Savers Health and Beauty
Happiness score is 46 out of 100
3.2 out of 5 stars.
Get weekly updates, new jobs, and reviews

Savers Health and Beauty Job security & advancement reviews

Review this company
Job Title
All
Location
United Kingdom955 reviews

Ratings by category

Clear
3.1Work-life balance
3.1Job security & advancement

Sort by

HelpfulnessRatingDate
Found 193 reviews matching the searchSee all 970 reviews

Decent job if you don't need hours

Indeed featured review

The most useful review selected by Indeed
Working at Savers is great if you just need a little pocket money, but if you have bills and responsibilities, don't work here. You dont get thought about if you arent Management, they get salaried hours so they don't have to worry about hours been cut or no overtime! Don't get me wrong, most of the Management do try their best to help where they can, but its useless if the decision has to go to someone higher than them.

Pros

Very flexible with hours

Cons

Can work there a long time and get no where, no promotions, nothing!
Was this review helpful?

Productive and rewarding

I am currently Assistant Manager. The work is fast paced but ultimately rewarding with fantastic incentives. Management support is incredible as is area management support. The opportunity for advancement is great as in my nearly 3 years of employment I have stepped up from Supervisor to Assistant Manager with help and encouragement. It is a great place to work
Was this review helpful?

Insights into Savers Health and Beauty

Based on 147 survey responses
Areas for improvement
  • Sense of belonging
  • Energising work tasks
  • Trust in colleagues

Never felt appreciated

Worked for the company for just under 10 years and maybe apart from selected few that I worked with... I never felt appreciated. I busted my gut for them for many years and felt like there was no point. Even a simple thank you would have not gone a miss. I actually don't understand why I kept going back there. The amount of stress that is put on is just not necessary. I get that it is retail and it comes with the job... but not to that extent and even if you do good... its still not enough. I loved the staff that I worked with. But I believe the area managers forget themselves and don't always understand.
Was this review helpful?

Collaborative, fun environment.

I worked here for a reasonable amount of time, and it was mixed-bag. The highlight for me was the team. I really enjoyed working with everyone, and found it to be a collaborative working space with lots of friendly relationships (which made the work day go much quicker!). The team is young, so lots of banter and friendly chatting. I found that my concerns were always listened to and appreciated by management, and that management genuinely had our best interests at heart.Hours were good and stable week-on-week, and I didn't mind working weekends or bank holidays. You would have to work either Christmas Eve or Boxing Day, and usually New Year's Day as well. The company really should give out bank holiday bonuses for this, but unless you're management they won't. Unusual. If you're ever looking for more hours, management are usually very accommodating of this.The tasks to complete in the work-day are normally very varied. The longer you're there for, the less likely you're going to be serving on the till all day. Often you'll be able to help in the stock room, tackle deliveries and tidy the store (these are the most enjoyable parts!). Whilst early morning (6am) deliveries are hard work, they are probably the most enjoyable job. No customers!As most of these reviews say, the worst part about working here is SAS (offering promotions to customers at the till). SAS is a compulsory component of working here, and is fairy awkward, robotic and difficult. If you are someone who is socially anxious, awkward or very introverted, this job probably isn't for you. I felt as well that - 
Was this review helpful?

They don't care about you and its all LIES

Worked there for 3 years; worst time of my life. Care more about their promotional sales than your wellbeing- got mental or physical health issues? You'd better believe you're staying on the till while your sick or having a panic attack. Also, want to have a life outside of the job? Forget about it. Was on a 12 hour contract and worked up to 50 hours at Christmas. They would even get annoyed when I would say I had college to go to and nearly didn't let me go to my university interview. Short staffed constantly because the management are so mean that no one wants to work there. So desperate at one point the manager came into MY OTHER WORKPLACE begging me to work for them straight after my other shift. Also you're not allowed to talk to other staff members while working because you'll get told off and you are forced to LIE, yes, LIE to customers about promotional items prices just to get the sale. The whole franchise is pathetic and I feel sick even thinking about the place.
Was this review helpful?

Rate your recent company

Share your experience to help others

Rubbish place and awful management.

Starting working there on a part time contract and I worked really hard. I was treated really bad by management and head office didnt do anything when you would contact them. I hated working there and was so happy when I found a better job.

Pros

None

Cons

None
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Savers Health and Beauty

1 March 2022
Hi!Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.I'm really sorry to hear you aren't happy with your experience with us, your feedback is very valuable.If you wish to discuss this in more detail, please contact the people team who will be happy to assist you.Best of luck in the future! Thanks, Savers

Awful pay, management don't know how to do thier job properly

Would not recommend working for this company because it's awful for pay, Management do not know how to do that job properlyColleagues always slags you off

Pros

Staff discount

Cons

Work-life balance not an even balance!
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Savers Health and Beauty

1 March 2022
Hi!Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.I'm really sorry to hear you aren't happy with your experience with us, your feedback is very valuable.If you wish to discuss this in more detail, please contact the people team who will be happy to assist you.Best of luck in the future! Thanks, Savers

fun work place, great team

my experience at savers was overall enjoyable, i had a great team who made work fun! it allowed me to grow as an individual allowing me to gain lots of confidence and experience.

