Savers Health and Beauty
Happiness score is 44 out of 100
3.3 out of 5 stars.
Get weekly updates, new jobs, and reviews

Savers Health and Beauty Employee Reviews for Supervisor

Job Title
Location
Found 52 reviews matching the search
See all 841 reviews
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
No confidentiality Staff dont care about targets Clicky Poor management Dirty store Unfair hours not distributed fairly between staff Quiet Boring Very Early deliveries
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Savers Health and Beauty
19 March 2020
Hi!Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.I'm really sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your time with us.If you wish to discuss this in more detail, please contact the people teamThanks, Savers
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Managers way or no way was the stores policy, rota would get changed no notice, not enough staff so you are expected to do twice the work for same pay. Managers spy on you from the office via the cameras, often given short shifts even though short staffed, left to your own devices but buzz if need help. Not very team orientated as all part timers, so hard to keep team rapport. Most enjoyable part of this job was the day I said I was leaving,...after all we all try to better ourselves.
Pros
Cheap goods
Cons
Not enough team players
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Savers Health and Beauty
11 February 2021
Hi There,We are very sorry to read through the review that you have left us, the issues you have raised is something we take very seriously so please can you get in contact with our People Team so we can investigate further.We wish the best of luck in your future and hope hear from you soonThanks,SaversThanks,
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
sell sell sell, to much emphasis on SAS (Savers Active Selling) I saw Sales Assistants getting chastised for not selling enough even when they ask customers constantly, and when they do achieve sales it's just taken for granted, there's no direct praise to them. Most cashiers have 4 hour shifts and spend the majority of time on the tills constantly being pushed to upsell.Delivery team put under constant pressure with not knowing how many cages the delivery is as estimate is hardly ever correct, having to work stock on shop floor when customers are in the store, trip hazards everywhere for customers. Supervisors put under pressure and constantly moaned at for tasks not always all being done, even when store was running understaffed.As a supervisor you are able to cash up at the end of the day or open the store, be a key holder and answer Alarm Calls if Alarm fault or activates. your also constantly reminded to push the sales assistants to upsell, you may be tasked to do pick lists and other job Management may decide you are capable to undertake.The culture is that majority of the staff aren't fully happy with how the store is and pretty much everyday someone has something bad to say.Be expected to be called in adhoc and for rotas to be changed with less than 24hrs notice so planning things around your shifts can be difficult.Staff turnover is pretty high and basically seems because staff feel beaten down by the amount of work and pressure. In my time with the company I saw 2 cashiers and 2 supervisors leave and now myself leave.Every shift you will feel as if you - more...
Pros
You get paid
Cons
Low wage, To many to list, review says it all
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Savers Health and Beauty
14 January 2021
Hi There,We are very sorry to read through the review that you have left us, the issues you have raised is something we take very seriously so please can you get in contact with our People Team so we can investigate further. We wish the best of luck in your future and hope hear from you soon Thanks,Savers Thanks,
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Constantly over worked, never allowed full breaks, management/area managers/hr do not care about you, Promised career progression - never get it! Extremely high turn over of staff Hours cut Budgets cut Pushed to sell certain items with no incentives apart from the possibility of maybe winning a prize (never happens) I was a supervisor, which meant key holder. Manager wont answer calls on days off or out of hours so if security call for alarms going off during the night the ring you until you answer. No call out money for this either.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Savers Health and Beauty
19 March 2020
Hi!Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.I'm really sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your time with us.If you wish to discuss this in more detail, please contact the people teamThanks, Savers
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Underpaid, under appreciated, under staffed. If you like to be bullied then this is the perfect place for you! Manager continuously brags about cheating on his partner who I might add has just had their baby. The assistant manager is the most patronising, self absorbent, pig. Nothing but judgment and Bullying from her. Completely corrupt! Absolute joke of a place to work. If you want to be mentally strained and physically screwed then this is the place for you! AVOID PAIGNTON SAVERS
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Savers Health and Beauty
19 March 2020
Hi There,We are very sorry to read through the review that you have left us, the issues you have raised is something we take very seriously so please can you get in contact with our People Team so we can investigate further. We wish the best of luck in your future and hope hear from you soon Thanks,Savers
Rate your recent company
Share your experience to help others
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
was only there for a few months, got payed 50p over minimum wage todo everything the manager should be doing. getting left for a full shift without a break as i couldn’t leave the store being the only management in the store. being put in for over time and never asked ( i have a two year old and needed to get childcare) the manager didn’t care as long as she didn’t work sundays. the assistant manager who didn’t have a clue on procedures trying to undermine staff who had been there for 15 plus years (longer than her) the list could go on forever.
Pros
nothing
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Savers Health and Beauty
19 March 2020
Hi!Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.I'm really sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your time with us.If you wish to discuss this in more detail, please contact the people teamThanks, Savers
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
The management was not taking charge or helping to successfully run a store. Staff members weren’t listened to and lied to, and the store never ran smoothly Poor pay and no boundaries
Cons
Unpaid hours
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Savers Health and Beauty
19 March 2020
Hi!Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.I'm really sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your time with us.If you wish to discuss this in more detail, please contact the people teamThanks, Savers
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
My time at savers was, what can I say, hmm well I think it was okay some times. Can say it was poorly run a lot of the time but they are always hiring as everyone leaves. Is that 150 characters yet?
