Savers Health and Beauty
Happiness score is 46 out of 100
3.2 out of 5 stars.
Get weekly updates, new jobs, and reviews

Savers Health and Beauty Employee Reviews for Retail Sales Associate

Review this company
Job Title
Retail Sales Associate96 reviews
Location
United Kingdom96 reviews

Ratings by category

3.1Work-life balance

Sort by

HelpfulnessRatingDate
Found 96 reviews matching the searchSee all 970 reviews

Not bad

Indeed featured review

The most useful review selected by Indeed
Wasn't bad working there only issue is having to get searched whenever you leave the store as if they are accusing all staff of stealing. When you're new they make you do most if the work.
Was this review helpful?

Worst place ever

Worst place to ever work for!!!Great place IF you have absolutely zero social life and don’t mind working over time all the time!On your days off they want you to come in and work and you get no respect for going in and helping out they just treat you like dirt on the back of their shoes Mangers are the worst! Mean nasty and don’t communicate with you or customers.I WOULD AVOID AT ALL COSTS ITS THE WORST PLACE TO EVER WORK

Pros

None

Cons

Over time on days off. Mangers disrespectful
Was this review helpful?

Productive and fun workplace

It felt like my 2nd home, and my family. What an amazing bunch of people to be around. So supportive, so lovely and welcoming. Not only were they supportive professionally, but also personally too. If you had anything going on you can be sure that they will be there for you, a shoulder to cry on. Best people to ever meet.
Was this review helpful?

Mostly stressful

The company doesn't take that much care over their staff.... the training online is rediculas time consuming and alot is irrelevant.The company only really cares about add on sales pushed onto customers its stressful and most of the customers do not like this after sales pushing.. i will be glad to leave... and and also management is poor and the staff turnover is ridiculas ... people really do not stay very long...

Pros

Nothing

Cons

Pressure
Was this review helpful?

Overworked and underpaid

You are severely underpaid for the job you are doing. Managers walk all over you and even bully people who don't trip over themselves to please them. Managers also have their favourites and you might just be lucky to be one if you can sell whats on offer... which is impossible. Made to mop the floors every night with stringy mops and washing up liquid, and if you don't do it right then you are made to feel useless and belittled. Expected to sell whats on offer and if you don't then they openly display that you aren't doing well enough to all your colleagues. Made to face up the shop in little time while you are on the tills and then they get mad that you can't do both. Only upside is that all the staff hate the managers so you can get on well with them.

Pros

Other staff who are misused are easy to get on with

Cons

Overworked, useless equipment, Managers make you feel useless, literally everything
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Savers Health and Beauty

1 March 2022
Hi!Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.I'm really sorry to hear you aren't happy with your experience with us, your feedback is very valuable.If you wish to discuss this in more detail, please contact the people team who will be happy to assist you.Best of luck in the future! Thanks, Savers

Rate your recent company

Share your experience to help others

Great management team to work for,happy busy workplace and friendly loyal customers

Saver's is an excellent company to work for.we have a great team in our store and work well together.full flexibility is expected with rota's ,but rota's always fairly done.average hourly rate of pay for retail!! Plent of veriety in tasks,IE working on tills,working on shop floor filling shelves and working delivery on store delivery days.

Pros

Good staff discount, from our sister companies.the management are very accomodating with rota's if needed.

Cons

Not enough of a budget for staff to do overtime and therefore earn more money.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Savers Health and Beauty

1 March 2022
Hi!Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.I'm so happy to hear you are enjoying your time with us. It's really important.Thanks, Savers

Boring

Good for students but if you want to be spoken to like rubbish and have you colleagues not like you because they want to be managers favourite then work there !

Pros

None

Cons

Everything
Was this review helpful?

management

It was a great day for a while but then you see the true color of the mangers and you have to hit a target of 100 pounds or you going to lose your job

Pros

None

Cons

Filthy and you got to bully customers
Was this review helpful?

Good place to work 👍

The staff and management were friendly and helpful. I thoroughly enjoyed working there, lots of bonus prizes if the staff did well (I won a holiday to Croatia!!😊) so definitely try getting a job there 😁

Pros

Bonus prizes, tried to accommodate your home needs
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Savers Health and Beauty

18 March 2021
Hi!Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.I'm so happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us. It's really important.We wish you all the best for your future.Thanks, Savers

Fun environment and great colleagues

The store I worked in was quite small, but usually busy. The managers and staff were nice, I got along with everyone which made the work more fun. Everyone was friendly. Jobs included stocking shelves, doing delivery shift, working at the till, facing, brushing and mopping the floor at the end of the day. It does tend to get very hot during the summer, and we had no AC or ceiling fans so it was a nightmare. The pay was minimum wage, and due to the nature of my hours, some weeks were better than others. Shifts were given a week, sometimes less, in advance so it wasn't easy managing work life with personal life.

