Savers Health and Beauty
Happiness score is 44 out of 100
3.3 out of 5 stars.
Get weekly updates, new jobs, and reviews

Savers Health and Beauty Employee Reviews for Assistant Manager

Job Title
Location
Found 47 reviews matching the search
See all 841 reviews
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Huge deliveries not a lot of hours. If you have a good team then You’ll be alright if you don’t you’ll end up doing about 55 hours instead of your 39 hour contract. Bonus is alright if you hit sales and shrinkage.
Pros
Bonus work banter
Cons
Long hours/unpaid
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Savers Health and Beauty
8 January 2021
Hi!Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.I'm so happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us. It's really important.We wish you all the best for your future.Thanks, Savers
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
don't work there unfair regional management there is no proper training get told off for the littlest of things never help rotas always wrong staff are stressed staff don't turn up no proper breaks that you are actually entitled too
Pros
none
Cons
Senior management stressful
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Savers Health and Beauty
17 September 2020
Hi There,We are very sorry to read through the review that you have left us, the issues you have raised is something we take very seriously so please can you get in contact with our People Team so we can investigate further. We wish the best of luck in your future and hope hear from you soon Thanks,Savers
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
A lot is expected from an Assistant manager. Made to feel as though they have to be on par with the manager but don't receive much acknowledgement for their work done in store. Bonus scheme however is amazing! If you have a good running store with a good team then I would recommend working here just for the bonus scheme.
Pros
Excellent Bonus Scheme
Cons
Salary for Managers and Assistant managers is poor.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Savers Health and Beauty
24 July 2020
Hi!Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.I'm so happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us. It's really important.We wish you all the best for your future.Thanks, Savers
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
As long as you can work with a few fakes and take in large amount of tasks and being nit picked about everything, but rather than tell you whine to the area manager, about something that they could tell you and help you develop better within your role, area very picky and expects a lot of work out of you in your own time even though 50+ hrs a week isn’t good enough she like to push for more
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Savers Health and Beauty
19 March 2020
Hi!Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.I'm really sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your time with us.If you wish to discuss this in more detail, please contact the people teamThanks, Savers
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
I've worked for savers for over 5 years now and progressed so much in that time especially over the last year, you get some much benefits and rewards working for savers it's amazing! it is a tough job to work but with the right team and the great support that I get from my area manager It gets me through each day, the whole area and the are manager are like one big team always there to help and support each other when needed, I love my job and all the colleges I work with and the support from my area manager is great I dont know what i would do without them I cant thank my teams area manager and regional manager enough for all the support.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Savers Health and Beauty
19 March 2020
Hi!Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.I'm so happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us. It's really important.We wish you all the best for your future.Thanks, Savers
Rate your recent company
Share your experience to help others
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
When I first started I loved savers and the company. I had great career prospects with them. We then got a new area manager about 6 months into the store opening. He has no idea what he is doing, he is negative and rude. Completely ruined the job for most people and the entire team left one by one. Would no longer recommend. Unless you manage to be a favourite of the area manager,
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Savers Health and Beauty
19 March 2020
Hi!Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.I'm really sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your time with us.If you wish to discuss this in more detail, please contact the people teamThanks, Savers
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Been with savers since October, in a brand new store. What an amazing company. Very hard work constantly filling shelves. The products leave the shelves so fast then need filling ASAP. I would highly recommend savers to all.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Savers Health and Beauty
19 March 2020
Hi!Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.I'm so happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us. It's really important.We wish you all the best for your future.Thanks, Savers
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
There is always something to do in Savers. It is never boring. The jobs are fast paced always a challenge and new challenges every day. Never ever a dull moment.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Savers Health and Beauty
19 March 2020
Hi!Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.I'm so happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us. It's really important.We wish you all the best for your future.Thanks, Savers
