Savers Health and Beauty
Happiness score is 46 out of 100
3.2 out of 5 stars.
Get weekly updates, new jobs, and reviews

Savers Health and Beauty Work-life balance reviews

Review this company
Job Title
All
Location
United Kingdom955 reviews

Ratings by category

Clear
3.1Work-life balance
2.8Pay & benefits

Sort by

HelpfulnessRatingDate
Found 275 reviews matching the searchSee all 970 reviews

No work life balance

Indeed featured review

The most useful review selected by Indeed
Often expected to work on lunch break Expected to travel to other stores to cover even if it means a 12 hour day Getting a weekend off nigh on impossible. managers aren’t allowed to manage their teams. run stores on inadequate hours often only two members of staff in store

Pros

None

Cons

Hours, no work life balance
Was this review helpful?

Everyone is talking about everyone!

Everyone is talking about everyone behind their back making it a really uncomfortable working environment, one supervisor the worst for it. The manager is nice but she hasn't got the backing from her management team for the above reason.Shifts are cancelled hours before you are due to start because the shop wasn't hitting targets the previous day. Go in every shift and days/times would be changed on the rota.Top tip: if you do choose to work here, keep a note of your overtime...
Was this review helpful?

Not the best at all

As a former employee I was expected to put savers first over my own family. Expected to stay after shift finishes unpaid. Pushing stupid deals of the week onto customers at the till. Working the till alone with no other staff on the shop floor. Quite a stressful experience really
Was this review helpful?

Avoid

Company is horrible avoid working here. Started on 8hr contract end up doing 40hrs a week. Have to travel to other shops as well as doing your shifts in own shops no fuel money and no better thought of. Entitled to an hour break lucky is you get 10mins. Working over and not getting paid for it. Finding out your shifts for the week the day before so you can’t plan anything management think you don’t have a life away from work and expect you to work whenever they say. Miserable workplace colleagues are friendly that’s the only plus side

Pros

Friendly colleagues

Cons

Everything
Was this review helpful?

Stressful but sociable hours.

Very stressful. Managers will always be on your case for SAS (upselling perfumes to costumers) . Hours given is based on how much you sell. Good for uni students or people who want a good work-life balance.
Was this review helpful?

Rate your recent company

Share your experience to help others

Avoid unless you have no life

Would not recommend this company to work for, all they care about is money in the tills, they do not care about the staffs emotional and mental wellbeing at all.You will be expected to work long hours with very little breaks and the pay is shocking, having to sell sas is super hard work and if you don't sell enough you can be put under investigation.I now do a lot less and am been paid the same as when I was a member of management at savers, which may I add is one of the most stressful jobs I have ever done, you are constantly expected to do more and more, deadlines, targets and budgets have to be met always,you might aswel sleep there as you won't actually get to go home and see your family much. The only good thing I can say is there is always a good team spirit, but other than that it is a thankless job and only the big Big bosses get to reap the rewards for all your hardwork.

Pros

None

Cons

Long hours, shocking pay, rubbish company
Was this review helpful?

productive and fun workplace

There is a good work-life balance at savers and the management is supportive and helps motivate you to achieve your sas goals. Although, there is stress particularly in January to achieve the SAS targets the team was supportive. I always enjoyed going to work and I became more confident in myself.

Pros

good work-life balance, friendly atmosphere

Cons

Sas
Was this review helpful?

Never felt appreciated

Worked for the company for just under 10 years and maybe apart from selected few that I worked with... I never felt appreciated. I busted my gut for them for many years and felt like there was no point. Even a simple thank you would have not gone a miss. I actually don't understand why I kept going back there. The amount of stress that is put on is just not necessary. I get that it is retail and it comes with the job... but not to that extent and even if you do good... its still not enough. I loved the staff that I worked with. But I believe the area managers forget themselves and don't always understand.
Was this review helpful?

Low pay but easy job

The pay was very low for what you do. Often you would have to do extra shifts as we’re short staffed. Would be backed into a corner to work the next day. On tills you’d have to active sell products, with a target to reach each day. You’d get pressured to reach this target and could become stressful. The job was fairly simple, could get quite busy but slow in morning and evenings. The store is only closed on Christmas Day, meaning having to work on bank holidays. If you rang in sick the management would get annoyed and often felt pressured to go in anyway. Aside from this the team was very friendly and like a family environment.
Was this review helpful?