Pros

Friendly colleagues and managers

Cons

Random ane inconsistent shifts, minimum pay, boring after a month
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Savers Health and Beauty

19 November 2020
Hi!Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.I'm so happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us. It's really important.We wish you all the best for your future.Thanks, Savers

Brilliant

Brilliant place to work very friendly happy environment. Not sure if the shop is even there anymoor but staff were lovely always had plenty to do each day
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Savers Health and Beauty

19 March 2020
Hi!Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.I'm so happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us. It's really important.We wish you all the best for your future.Thanks, Savers

Not a long term job

Contracted hours are low, so although the job is alright, a livable wage is not guaranteed, so it is necessary to have another form of income to supplement the wages from the job itself.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Savers Health and Beauty

19 March 2020
Hi!Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.I'm really sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your time with us.If you wish to discuss this in more detail, please contact the people teamThanks, Savers

Work.experience enjoyed it

Did 2months work experience hoping to get a job at end but didn't was really upset as liked working there gave me a moral boost, A joy to work for though
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Savers Health and Beauty

19 March 2020
Hi!Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.I'm so happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us. It's really important.We wish you all the best for your future.Thanks, Savers

Nice calm job

Lovely job for a first job, or for someone that wants work on the side. Easily works around college or another job. Depending on which store you are located in management is lovely.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Savers Health and Beauty

19 March 2020
Hi!Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.I'm so happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us. It's really important.We wish you all the best for your future.Thanks, Savers

managment team is poor

working on till is amazing, I like getting in contact with customers. This is main the reason I have survived the longest. I enjoy helping customers on the shop floor too. However, the hardest part is new management team, there is a luck of communication.

Cons

less hours, not a perment job
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Savers Health and Beauty

3 March 2020
Hi!Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.I'm really sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your time with us.If you wish to discuss this in more detail, please contact the people teamThanks, Savers

fun workplace at savers

i really enjoyed working at savers because the work was easy at time but it can be hard work when delivery is here and i do enjoy the friendly servies
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Savers Health and Beauty

19 March 2020
Hi!Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.I'm so happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us. It's really important.We wish you all the best for your future.Thanks, Savers

Awful

Stay away from here. You’ll end up severely depressed. Manager bullies you all day everyday. No support. Staff are rude and awful about you. Steal from the till.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Savers Health and Beauty

3 March 2020
Hi!Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.I'm really sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your time with us.If you wish to discuss this in more detail, please contact the people teamThanks, Savers

it was good and interesting.

it was good and interesting experience as a retail in Savers. I learned how to communicate with people specially with older people to find the what they want from the shop.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Savers Health and Beauty

17 September 2019
Hi!Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.I'm so happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us. It's really important.We wish you all the best for your future.Thanks, Savers

Awful.

Just finished an apprenticeship at Savers. It was so unorganised & no one took it seriously so I was never given any help. I was entitled to an hour a week of work on my own towards the apprenticeship, but I was hardly ever given it because I either wasn’t allowed or the shop was too busy, so I physically couldn’t take that hour, meaning I would always be behind with my work. I was on £5.60 an hour, but I’m over 18! There was an assistant manager that was SO unprofessional, shouting at us and would straight up embarrass us in front of customers as we were serving them. She would pester us about the unrealistic goals we had to meet daily, which could sometimes be over £100. The main reason she did this is because if we didn’t sell anything (which isn’t our fault because if customers don’t want a £25 perfume, they’re not going to buy it!) , management get in trouble and if we do manage to sell, they got bonuses from it. My colleagues and I felt bullied as she would pick on all of us for the smallest things, she was hypocritical about the things she would moan at us for. For example, if staff were caught talking she would not be happy but she would stand there for ages chatting away. And she would take personal calls on the shop floor!! I could go on about the negative parts of this company. I do not recommend working for this awful company.

Pros

Serving customers

Cons

Everything
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Savers Health and Beauty

17 September 2019
Hi!Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.I'm really sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your time with us. If you wish to discuss this in more detail, please contact the people teamThanks, Savers

not happy

I hate saves because everyone there was rude and unfriendly and they say there would be a job after my work experience and when i worked my butt off for them they said there is no jobs going
Was this review helpful?

Fun, welcoming

The management in this workplace was very friendly and welcoming to any new staff, the staff training which was required before starting was thorough and the staff who worked there were friendly towards eachother and were always happy to work in a team

Pros

lovely people

Cons

no cons
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Savers Health and Beauty

17 September 2019
Hi!Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.I'm so happy to hear that you have enjoyed working with us. It's been so great to have you part of the team.Thanks, Savers

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Savers Health and Beauty. Our community is ready to answer.Ask a Question

Overall rating

Based on 970 reviews

Ratings by category

3.1 out of 5 stars for Work/Life Balance
2.8 out of 5 stars for Salary/Benefits
3.1 out of 5 stars for Job security/advancement
3.1 out of 5 stars for Management
3.1 out of 5 stars for Culture

Compare Savers Health and Beauty with

  • Companies
  • Savers Health and Beauty
  • Employee reviews
  • Retail Sales Associate
Tell us how to improve this page
What would you add or change?