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Great team and immediate manager. Very stressful (have to go on a call everyday to discuss sales targets ) Expect to much of staff at times Salary staff expected to do extra hours all the time Very strict customer service expectations can be frustrating
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Savers Health and Beauty
19 March 2020
Hi!Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.I'm really sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your time with us.If you wish to discuss this in more detail, please contact the people teamThanks, Savers
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Good company to work for, always something to do, good training opportunities, good for progression. Good communication with high management. They provide good training for all positions of staff
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Savers Health and Beauty
19 March 2020
Hi!Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.I'm so happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us. It's really important.We wish you all the best for your future.Thanks, Savers
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Shocking management and expected to work free hours every week Slavers. No trust and support,or any real perks, just staff doing as little as possible, and management not giving any guidance,just pouncing on any little mistake like angry kids.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Savers Health and Beauty
3 March 2020
Hi!Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.I'm really sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your time with us.If you wish to discuss this in more detail, please contact the people teamThanks, Savers
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
No hours for staffing. No air con. Unrealistic targets. Upper management have no people skills and have favourites that they openly admit. No help when asked. Expected to run the store as a AM over the Christmas period with 3 sales assistants and no other management help. Shop got broke in to at 3am and I got called out by the alarm company. I was expected to wait at the store by myself after the police had checked it until it was dusted by the CSI. After which I was told by the area manager to clean up the glass myself and get the store open ASAP as to not lose money. Was given abuse that I didn't have the store open by 10:30 by the area manager. I was there from 3:10am until 8pm as I had to wait for a security guard for the store overnight and was openly told by the area manager that it is my job I have to do it. 17 hours is a ridiculous and illegal amount of time to be expected to work with no extra pay as I was salary or gratitude at all from any member of upper management. Company will happily fire you if you don't sell a certain amount of selected products at the till points and make a point of telling you that after you get a job with them. STAY CLEAR!!!
Pros
Money
Cons
Everything else. Stay away.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Savers Health and Beauty
17 September 2019
Hi!Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.I'm really sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your time with us. If you wish to discuss this in more detail, please contact the people teamThanks, Savers
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
If you enjoy being told to give up holiday, days off, happiness, safety in the work place, then Savers is the place for YOU! You’ll be expected to work a minimum of 50 hours a week and only get paid for 39. You’ll be expected to give up holiday and days off at short notice if your Area Manager demands it. You’ll be expected to do at least three peoples jobs at any one time as they’ve cut the budgets so ridiculously low that you can’t afford to staff the store but still be expected to achieve high standards. You’ll be expected to never complain about unfair hours, targets, pay, bullying (by the Area Manager and other store managers) because HR won’t deal with it and just blame the victims. You can be physically assaulted by another member of staff and it will still be the victims fault. You’ll be degraded and demeaned on a daily basis until you feel worthless and Savers won’t care because they believe that you are replaceable. Do yourself one favour this year and don’t apply!
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Savers Health and Beauty
17 September 2019
Hi!Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.I'm really sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your time with us. If you wish to discuss this in more detail, please contact the people teamThanks, Savers
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
They make sure they take a pound of flesh on every shift. apart from that, not a bad place to work. my motivation to leave was the lake of conditioning.. seems silly, but in the summer time in the redhill store the temperature would hit 45"
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Savers Health and Beauty
17 September 2019
Hi!Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.I'm really sorry to hear there were issues in your store. If you wish to discuss this in more detail, please contact the people teamThanks, Savers
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Left last week and seen my job advertised at a better salary than I was paid! Originally started at superdrug but was forced over after my store converted or i'd have lost my job area manager doesn't have a clue about how a shop runs and a lot of the time your left with just a colleague who can't do any tasks other than serve on tills or fill shelves. Nightmare place to work after managing in shops taking 700k a week to coming into this store with the roof caved in and struggling to take 12k a week I'd advise to stay well clear full of empty promises company, and you can work 10 hour days without a break (illegal) good luck if you work for them!
