Savers Health and Beauty
Happiness score is 46 out of 100
3.2 out of 5 stars.
Get weekly updates, new jobs, and reviews

Savers Health and Beauty Employee Reviews for Store Manager

Review this company
Job Title
Store Manager52 reviews
Location
United Kingdom52 reviews

Ratings by category

3.1Work-life balance

Sort by

HelpfulnessRatingDate
Found 52 reviews matching the searchSee all 970 reviews

Insights into Savers Health and Beauty

Based on 147 survey responses
Areas for improvement
  • Sense of belonging
  • Energising work tasks
  • Trust in colleagues

Fast paced

Indeed featured review

The most useful review selected by Indeed
Can be very stressful but like all other retail can be a good place . If the team work with you and get on then It all can be very happy . When the staff drop the ball it’s all comes back on the manager

Pros

No many unfortunately, people you work with

Cons

Unrealistic targets too hit 2021 was based on 2019. 2020 was a little bumpy but we did still have it
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Savers Health and Beauty

1 March 2022
Hi!Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.I'm really sorry to hear you aren't happy with your experience with us, your feedback is very valuable.If you wish to discuss this in more detail, please contact the people team who will be happy to assist you.Best of luck in the future! Thanks, Savers

Worst retail role in 35 years of working

If I can give one piece of advice to anyone of even thinking of working for this abhorrent company it would be just don't do it !! No work /life balance ,stress you cannot imagine and you will be disrespected and undervalued every second you are in one of their buildings .My experience as a store manager for just 6 months nearly led to a mental breakdown. Salaried for 42 hours regularly working 60 hours a week (staffing budget is the bare minimum for every store ) most days you are working one on one with a member of staff ( so no lunch or breaks ) who is contracted to 8 hours a week so they don't give a stuff about the job or the amount of daily compliance you will find yourself drowning in that's without the daily (sometimes twice daily ) conference calls you will find yourself on ( on sales floor as you have no staff ) which are just an excuse for an area manager to belittle you in front of your stores area if your staff haven't managed to push enough cheap tat onto the customers at the till Do yourself and your mental health a favour and just don't do it no job is worth disrespecting yourself this much for !!
Was this review helpful?

Great place to work

I love my job, It can be challenging & stressful but I am a believer in organisation & routine.Lots of fun can be had, If you like raising money for charity then you can have fun too.Everyday can be different, As long as you have a great team to work with it makes a difference.Support could be better but it's there when needed.

Pros

Discount card for a sister retailer

Cons

Long hours
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Savers Health and Beauty

1 March 2022
Hi!Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.I'm so happy to hear you are enjoying your time with us. It's really important.Thanks, Savers

Never recommend and waste of time

I was a store manager who started October 2021 I walked out in February 2022 due to lack of support and nothing is worth this job and stress. Area managers and higher up are never to be seen always asking for targets that are unrealistic and is higher management used common sense the company would be a bit better. Still waiting for money owed to me from last year as payroll are useless and head office and just dumb people that you can never phone. Avoid this job its not worth it as a small discount retailer they have made everything hard for themselves. Been a store manager wasn't the best job its a nightmare as other mangers said store managers wing it through to get ahead.

Pros

Meeting some nice staff

Cons

Useless higher management High staff turnovers No progression Long hours
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Savers Health and Beauty

1 March 2022
Hi!Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.I'm really sorry to hear you aren't happy with your experience with us, your feedback is very valuable.If you wish to discuss this in more detail, please contact the people team who will be happy to assist you.Best of luck in the future! Thanks, Savers

Don't do it

Many years worked for this company and during the past 18 months or so they have really shown their true colours. It's all about the money. No duty of care for staff. H/O have been ok as they can 'work from home'. They bang on about caring about people's mental health but they really don't. No support at all when you're feeling stressed, made to feel like you can't even have a day off sick when you're poorly, and encouraged to take sick and annual leave. Staff turnover very high in all stores. Surely the big wigs can see why?! Pay is minimum wage. Management is salary, so regardless of if you work your 39 hours a week or 60 a week you'll always have the same pay. Bonus scheme used to be half decent but now its near on impossible to hit budgets. Please Savers, look after the people you have!!!

Pros

I honestly can't think of any anymore!

Cons

Poor pay, long hours, stressful, not understanding.
Was this review helpful?

Rate your recent company

Share your experience to help others

Hectic

Hectic role, company seems to lack real direction. Store managers don't really get to mange their stores it all comes from above. Unnecessary pressure on active selling at the tills especially when being dictated as to what to sell there. Door cover still continuing despite other retailers knocking it on the head. Waste of hours in my opinion. Lack of communication and constant conference calls for Unnecessary reasons at a crucial part of the day. Sometimes run one on one. Company has favourites.

Pros

Discount at Superdrug.

Cons

No support, unnecessary pressure on SAS and door cover, cant be left to manage your store or be creative.
Was this review helpful?

One of the Best Employers in the country. DO NOT BELIVE THE HYPE.