Pros

team was amazing
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Savers Health and Beauty

1 March 2022
Hi!Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.I'm so happy to hear you are enjoying your time with us. It's really important.Thanks, Savers

Fun workplace

It was a good first job, helped me gain skills to progress further and the people were friendly however didnt have mant hours available so not a good full time job.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Savers Health and Beauty

1 March 2022
Hi!Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.I'm so happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us. It's really important.We wish you all the best for your future.Thanks, Savers

Relaxed and fun

It is a Good place to work and develop your retail skills as well as social skills and finance management. I found a Relaxed environment that can be fast paced.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Savers Health and Beauty

1 March 2022
Hi!Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.I'm so happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us. It's really important.We wish you all the best for your future.Thanks, Savers

In all honesty, quite poor!

The only thing keeping me with the company is job security, that and the team I work with. Started off really well as a Sales Assistant then got promoted to Supervisor not long after which is where I made the biggest mistake of my life! Being a member of management is horrendous! Managers constantly moan about each other, pick and choose days off to suit them while leaving everyone else in the proverbial. Company constantly move goalposts to make it almost impossible to achieve any bonuses, eg. Our budget for 2021 year is up against 2019 because apparently 2020 wasn’t a real year! No annual pay rise because they “lost money” even though they kept us open as key workers so people could buy essential items such as perfumes, alcohol, nail varnish and hair dyes? So regular sales assistants get a bump in the national living wage yet I get the same as last year which isn’t much more than they get! They also told us that they want us to “spend as much time with your families over Christmas” yet stayed open on Boxing Day.. Bank holidays are always dead no matter what store you go into yet they always keep us open to grab as many pennies as possible! If you want a part time job, go for it but I can totally see why so many new managers come and go after a few months.

Pros

Team spirit and delivery shifts

Cons

Poor work/life balance. Pay.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Savers Health and Beauty

25 January 2022
Hi!Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.I'm really sorry to hear you aren't happy with your experience with us, your feedback is very valuable.If you wish to discuss this in more detail, please contact the people team who will be happy to assist you.Thanks, Savers

Fun place to work

It was a really nice place to work I really enjoyed it I would recommend it to everyone even though I did even though it was a temporary stay, I really wish I got the opportunity to stay longer

Pros

Discount
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Savers Health and Beauty

1 March 2022
Hi!Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.I'm so happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us. It's really important.We wish you all the best for your future.Thanks, Savers

Lovely place to work but more work is needed to the company

I am so lucky to have an amazing management team in my store, they are so supportive and understanding with my needs, after my apprenticeship they gave me an 8 hour contract which isn't particularly ideal however I a still happy here and I get loads of overtime. During my apprenticeship I was basically trained up to be a supervisor however I was not given, or even offered the job when there was a position available despite being told I am well suited to the role. It is an extremely nice place to work, however there is a lack of progression in the company and it does get slightly annoying to sell things at the till as it almost feels as if we will loose our jobs if we don't do so, but I do know that its just the area manager pushing us to do better. Lastly, the pay isn't ideal, with the little contracted hours I am earning nowhere near enough to live on.

Pros

Amazing staff members, feels almost like a family.

Cons

No progression in company, understaffed, little contracted hours.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Savers Health and Beauty

1 March 2022
Hi!Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.I'm so happy to hear you are enjoying your time with us. It's really important.We wish you all the best for your future.Thanks, Savers

Not a good place to work

Very stressful work place, no support from management, no chance of promotion, unfair on holiday requests but management can have off which ever time they choose, over worked

Pros

None

Cons

Long hours
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Savers Health and Beauty

1 March 2022
Hi!Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.I'm really sorry to hear you aren't happy with your experience with us, your feedback is very valuable.If you wish to discuss this in more detail, please contact the people team who will be happy to assist you.Best of luck in the future! Thanks, Savers

Learning a lot about retail and it’s a good place to start out.

I’ve been with the company for 5 months now. Safe to say I could give a review on how I am doing.It’s not bad. I am learning so much about retail whilst on the apprenticeship and I have a healthy balance of tasks to complete. My manager and assistant manager has always been really helpful and I enjoy the team I work with right now.

Pros

Good team to work with, good number of hours, good management at store level, good experiences
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Savers Health and Beauty

25 January 2022
Hi!Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.I'm so happy to hear you're enjoying your time with us. It's really important.We wish you all the best for your future.Thanks, Savers

Stressful, competitive and far too underpaid

This company underpays you for the tasks they make you do. Not only do you have to annoy customers with stupid promotions, it draws the life away from your soul when you’re told you’re not good enough when customers refuse the promotions you are forced to offer. It is not fun, or enjoyable. Furthermore, the competitiveness of the company is crazy. If you don’t sell a certain amount a week you get told off, and the manager gets told off. All we ever heard whilst I worked at savers was “the area manager is not happy with us again” or “we’ve done so bad on promotions”, which is not our problem because we cannot force customers to buy items!!! The breaks for this job are awful too.

