Savers Health and Beauty
3.3 out of 5 stars.
Get weekly updates, new jobs, and reviews

Savers Health and Beauty Job security & advancement reviews

Job Title
Location
Found 172 reviews matching the search
See all 840 reviews
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Overall a job that is for students part time I guess not enough hours available and no room for promotion unless you go way above and beyond for the company
Pros
Superdrug discounts
Cons
No compassion for having sick family members
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Savers Health and Beauty
9 November 2020
Hi!Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.I'm really sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your time with us.If you wish to discuss this in more detail, please contact the people teamThanks, Savers
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Joined savers on a temp contract was told I would get a permanent position at the end of it. Worked any shift was asked always worked my hardest and management was so bad rotas we’re meant to be 3 weeks in advance had to keep asking for them didn’t get them until the day of the next rota. Was told I was getting a permanent position but was never given a contract so looked elsewhere and then was told my manager would get me a contract only to find out he shouldn’t have had me employed as long as he did and ended my contract there and then. Terrible management couldn’t believe how bad it was, the Jon itself isn’t to bad but no security in job.
Pros
Easy job
Cons
Terrible management
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Savers Health and Beauty
11 February 2021
Hi There,We are very sorry to read through the review that you have left us, the issues you have raised is something we take very seriously so please can you get in contact with our People Team so we can investigate further.We wish the best of luck in your future and hope hear from you soonThanks,SaversThanks,
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Thanks to Savers, I got a Distinction in my Retail Diploma as an Apprentice. They took me on when I finished and I’m loving it. I still work there, and I still enjoy it.
Pros
Opportunities, Flexibility, Management.
Cons
Constant shift arranging, last minute changes.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Savers Health and Beauty
11 February 2021
Hi!Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.I'm so happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us. It's really important.We wish you all the best for your future.Thanks, Savers
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Was a full time apprenticeship here a few years ago. Overworked hardly managed to get my breaks. And obviously under paid as it was an apprenticeship. Did not enjoy my time here at all
Pros
Experience
Cons
Long hours and low pay
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Savers Health and Beauty
14 January 2021
Hi There,We are very sorry to read through the review that you have left us, the issues you have raised is something we take very seriously so please can you get in contact with our People Team so we can investigate further. We wish the best of luck in your future and hope hear from you soon Thanks,Savers Thanks,
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
sell sell sell, to much emphasis on SAS (Savers Active Selling) I saw Sales Assistants getting chastised for not selling enough even when they ask customers constantly, and when they do achieve sales it's just taken for granted, there's no direct praise to them. Most cashiers have 4 hour shifts and spend the majority of time on the tills constantly being pushed to upsell.Delivery team put under constant pressure with not knowing how many cages the delivery is as estimate is hardly ever correct, having to work stock on shop floor when customers are in the store, trip hazards everywhere for customers. Supervisors put under pressure and constantly moaned at for tasks not always all being done, even when store was running understaffed.As a supervisor you are able to cash up at the end of the day or open the store, be a key holder and answer Alarm Calls if Alarm fault or activates. your also constantly reminded to push the sales assistants to upsell, you may be tasked to do pick lists and other job Management may decide you are capable to undertake.The culture is that majority of the staff aren't fully happy with how the store is and pretty much everyday someone has something bad to say.Be expected to be called in adhoc and for rotas to be changed with less than 24hrs notice so planning things around your shifts can be difficult.Staff turnover is pretty high and basically seems because staff feel beaten down by the amount of work and pressure. In my time with the company I saw 2 cashiers and 2 supervisors leave and now myself leave.Every shift you will feel as if you - more...
Pros
You get paid
Cons
Low wage, To many to list, review says it all
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Savers Health and Beauty
14 January 2021
Hi There,We are very sorry to read through the review that you have left us, the issues you have raised is something we take very seriously so please can you get in contact with our People Team so we can investigate further. We wish the best of luck in your future and hope hear from you soon Thanks,Savers Thanks,
Rate your recent company
Share your experience to help others
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
I was an apprentice and I didn’t learn anything I was ment to. I wasn’t allowed to anything but stay on the till for all my shift every shift, and was promised to be promoted after the apprenticeship, I ended up on 12 hr contract for a further 2 years, hoping and waiting to be promoted. And as for active selling(SAS) management would shout and would say if we didn’t sell £50 pound a day of SAS they would be warnings!
Pros
None
Cons
Small shifts 4hr
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Savers Health and Beauty
16 December 2020
Hi!Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.I'm really sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your time with us.If you wish to discuss this in more detail, please contact the people teamThanks, Savers
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Fast paced business that is run by a fantastic management team with an ethos that runs through the company and its employees clearly, a very happy place to work
Pros
Good employer
Cons
basic salary
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Savers Health and Beauty
19 November 2020
Hi!Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.I'm so happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us. It's really important.We wish you all the best for your future.Thanks, Savers
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Perfect for anyone for a first job. There's no career progression but you all work together as a little family and management are always easy to talk to.
