Savers Health and Beauty
Happiness score is 46 out of 100
3.2 out of 5 stars.
Get weekly updates, new jobs, and reviews

Savers Health and Beauty Employee Reviews for Assistant Manager

Review this company
Job Title
Assistant Manager53 reviews
Location
United Kingdom53 reviews

Ratings by category

3.1Work-life balance

Sort by

HelpfulnessRatingDate
Found 53 reviews matching the searchSee all 970 reviews

Insights into Savers Health and Beauty

Based on 147 survey responses
Areas for improvement
  • Sense of belonging
  • Energising work tasks
  • Trust in colleagues

Hard hard graft sometimes rewarding

Indeed featured review

The most useful review selected by Indeed
Huge deliveries not a lot of hours. If you have a good team then You’ll be alright if you don’t you’ll end up doing about 55 hours instead of your 39 hour contract. Bonus is alright if you hit sales and shrinkage.

Pros

Bonus work banter

Cons

Long hours/unpaid
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Savers Health and Beauty

8 January 2021
Hi!Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.I'm so happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us. It's really important.We wish you all the best for your future.Thanks, Savers

Productive and rewarding

I am currently Assistant Manager. The work is fast paced but ultimately rewarding with fantastic incentives. Management support is incredible as is area management support. The opportunity for advancement is great as in my nearly 3 years of employment I have stepped up from Supervisor to Assistant Manager with help and encouragement. It is a great place to work
Was this review helpful?

Never felt appreciated

Worked for the company for just under 10 years and maybe apart from selected few that I worked with... I never felt appreciated. I busted my gut for them for many years and felt like there was no point. Even a simple thank you would have not gone a miss. I actually don't understand why I kept going back there. The amount of stress that is put on is just not necessary. I get that it is retail and it comes with the job... but not to that extent and even if you do good... its still not enough. I loved the staff that I worked with. But I believe the area managers forget themselves and don't always understand.
Was this review helpful?

Hard work but fun as well

I have worked in the camden store on and off since 2016 great people great products good management easy to talk to and aways something different to do and great customers
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Savers Health and Beauty

1 March 2022
Hi!Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.I'm so happy to hear you are enjoying your time with us. It's really important.Thanks, Savers

Poor poor poor!

Where to start?Higher management had the luxury to work from home during lockdown but insisted we stay open at store level, no protection and not a care for anyone’s welfare.Pay is poor also for the amount of work expected. Bonuses are unachievable as targets have been set high and change all to often.So far behind on technology yet Superdrug, the sister chain get everything.You have to upsell each week on a set list called SAS and there’s no reward in this, constant pressure and emphasis on this which becomes tiresome.Only good thing was some of the team I work with, store manager was lazy and can get away with murder with the area manager.

Pros

Good team

Cons

Everything else
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Savers Health and Beauty

6 December 2021
Hi There,Thank you for taking the time to leave this review, we would urge you to contact our People team so we can hear your complaint in full and of course investigate. We pride ourselves at Savers for our family culture and all of our employee's having a voiceThanks,Savers

Rate your recent company

Share your experience to help others

Lovely place to work

Great place to work, hard work but we have fun , we work very hard as a team to achieve the goals that we want , would recommend this store to anyone to work here 🙂
Was this review helpful?

Absolutely awful

Expected to work 45hrs a week yet paid for 39. Pushy with add on sales to every customer. Breaks were bare minimum if you were lucky enough to get 1Training the bit I had was shambolic. Management awful… zero people skills,Worst job I have ever had the misfortune to have

Pros

Zero

Cons

Everything
Was this review helpful?

Horrible company to work for

Too much responsibility for the hours and salary. Have to do everything you can for your area manager to receive their bonus. Expect all the other stores to know everything about you and your store, expect to be slagged off by the area manager to the other managers.

Pros

None

Cons

Everything you could think of
Was this review helpful?

Bad

don't work there unfair regional management there is no proper training get told off for the littlest of things never help rotas always wrong staff are stressed staff don't turn up no proper breaks that you are actually entitled too

Pros

none

Cons

Senior management stressful
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Savers Health and Beauty

17 September 2020
Hi There,We are very sorry to read through the review that you have left us, the issues you have raised is something we take very seriously so please can you get in contact with our People Team so we can investigate further. We wish the best of luck in your future and hope hear from you soon Thanks,Savers

Bonus scheme good but stressful environment.

A lot is expected from an Assistant manager. Made to feel as though they have to be on par with the manager but don't receive much acknowledgement for their work done in store. Bonus scheme however is amazing! If you have a good running store with a good team then I would recommend working here just for the bonus scheme.

Pros

Excellent Bonus Scheme

Cons

Salary for Managers and Assistant managers is poor.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Savers Health and Beauty

24 July 2020
Hi!Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.I'm so happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us. It's really important.We wish you all the best for your future.Thanks, Savers

We want to help you find great companies. Help us be the best!

Do these reviews help you learn more about working at Savers Health and Beauty?

Take a breath before the fall

As long as you can work with a few fakes and take in large amount of tasks and being nit picked about everything, but rather than tell you whine to the area manager, about something that they could tell you and help you develop better within your role, area very picky and expects a lot of work out of you in your own time even though 50+ hrs a week isn’t good enough she like to push for more
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Savers Health and Beauty

19 March 2020
Hi!Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.I'm really sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your time with us.If you wish to discuss this in more detail, please contact the people teamThanks, Savers

Great company to work for!