Pros

The managers are generally nice

Cons

Unrealistic expectations
Was this review helpful?

You need a great work ethic.

This store is lovely, clean and well looked after.The store manager is a wonderful man and always sees the best in you.I’m not going to lie it is hard work - but if you are hardworking and love seeing the store do well you will really enjoy it.The customers are so down to earth and lovely.You need to be confident in selling as you have to tell every customer about the latest promotions and they are massively good savings on all the products but the promos are amazing prices so I love sharing this information with the customers as money is hard earned and I want them to save as much as possible.It is fast paced - take your foot off the gas you will get behind so always be positive, upbeat, hardworking and helpful and you won’t have any problems.Savers do encourage you to be the best - everyone has the potential to be a manager so go for it - learn as much as you can everyday by asking questions and always offer ideas which the manager will always listen to. It is a work family and they look after you.

Pros

Sociable hours, job progression, rewards, incentives, free uniform tops, plenty of overtime

Cons

Opening New Year’s Day as far too quiet. Give staff a well earned New Years break
Was this review helpful?

Supervisor

The company is great to work for, they transferred me from one store to another to benefit my work and home life, there is great job progression available if you want it and there is grear training opportunities. Your wage is fare. Overtime is always available and a good opportunity to learn new skills.

Pros

Bonus scheme

Cons

None
Was this review helpful?

Productive, fun working

I had good experience ,working in a different , and friendly environment then previous experience. I had interaction with all sort of customers, which was quite learning.
Was this review helpful?

A culture of bullying in a budget store.

I guess the only good thing to say about working at Savers is you will have a good work-life balance because you won't get enough hours for it to interfere with your life. The job is banal, boring, repetitive and in the end erosive. You will either be serving on the till and trying to force feed perfumes e.t.c to customers (who just want to buy their shopping and leave), work behind the till is limited to tasks like facing up perfumes, security tagging more expensive products and other adhoc duties given by management, the till area is cramped and if customers have lots of shopping it is very awkward to pack. I found the customers the best thing, you get to know the regulars and can have at least some banter in an otherwise hostile environment. If you are not serving on the tills or you will be facing up the store and making sure everything is placed and in order, this may include replenishing shelves from drawers or putting deliveries out.During the recent pandemic there was no real attempt to limit the number of customers allowed in the store bearing in mind most are smaller outlets on the high street. There was also no provision in the beginning for hand sanitizer or disinfecting of baskets. I was aware that members of staff came into work whilst unwell, not testing or in full knowledge they had been in close contact with someone who had tested positive. As the pandemic went on things did improve for customers but not for employees who were put at risk by their co-workers. Finally onto management and the treatment of staff. The nature of the job is to be the best in your - 

Pros

None

Cons

Too long to list
Was this review helpful?

Productive work place, but can stressful at times.

Worked here as both a sales assistant and as a Supervisor. I’d say the work/social life balance is pretty decent. Others might disagree - it depends on how confident you are when it comes to putting your foot down, and saying enough is enough if your management keeps asking for overtime. However they can force you to do an extra percentage of your contracted hours. Example: If your contract is 16 hours, they can forcibly top it up to 20 hours that week. If you refuse to work it still then it could lead to a contract review. You only get a salary as assistant manager or store manager and above. Supervisor or anything below is paid by the hour, but generally a decent wage. And usually plenty of overtime. Im on a 16 hour contract and I’ve generally been working 30-35 hours in both my store and covering other stores. You may get asked to cover another local store within driving distance If you do own vehicle. In my own experience there are generally a lot of chances to advance in you position. I was taken on as Supervisor but in the area there are a lot of recruitments being advertised. So I could apply for assistant manager for example in another store if I wanted to.If you are hardworking and do the job correctly then job security is pretty much a given. I would say the bad thing about this company, and many similar companies is the active selling at the till. Being a supervisor I don’t have to commit as much to this as the sales assistants, but managing a team I do have to have some knowledge and approach to boost these sales within the store. You have to pretty much - 

Pros

Salary for management, job advancement is a given, friendly staff/team members generally get along.

Cons

Poor Head Office management, pressure to hit targets, only 1 week paid bereavement leave.
Was this review helpful?

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Savers Health and Beauty. Our community is ready to answer.Ask a Question

Overall rating

Based on 970 reviews

Ratings by category

3.1 out of 5 stars for Work/Life Balance
2.8 out of 5 stars for Salary/Benefits
3.1 out of 5 stars for Job security/advancement
3.1 out of 5 stars for Management
3.1 out of 5 stars for Culture

Compare Savers Health and Beauty with

  • Companies
  • Savers Health and Beauty
  • Employee reviews
  • Job security & advancement