Very demanding

Working here is rewarding but the demands are too much, expectations of what can be done in the time from regional managers is far too much. Makes it an unhappy place to work! Don't work here if you want to not get called in all the time

Pros

Some staff are fab

Cons

Long hours
Was this review helpful?

Productive and fun workplace

It felt like my 2nd home, and my family. What an amazing bunch of people to be around. So supportive, so lovely and welcoming. Not only were they supportive professionally, but also personally too. If you had anything going on you can be sure that they will be there for you, a shoulder to cry on. Best people to ever meet.
Was this review helpful?

Pay is rubbish, management does not care

Management does not care. The rest of the team was lovely. Boring if you're stuck on the tills all day. It's a stepping stone job so you can't really expect much.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Savers Health and Beauty

1 March 2022
Hi!Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.I'm really sorry to hear you aren't happy with your experience with us, your feedback is very valuable.If you wish to discuss this in more detail, please contact the people team who will be happy to assist you.Thanks, Savers

Great place to work

I love my job, It can be challenging & stressful but I am a believer in organisation & routine.Lots of fun can be had, If you like raising money for charity then you can have fun too.Everyday can be different, As long as you have a great team to work with it makes a difference.Support could be better but it's there when needed.

Pros

Discount card for a sister retailer

Cons

Long hours
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Savers Health and Beauty

1 March 2022
Hi!Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.I'm so happy to hear you are enjoying your time with us. It's really important.Thanks, Savers

Awful pay, management don't know how to do thier job properly

Would not recommend working for this company because it's awful for pay, Management do not know how to do that job properlyColleagues always slags you off

Pros

Staff discount

Cons

Work-life balance not an even balance!
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Savers Health and Beauty

1 March 2022
Hi!Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.I'm really sorry to hear you aren't happy with your experience with us, your feedback is very valuable.If you wish to discuss this in more detail, please contact the people team who will be happy to assist you.Best of luck in the future! Thanks, Savers

Never recommend and waste of time

I was a store manager who started October 2021 I walked out in February 2022 due to lack of support and nothing is worth this job and stress. Area managers and higher up are never to be seen always asking for targets that are unrealistic and is higher management used common sense the company would be a bit better. Still waiting for money owed to me from last year as payroll are useless and head office and just dumb people that you can never phone. Avoid this job its not worth it as a small discount retailer they have made everything hard for themselves. Been a store manager wasn't the best job its a nightmare as other mangers said store managers wing it through to get ahead.

Pros

Meeting some nice staff

Cons

Useless higher management High staff turnovers No progression Long hours
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Savers Health and Beauty

1 March 2022
Hi!Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.I'm really sorry to hear you aren't happy with your experience with us, your feedback is very valuable.If you wish to discuss this in more detail, please contact the people team who will be happy to assist you.Best of luck in the future! Thanks, Savers

Awful company, stay well clear!

Absolutely the most awful degrading company to work for the managment team are not supportive the higher you go the more repercussions you face to work for a company for over 10 years and no support with any health (mental and physical) issues. The best thing I done was to get out of there and only after a year of working else where I never been happier and more supported and now do I realise how you should be treated by an employer.

Pros

The customer relationships you build

Cons

Long hours, no support, no guidance, no recognition, no appreciation, staff are all for one no team effort. Again stay clear
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Savers Health and Beauty

1 March 2022
Hi!Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.I'm really sorry to hear you aren't happy with your experience with us, your feedback is very valuable.If you wish to discuss this in more detail, please contact the people team who will be happy to assist you.Best of luck in the future! Thanks, Savers

Not bad

Fine place to work due to having nice management at my store currently, but have came across some horrendous managers in my years here.As a supervisor work life balance was fine for me but for the managers and assistant managers alot of hours are expected of them.The budget my store was given for hours to run the store was rubbish, literally bare minimum with barely enough staff throughout the day to get the jobs done.Also have to say the whole sas thing is a major annoyance, alot of items that are the same price as last week stuck at the front on "offer" and cashiers expected to sell a ridiculous amount of them to hit targets. You miss your store target for one day and you don't hear the end of it from the area manager.