I've worked for savers for over 5 years now and progressed so much in that time especially over the last year, you get some much benefits and rewards working for savers it's amazing! it is a tough job to work but with the right team and the great support that I get from my area manager It gets me through each day, the whole area and the are manager are like one big team always there to help and support each other when needed, I love my job and all the colleges I work with and the support from my area manager is great I dont know what i would do without them I cant thank my teams area manager and regional manager enough for all the support.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Savers Health and Beauty

19 March 2020
Hi!Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.I'm so happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us. It's really important.We wish you all the best for your future.Thanks, Savers

Area Manager is Awful

When I first started I loved savers and the company. I had great career prospects with them. We then got a new area manager about 6 months into the store opening. He has no idea what he is doing, he is negative and rude. Completely ruined the job for most people and the entire team left one by one. Would no longer recommend. Unless you manage to be a favourite of the area manager,
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Savers Health and Beauty

19 March 2020
Hi!Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.I'm really sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your time with us.If you wish to discuss this in more detail, please contact the people teamThanks, Savers

Fantastic company

Been with savers since October, in a brand new store. What an amazing company. Very hard work constantly filling shelves. The products leave the shelves so fast then need filling ASAP. I would highly recommend savers to all.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Savers Health and Beauty

19 March 2020
Hi!Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.I'm so happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us. It's really important.We wish you all the best for your future.Thanks, Savers

Productive, Fast paced and Fun

There is always something to do in Savers. It is never boring. The jobs are fast paced always a challenge and new challenges every day. Never ever a dull moment.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Savers Health and Beauty

19 March 2020
Hi!Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.I'm so happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us. It's really important.We wish you all the best for your future.Thanks, Savers

Very target focused and stressful

Great team and immediate manager. Very stressful (have to go on a call everyday to discuss sales targets ) Expect to much of staff at times Salary staff expected to do extra hours all the time Very strict customer service expectations can be frustrating
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Savers Health and Beauty

19 March 2020
Hi!Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.I'm really sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your time with us.If you wish to discuss this in more detail, please contact the people teamThanks, Savers

Good company

Good company to work for, always something to do, good training opportunities, good for progression. Good communication with high management. They provide good training for all positions of staff
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Savers Health and Beauty

19 March 2020
Hi!Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.I'm so happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us. It's really important.We wish you all the best for your future.Thanks, Savers

Stay away

Shocking management and expected to work free hours every week Slavers. No trust and support,or any real perks, just staff doing as little as possible, and management not giving any guidance,just pouncing on any little mistake like angry kids.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Savers Health and Beauty

3 March 2020
Hi!Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.I'm really sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your time with us.If you wish to discuss this in more detail, please contact the people teamThanks, Savers

Horrible company.

No hours for staffing. No air con. Unrealistic targets. Upper management have no people skills and have favourites that they openly admit. No help when asked. Expected to run the store as a AM over the Christmas period with 3 sales assistants and no other management help. Shop got broke in to at 3am and I got called out by the alarm company. I was expected to wait at the store by myself after the police had checked it until it was dusted by the CSI. After which I was told by the area manager to clean up the glass myself and get the store open ASAP as to not lose money. Was given abuse that I didn't have the store open by 10:30 by the area manager. I was there from 3:10am until 8pm as I had to wait for a security guard for the store overnight and was openly told by the area manager that it is my job I have to do it. 17 hours is a ridiculous and illegal amount of time to be expected to work with no extra pay as I was salary or gratitude at all from any member of upper management. Company will happily fire you if you don't sell a certain amount of selected products at the till points and make a point of telling you that after you get a job with them. STAY CLEAR!!!

Pros

Money

Cons

Everything else. Stay away.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Savers Health and Beauty

17 September 2019
Hi!Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.I'm really sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your time with us. If you wish to discuss this in more detail, please contact the people teamThanks, Savers

Don’t do it!

If you enjoy being told to give up holiday, days off, happiness, safety in the work place, then Savers is the place for YOU! You’ll be expected to work a minimum of 50 hours a week and only get paid for 39. You’ll be expected to give up holiday and days off at short notice if your Area Manager demands it. You’ll be expected to do at least three peoples jobs at any one time as they’ve cut the budgets so ridiculously low that you can’t afford to staff the store but still be expected to achieve high standards. You’ll be expected to never complain about unfair hours, targets, pay, bullying (by the Area Manager and other store managers) because HR won’t deal with it and just blame the victims. You can be physically assaulted by another member of staff and it will still be the victims fault. You’ll be degraded and demeaned on a daily basis until you feel worthless and Savers won’t care because they believe that you are replaceable. Do yourself one favour this year and don’t apply!
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Savers Health and Beauty

17 September 2019
Hi!Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.I'm really sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your time with us. If you wish to discuss this in more detail, please contact the people teamThanks, Savers

What to say about Savers

They make sure they take a pound of flesh on every shift. apart from that, not a bad place to work. my motivation to leave was the lake of conditioning.. seems silly, but in the summer time in the redhill store the temperature would hit 45"
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Savers Health and Beauty

17 September 2019
Hi!Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.I'm really sorry to hear there were issues in your store. If you wish to discuss this in more detail, please contact the people teamThanks, Savers

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Savers Health and Beauty. Our community is ready to answer.Ask a Question

Overall rating

Based on 970 reviews

Ratings by category

3.1 out of 5 stars for Work/Life Balance
2.8 out of 5 stars for Salary/Benefits
3.1 out of 5 stars for Job security/advancement
3.1 out of 5 stars for Management
3.1 out of 5 stars for Culture

Compare Savers Health and Beauty with

  • Companies
  • Savers Health and Beauty
  • Employee reviews
  • Assistant Manager
Tell us how to improve this page
What would you add or change?