Promises broken, lies told, no support, Area Managers talking bad things about you to other staff, appalling work/life balance, 7 months nightmare working there. Blame culture rife from shop floor through to higher management. Full investigations asked for if the regional manager didn’t like the member of staff so as to drive them out of the company, it’s not what you know it’s who you know to get on in the company and managers using those friendships to threaten you with further action. Made my life a living nightmare.

Pros

Met some wonderful people on the shop floor.

Cons

As above. Just awful place to work.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Savers Health and Beauty

2 July 2021
Hi There,We are very sorry to read through the review that you have left us, the issues you have raised is something we take very seriously so please can you get in contact with our People Team so we can investigate further.We wish the best of luck in your future and hope hear from you soonThanks,Savers

No balance

Worked with the company for many years. 50+ hours a week, no overtime pay, unrealistic targets set out in the middle of a pandemic. There is absolutely no balance with work and personal life.No decent maternity pay from the company which has made it totally unfeasible for female store managers to think about having a child, especially if theyre the main source of income. The company will only pay out if you work more than an average of 16 hours a week, and even then the company will only pay the statutory pay the government issues, which in my case is almost £1,200 less than my salary each month, their maternity payment would barely pay my mortgage, let alone all my other living bills AND fund a growing family.Tatty stores in desperate need of revamps being pushed aside and swept under the rug in favour of the new opening storesIf there's an absence be prepared to cancel holidays, lose days off and work well over 14 days straight with no days off, these shifts will average out to be 11-12 hours a day, if you have to travel this can raise your work day to 14 hours.Management are expected to cover EVERYTHING as the Management overtime does not cause wage budgets to take a hit. Keeping the store open and running is a much bigger priority to this company than their employees mental health.Very high staff turnover, especially in management roles, as the company really DONT care about retaining management.

Pros

Chance of getting a bonus each march

Cons

Long hours, unfair expectations, cutting hours whilst adding extra jobs
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Savers Health and Beauty

14 April 2021
Hi There,We are very sorry to read through the review that you have left us, the issues you have raised is something we take very seriously so please can you get in contact with our People Team so we can investigate further.We wish the best of luck in your future and hope hear from you soonThanks,SaversThanks,

To much expected

Joined the company as asm promoted to store manager within a couple of months. No training given expected to learn as I went. I know that other managers got at least 6 weeks training. The workload was ok as long as you had a great team and the back up from other managers. I found myself in a position where I was left to just get on with things even though there were several issues with staffing, health and safety concerns for the safety and well being of staff and customers. Then totally let down when needed the most by the area manager. I was working 55+ hours a week just for the store to open. Nearly destroyed my home life until I realised that I was not appreciated in anything I was trying to do. I did however love the team members and got on well with other store managers.

Pros

Team

Cons

Long hours and no appreciation
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Savers Health and Beauty

14 April 2021
Hi!Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.I'm really sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your time with us.If you wish to discuss this in more detail, please contact the people teamThanks, Savers

Fast paced retail environment, loyal and dedicated work team who strive to be the best on the high Street

Savers have been my work life for over 15 years I worked hard and had a good working relationship with my team as well as the head office team, They like to get to get feedback from their staff on what's good and bad so they are always looking to improve as a business,You get a lot of support from your line manager and are treated as a individualI would recommend Savers as a retailer to work for they like to promote from within so there are job developments in place to help you getup the company ladder

Pros

Enhance product knowledge, good staff training, prize opportunities to be won by staff individually and collectively

Cons

Can be long hours
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Savers Health and Beauty

25 March 2021
Hi!Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.I'm so happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us. It's really important.We wish you all the best for your future.Thanks, Savers

Investigation happy and happy to embarrass you

Happy to investage you for the most ridiculous things, even though most of time you are 1-1 in your shop. Still in the dark ages with amount of paperwork. Area manager is very happy to have a go at you on conference calls for other managers to hear.Targets are not set fairly for different types of stores.

Pros

Discount at superdrug. Decent bonus scheme

Cons

Long days, no time for breaks, not allowed to voice any concerns as told to stop being negative
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Savers Health and Beauty

17 September 2020
Hi There,We are very sorry to read through the review that you have left us, the issues you have raised is something we take very seriously so please can you get in contact with our People Team so we can investigate further. We wish the best of luck in your future and hope hear from you soon Thanks,Savers

Horrid place

If my worst enemy needed a job, I still won’t recommend this company. The face of the company is ok, at its highest level but once your on the ground, wow it’s horrid, dog eat dog with no support and your don’t get much time to even talk to your pier group. The idea of being a discounted store is one thing but this place is on another level. No staff, very high turn over of people. No security but massive theft problem, no staff as you are other one on one. I was a store manager and my experience is high but this place is no place for anyone to make a living or provide for a family. The Area managers are absolutely gut wrenching poor at their jobs with a constant pressure for your to lower your already strapped wages, the sales are pushy and often made to lie to customers about their special offers which are anything but special. Please for your sake please don’t work here

Pros

Some good people there

Cons

Not enough staff, not enough pay, not good leadership, no support network at all. Constant pressure to reduce costs, increase sales and deliver on targets. Nothing is good enough
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Savers Health and Beauty