Pros

Hours that I wanted Nice colleagues

Cons

SAS Managers hours Low budget of hours
Was this review helpful?

If you love not seeing friends and family, this is the place for you.

Like all jobs, there are pro’s there are cons. But in the last 12 months a lot more cons. The management expect far to much from you, you can do everything that’s asked and more and it’s never recognised, but as soon as something minor appears they head straight down the formal proceedings. There is obvious favourites amongst some of the management team. Working 55 hours a week with no balance at all. Told to take time back in Lieu but never ever happens so not only under paid but not given the time back. The hours worked can sometimes mean your basically working under minimum wage, yet send out training making sure if cashiers are out 15 minutes late they are to be paid for it. But not management. No pay rise last year to make up for the loss in the pandemic, bonus has become near impossible to hit targets for now.

Pros

The team in store

Cons

No work/life balance
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Savers Health and Beauty

1 March 2022
Hi!Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.I'm really sorry to hear you aren't happy with your experience with us, your feedback is very valuable.If you wish to discuss this in more detail, please contact the people team who will be happy to assist you.Best of luck in the future! Thanks, Savers

Absolutely rubbish

Very poor management team Long hoursExpected to work for free Penalised for attending important appointments Treated unfairly Very rubbish place to work

Pros

None

Cons

Worked like a slave with no recognition sa
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Savers Health and Beauty

1 March 2022
Hi!Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.I'm really sorry to hear you aren't happy with your experience with us, your feedback is very valuable.If you wish to discuss this in more detail, please contact the people team who will be happy to assist you.Best of luck in the future! Thanks, Savers

In all honesty, quite poor!

The only thing keeping me with the company is job security, that and the team I work with. Started off really well as a Sales Assistant then got promoted to Supervisor not long after which is where I made the biggest mistake of my life! Being a member of management is horrendous! Managers constantly moan about each other, pick and choose days off to suit them while leaving everyone else in the proverbial. Company constantly move goalposts to make it almost impossible to achieve any bonuses, eg. Our budget for 2021 year is up against 2019 because apparently 2020 wasn’t a real year! No annual pay rise because they “lost money” even though they kept us open as key workers so people could buy essential items such as perfumes, alcohol, nail varnish and hair dyes? So regular sales assistants get a bump in the national living wage yet I get the same as last year which isn’t much more than they get! They also told us that they want us to “spend as much time with your families over Christmas” yet stayed open on Boxing Day.. Bank holidays are always dead no matter what store you go into yet they always keep us open to grab as many pennies as possible! If you want a part time job, go for it but I can totally see why so many new managers come and go after a few months.

Pros

Team spirit and delivery shifts

Cons

Poor work/life balance. Pay.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Savers Health and Beauty

25 January 2022
Hi!Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.I'm really sorry to hear you aren't happy with your experience with us, your feedback is very valuable.If you wish to discuss this in more detail, please contact the people team who will be happy to assist you.Thanks, Savers

Ok place to work in

Good place to work however staff are rude. Management team was rubbish never ever helpful. Customers were very rude also. Very stressful environment..

Pros

Discount Offers

Cons

Long hours Rubbish manager
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Savers Health and Beauty

1 March 2022
Hi!Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.I'm really sorry to hear you aren't happy with your experience with us, your feedback is very valuable.If you wish to discuss this in more detail, please contact the people team who will be happy to assist you.Best of luck in the future! Thanks, Savers

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Savers Health and Beauty. Our community is ready to answer.Ask a Question

Overall rating

Based on 970 reviews

Ratings by category

3.1 out of 5 stars for Work/Life Balance
2.8 out of 5 stars for Salary/Benefits
3.1 out of 5 stars for Job security/advancement
3.1 out of 5 stars for Management
3.1 out of 5 stars for Culture

Compare Savers Health and Beauty with

  • Companies
  • Savers Health and Beauty
  • Employee reviews
  • Work-life balance