Pros
None
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Savers Health and Beauty
17 September 2019
Hi!Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.I'm really sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your time with us. If you wish to discuss this in more detail, please contact the people teamThanks, Savers
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Savers is an amazing company to work for. Application process is easy and quick, you don’t have to wait long for a response. It’s all about progression in Savers and everyone wants you to succeed whether it be within your store, the area, or the entire company, everyone wants what’s best for you & there’s always someone there if you need help with anything. The hours are long but they’re worth it when you see the results in your store. The job won’t be for you if you can’t handle a fast paced environment where you need to be very hands on, but if you’re a people person and love seeing amazing results in a busy environment then you’ll love it here.
Pros
Amazing teams, strong support system, bonuses based on KPIs, discount card
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Savers Health and Beauty
25 March 2019
Hi there, Thanks for the review! You've definitely highlighted so many positives of working with such a fast paced and growing company. It's great to read that you have a strong support system around you! Thanks again, Savers
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Not many people can say they love their job but in my case i can..started working here 4 month ago and really enjoy it...not every day is the same..started as a supervisor.. promoted to assistant manager within 1st 3 months and love it even more..alot of work involved but i love a challenge and the support i have received from management has been great..staff are lovely to work with..everyone supports eachother..fab place to work!
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Savers Health and Beauty
25 March 2019
Hi There, Thanks for the review!We're so glad to hear that your work life is a happy and enjoyable experience, and that you've learnt new skills whilst working with us!Many Thanks and contact us if you need anything!Savers
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Been working for this company for 5 months now and it is the best one I have worked for yet, the management team give you all the support you need to do your job to the best of your ability, all the stores help each other out, it's like one big family and that's what you need when coming to work, the days go so fast, there is always something to do in the store and never get tired of doing this job. Best decision I made was moving to this company
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Savers Health and Beauty
23 March 2019
Hi, thankyou for the review, we really appreciate the feedback! Its so nice to see that you're getting the support you need to settle into your new role and that the area you work in is like a big family! If you need any support settling in further or have any queries contact the People Team thanks again, Savers
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
I was working for savers for 6 weeks, training wasn’t what I expected as I wasn’t really showen much to do with how the company runs. Then put into a store where the manager didn’t show me anything or help me run the store. I done a few thing around the shop which I was told to do, then on the manager returning from a day off, she goes ahead and changes everything I did. I felt like there was no point. As well as that, the store was very unliked and didn’t have a good feel to it, specially when members of the public can’t stand the manager and wouldn’t come in if she was in the store. All in all I wouldn’t recommend this company ever again.
Pros
Good company benifits
Cons
Don’t expect a quick career change within the company
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Savers Health and Beauty
9 November 2018
Hi There,Thank you for taking the time to leave us this feedback. We are very sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your time with us and if there is anything you would like to discuss further then please contact our people team. We wish you the best of luck in your career.Many thanks,Savers
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Expected to work 60+ hours per week annd only get paid for 39, supposed to get days in place of this but never happens. Seems you have to be a drinker to fit in with management, favouritisum and bullying happen regulary. No back up from head office, unrealistic targets, unachieveable bonus scheme, i would not recommend savers as a good company to work for.
Pros
None
Cons
Long hours no pay
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Savers Health and Beauty
9 November 2018
Hi there, Thankyou very much for leaving the review, we really appreciate the feedback. Were very sorry to hear that you had to work over the hours of your contract, and the issues you had in store. I would advise you to contact the People Team regarding the issues you said about as we'd like to get them sorted. We wish you well in your career,Savers
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Rubbish company rubbish staff rubbish managment worst company I have and will ever work for would not recommend to anyone ever don't apply to this slave driven company
Pros
None
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Savers Health and Beauty
31 October 2018
Hi There,Thank you for taking the time to leave us this review. We are sad to hear you didn't enjoy your time with us and if you have any issues you would like to raise regarding your time with us, please contact Savers people team.Best of luck in the future.Savers