Pros
everything
Cons
trying to sell s.a.s
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Savers Health and Beauty
24 July 2020
Hi!Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.I'm so happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us but sorry to hear you didnt feel there was any progress. We wish you all the best for your future.Thanks, Savers
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
I have worked for savers for 11 years even though it’s fasted paced and challenging at times I couldn’t do it without the support from my brilliant team and area manager. I personally think it’s a great place to work and your part of a family
Pros
Team
Cons
Not for everyone
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Savers Health and Beauty
19 March 2020
Hi!Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.I'm so happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us. It's really important.We wish you all the best for your future.Thanks, Savers
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Constantly over worked, never allowed full breaks, management/area managers/hr do not care about you, Promised career progression - never get it! Extremely high turn over of staff Hours cut Budgets cut Pushed to sell certain items with no incentives apart from the possibility of maybe winning a prize (never happens) I was a supervisor, which meant key holder. Manager wont answer calls on days off or out of hours so if security call for alarms going off during the night the ring you until you answer. No call out money for this either.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Savers Health and Beauty
19 March 2020
Hi!Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.I'm really sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your time with us.If you wish to discuss this in more detail, please contact the people teamThanks, Savers
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
not the business as advertised. too much expected from the management team. no balance between personal and work life. expected to answer calls and sort out problems whilst on annual leave. lack of appreciation. higher management lack people skills.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Savers Health and Beauty
19 March 2020
Hi!Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.I'm really sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your time with us.If you wish to discuss this in more detail, please contact the people teamThanks, Savers
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
As long as you can work with a few fakes and take in large amount of tasks and being nit picked about everything, but rather than tell you whine to the area manager, about something that they could tell you and help you develop better within your role, area very picky and expects a lot of work out of you in your own time even though 50+ hrs a week isn’t good enough she like to push for more
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Savers Health and Beauty
19 March 2020
Hi!Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.I'm really sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your time with us.If you wish to discuss this in more detail, please contact the people teamThanks, Savers
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
was only there for a few months, got payed 50p over minimum wage todo everything the manager should be doing. getting left for a full shift without a break as i couldn’t leave the store being the only management in the store. being put in for over time and never asked ( i have a two year old and needed to get childcare) the manager didn’t care as long as she didn’t work sundays. the assistant manager who didn’t have a clue on procedures trying to undermine staff who had been there for 15 plus years (longer than her) the list could go on forever.
Pros
nothing
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Savers Health and Beauty
19 March 2020
Hi!Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.I'm really sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your time with us.If you wish to discuss this in more detail, please contact the people teamThanks, Savers
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
I have worked for the company for 15 years worked my way up to store manager a fantastic place to work feel valued and appreciated for all the hard work fast paced environment and challenging at times like all retailers. Area managers and regional manager are a massive support. I started in a smaller store and have moved to a larger one area manager has been a massive support and will go above and beyond to help and support all his stores his dedication to his role inspires you to want to achieve and be the best leader you can. I personally think its a fantastic place to work.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Savers Health and Beauty
19 March 2020
Hi!Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.I'm so happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us. It's really important.We wish you all the best for your future.Thanks, Savers
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
I've worked for savers for over 5 years now and progressed so much in that time especially over the last year, you get some much benefits and rewards working for savers it's amazing! it is a tough job to work but with the right team and the great support that I get from my area manager It gets me through each day, the whole area and the are manager are like one big team always there to help and support each other when needed, I love my job and all the colleges I work with and the support from my area manager is great I dont know what i would do without them I cant thank my teams area manager and regional manager enough for all the support.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Savers Health and Beauty
19 March 2020
Hi!Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.I'm so happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us. It's really important.We wish you all the best for your future.Thanks, Savers
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
manager didn't treat others fairly and made me work when had shingles and didn't praise workers and everyone wanted to know your business and nothing was private
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Savers Health and Beauty
19 March 2020
Hi!Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.I'm really sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your time with us.If you wish to discuss this in more detail, please contact the people teamThanks, Savers
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
When I first started I loved savers and the company. I had great career prospects with them. We then got a new area manager about 6 months into the store opening. He has no idea what he is doing, he is negative and rude. Completely ruined the job for most people and the entire team left one by one. Would no longer recommend. Unless you manage to be a favourite of the area manager,
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Savers Health and Beauty
19 March 2020
Hi!Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.I'm really sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your time with us.If you wish to discuss this in more detail, please contact the people teamThanks, Savers
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
terrible managers honestly so not understanding,rude,ignorant, expect you to do so much in such a fast paste and will never praise you for working well n’a hard! such a shame they have lovely staff
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Savers Health and Beauty
19 March 2020
Hi!Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.I'm really sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your time with us.If you wish to discuss this in more detail, please contact the people teamThanks, Savers
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Did 2months work experience hoping to get a job at end but didn't was really upset as liked working there gave me a moral boost, A joy to work for though
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Savers Health and Beauty
19 March 2020
Hi!Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.I'm so happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us. It's really important.We wish you all the best for your future.Thanks, Savers
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
It was terrible working there, the staff were very condescending towards me and didn’t understand that I needed my days changed due to personal reasons so instead of changing my days they basically forced me out. They had nothing good to say to me regarding how I was doing and whenever I would try to do my job how they told me too, I was apparently doing it wrong. One of the worst jobs ever.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Savers Health and Beauty
19 March 2020
Hi!Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.I'm really sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your time with us.If you wish to discuss this in more detail, please contact the people teamThanks, Savers
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
It a good place to start you career it Gives you till experience and improves on anyone of your social skill and every one the is lovely to work with.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Savers Health and Beauty
19 March 2020
Hi!Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.I'm so happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us. It's really important.We wish you all the best for your future.Thanks, Savers