauty

2 November 2018
Hi There,Thanks for taking the time to leave us this review!We are so happy to hear you had an enjoyed your time with us! We're sorry that the store wasn't too flexible with the shift times, if you'd like to discuss this further please contact the People Team. Many Thanks, Savers

Enjoyable

Everyday is enjoyable and there are new tasks to carry out. Great company benefits. Perfect job for students and people who are looking for part-time employment.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Savers Health and Beauty

31 October 2018
Hi There,Thank you for leaving us this great review! We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your time with us and would like to wish you the best of luck in your career.Many thanks,Savers

Fun work place

All staff are welcoming with an equal mind-set. They are also very motivating and help you if in need. For instance one of the days I was working and I was very busy as a customer approached me so my colleague stepped in and helped the customer instead.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Savers Health and Beauty

27 September 2018
Hi There,Thank you for leaving us this lovely feedback! Many thanks,Savers

Productive environment

If your someone who likes to be kept busy this is the place you want to be in, you're never waiting on customers from the moment the doors open till they close there is a constant flow of customers, you are constantly working, time goes quick and its a productive shift......
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Savers Health and Beauty

22 May 2018
Hi There,Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback.We are glad that you are enjoying your career with us.We would like to wish you every success with Savers!.Many thanks,Savers.

Productive

Was given responsibility to take stock from stock room and place them on shop floor 'face up'. Helped customers find products. Worked behind tills briefly and had responsibility to persuade customers into buying new perfume at shop door.

Pros

Very practical

Cons

Long hours
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Savers Health and Beauty

26 January 2018
Hi There,Thank you for leaving us this feedback, we wish you the best of luck in your career! Thanks,Savers

Decent place to work and gain experience

A typical day at work for me was opening and closing of the store managing a small team of 14-20 staff and with that came making sure the store was always tidy and safe for customer to shop and making is presentable to shop for next days trade i learned a lot from working there they have workshops to send people on that want to learn new things management are great the general feel of the place is very fast paced environment the hardest part of the job is trying to stop shoplifters as there is a lot of it going on the most enjoyable part is when u have a good day of sales and u hit set targets and know that it was under my management

Pros

lots of advancement opportunities

Cons

lots of politics
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Savers Health and Beauty

22 September 2017
Thank you for leaving us this feedback. It is amazing to hear that you managed to learn so much and gain new skills. We wish you the best of luck in your career and if you wish to rejoin us please visit www.savers.jobsMany thanks, Savers Health & Beauty

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Savers Health and Beauty. Our community is ready to answer.Ask a Question

Overall rating

Based on 975 reviews

Ratings by category

3.1 out of 5 stars for Work/Life Balance
2.8 out of 5 stars for Salary/Benefits
3.0 out of 5 stars for Job security/advancement
3.1 out of 5 stars for Management
3.1 out of 5 stars for Culture

Compare Savers Health and Beauty with

  • Companies
  • Savers Health and Beauty
  • Employee reviews
  • London
Tell us how to improve this page
What would you add or change?