24 July 2020
Hi There,We are very sorry to read through the review that you have left us, the issues you have raised is something we take very seriously so please can you get in contact with our People Team so we can investigate further. We wish the best of luck in your future and hope hear from you soon Thanks,Savers

too much work expected

not the business as advertised. too much expected from the management team. no balance between personal and work life. expected to answer calls and sort out problems whilst on annual leave. lack of appreciation. higher management lack people skills.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Savers Health and Beauty

19 March 2020
Hi!Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.I'm really sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your time with us.If you wish to discuss this in more detail, please contact the people teamThanks, Savers

Great place to work

I have worked for Savers for 4 years now,I have progressed so much in that time due to the support I've had from colleagues and my Area Manager, it is a fast paced business and challenging, every day is different but the support and training available is incredible.

Pros

sociable hours, bonus scheme
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Savers Health and Beauty

19 March 2020
Hi!Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.I'm so happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us. It's really important.We wish you all the best for your future.Thanks, Savers

Great place to work

I have worked for the company for 15 years worked my way up to store manager a fantastic place to work feel valued and appreciated for all the hard work fast paced environment and challenging at times like all retailers. Area managers and regional manager are a massive support. I started in a smaller store and have moved to a larger one area manager has been a massive support and will go above and beyond to help and support all his stores his dedication to his role inspires you to want to achieve and be the best leader you can. I personally think its a fantastic place to work.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Savers Health and Beauty

19 March 2020
Hi!Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.I'm so happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us. It's really important.We wish you all the best for your future.Thanks, Savers

Great company to work for on the whole

A very fast pace and demanding role. Every day is different. Can get very tough at times.But very rewarding at the same time. Very supportive with great benefits e.g statutory bonus and conferences. Our area manager is always there if needed at any time of the day and is always approachable. I am proud to work for savers and being a brand ambassador for the company. Sociable and flexible hours with a living wage. Always support available if needed from all levels of management. Its like being a part of a massive family.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Savers Health and Beauty

19 March 2020
Hi!Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.I'm so happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us. It's really important.We wish you all the best for your future.Thanks, Savers

Disgusting treatment.

Where do I even start. Being a Store Manager at savers is the most stressful, ridiculous management job you can get. You are contracted to 39 hours but work 45-50 per week, if busy you can be working up to 60 hours to be told (its your choice to work those hours) even though, you're working hours at 7:45am-6:15pm 5 days a week. Savers is a company that take a ladies voice over anyone else at all. Someone I know had a lie told about them making comments to a friend and is now being disciplined for it considering there were 2 managers and a supervisor present in the conversation who are defending him and the company still feel fit to take a the opinion of a young girl over 5 defending managers. The salary is NOT worth the work you are expected to do, you receive absolutely no support from head office and the company LOVES to find any management they possibly can and discipline them right before March to save money on giving out bonuses. I was there for two years and knew of 8 managers in just 2 years who had their bonuses taken off them for bogus claims.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Savers Health and Beauty

19 March 2020
Hi!Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.I'm really sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your time with us.If you wish to discuss this in more detail, please contact the people teamThanks, Savers

Store Manager

Decent salary for a small box retailer. Upper management are pleasant. Great products and prices. Horrendous work life balance. The worst I've ever experienced. Mainly caused by out of date processes. It's like being in 1999 not 2019! In summary, if you love a challenge and hate being at home, this is the job for you.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Savers Health and Beauty

3 March 2020
Hi!Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.I'm really sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your time with us.If you wish to discuss this in more detail, please contact the people teamThanks, Savers

Enjoyed every minute of my time

Hard work but fun place to work if you are part of a good team. No day is every the same working at Savers new challenges and tasks. New stock lines arrive weekly ,I really do miss it.

Pros

Time passes fast

Cons

stores tend to be very hot
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Savers Health and Beauty

3 March 2020
Hi!Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.I'm so happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us. It's really important.We wish you all the best for your future.Thanks, Savers

Great experience

Learned a lot about customer service, management n sales, super experience . Excellent teamwork and higher management interactions. Overall great experience, would love to share the experience
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Savers Health and Beauty

3 March 2020
Hi!Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.I'm so happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us. It's really important.We wish you all the best for your future.Thanks, Savers

Store manager

Savers is a great company to work for the pay and benefits are fantastic, it's hard work but over all a lovely company to work for and pay reflects this. The team at the bury st edmunds store are lovely friendly great hard working team always pulls together when needs to.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Savers Health and Beauty

17 September 2019
Hi!We are so glad to hear you're enjoying working with us. The team in your store are great, thank you for being a part of it!Thanks,Savers

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Savers Health and Beauty. Our community is ready to answer.Ask a Question

Overall rating

Based on 970 reviews

Ratings by category

3.1 out of 5 stars for Work/Life Balance
2.8 out of 5 stars for Salary/Benefits
3.1 out of 5 stars for Job security/advancement
3.1 out of 5 stars for Management
3.1 out of 5 stars for Culture

Compare Savers Health and Beauty with

  • Companies
  • Savers Health and Beauty
  • Employee reviews
  • Store Manager