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Savers Health and Beauty
3 March 2020
Hi!Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.I'm really sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your time with us.If you wish to discuss this in more detail, please contact the people teamThanks, Savers
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
The job was really good hard but it was good you had to be fast at what you did but I enjoy it they nice and Friendly the Manager is good and Respectful
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Savers Health and Beauty
19 March 2020
Hi!Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.I'm so happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us. It's really important.We wish you all the best for your future.Thanks, Savers
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
it can be stressful when other colleagues don't turn up and management start complaining about lack of support. Hard work on delivery days. it ws fine for me a they were flexible with shifts when started another job.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Savers Health and Beauty
3 March 2020
Hi!Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.I'm so happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us. It's really important.We wish you all the best for your future.Thanks, Savers
We want to help you find great companies. Help us be the best!
Do these reviews help you learn more about working at Savers Health and Beauty?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
The first year or so was good but then it went downhill fast I had in 7years many different managers some were very rude and 2 of them even bullied me I had injured myself and went in the next day to tell my manger the reply I got was I'll see you tomorrow, I was harassed while on the sick and always pushed to work much harder then you were payed for no incentive for the sas at all either. It was always understaffed rotas changed very often always get called in to start early like I didnt have a life beyond work. By the end of many years of working for the company I left cus I just felt like I was being pushed out could never do anything right the assistant manager was very rude to staff and customers as well don't know how they got the job in the first place l. I always went into work dreading it cus their was always something for them to moan about it was getting me very down. By the time I had left I was so much better in myself I was a lot happier going to work. But the one thing I do miss from savers is some of the people their some of the staff was lovely
Pros
Some of the staff was lovely
Cons
Rude management/understaffed
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Savers Health and Beauty
17 September 2019
Hi!Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.I'm really sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your time with us. If you wish to discuss this in more detail, please contact the people teamThanks, Savers
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
When I started it was pretty good but over the years it just got worse, they cut hours in store and gave you more work to do and if you didn't get it done they just shout at you and make you feel worthless. When you try and talk about it with the management team they just tell you to stop complaining and get on with it.
Pros
None
Cons
Long hours, bad pay, bad working conditions and bad management
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Savers Health and Beauty
17 September 2019
Hi!Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.I'm really sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your time with us. If you wish to discuss this in more detail, please contact the people teamThanks, Savers
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Store manager was genuinely one of the best managers I've ever worked for, but overall the company is terrible. Many times I reported to senior management that the shop wasn't safe to work in - fire exits were blocked, flooring was broken and uneven and shelving units were not firm - nothing happened. The pay was extremely poor considering the responsibilities - 50p above minimum wage to essentially run the store half the time. For several months the store had no manager, so the AM was covering that role and I was essentially acting AM - 40+ hours a week, 50p above minimum wage all while a student. Store management was continually berated by upper management for store performance whilst also being told there was no budget to provide adequate staffing. The company also loved to use free labour from people on job centre work placements, because it meant that they had to have less paid staff.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Savers Health and Beauty
17 September 2019
Hi!Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.I'm really sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your time with us. If you wish to discuss this in more detail, please contact the people teamThanks, Savers
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Typical day would invole being understaffed to try meet targets and having not much down time away from the public as you are expected to achieve a lot of work each day. in usually an un airconditoned or unsafe work place at times. lets just say its called savers for a reason, bonus is usually terriblel as well
Pros
get paid basically and discounts on cinema tickets
Cons
long hours, horrible environment, hot during summer, delays on maintenance issues, understaffed
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Savers Health and Beauty
17 September 2019
Hi!Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.I'm really sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your time with us. If you wish to discuss this in more detail, please contact the people teamThanks, Savers
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
As a supervisor Savers expected much more then they were willing to pay. The Area manager didn’t have a clue how to run the stores she was useless. Never had a decent lunch as was sometimes the only manager in store so was always disturbed. Long hours. Would not recommend working for this cowboy company.
Pros
Home time
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Savers Health and Beauty
17 September 2019
Hi!Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.I'm really sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your time with us. If you wish to discuss this in more detail, please contact the people teamThanks, Savers
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
I have been working here for over a year, it is fast paced and you have to know how to multi-task. The company encourages career progression and rewards loyalty handsomely
Pros
Career progression
Cons
No lift to pull stock from the warehouse.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Savers Health and Beauty
17 September 2019
Hi!I'm happy to hear you're enjoying your time with us. We hope you find your future career path with us!Best wishes,Savers
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
When I first started as a sales assistant it was good but I regretted becoming a supervisor. There was so much responsibility for no where near the same money as the managers and my manager was so lazy, always leaving early and never doing anything but fiddle with stock and was also always going out for a smoke break. When we tried to tell the area manger he never did anything about it. I also had to keep reminding them that I couldn’t work certain days and thanks to them I missed out on a once in a lifetime holiday as they wouldn’t allow me the time of work so they could go on their holiday meaning I was left to run the store alone for a week whilst my family were all away having an amazing experience that I had been denied. Had I not had a flat to pay for I would’ve walked out the door a long time ago
Pros
Superdrug discount
Cons
Long hours, Sas, poor management and many more cons
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Savers Health and Beauty
12 April 2019
Hi, Thankyou for taking the time to leave us a review. I'm really sorry to read that your time with us as a supervisor wasn't an enjoyable experience. I would recommend contacting the People Team if you'd like to raise any of the above to us. We wish you all the best in your career search. Savers
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Don’t work for savers ! It could be the worst decision you’ll ever make ! Was employed at 16 (paid minimum wage) sold over £200 on sales at tills everyday and worked hard to do so. All I got in return was a bag of 99p sweets ! As soon as I turned 18 they dumped me (because they didn’t want to pay me the higher wage) Since then the store hires and fires youngesters to avoid paying proper wages and uses cheap labour. Managers were pocketing items for their own well-being and writing them of as damages.
Pros
None
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Good staff and colleagues. Long hours - staff were good as with most customers unlock, put stock onto rails, take customers payments at the end of the day cash up and lock the shop
Pros
long hours
Cons
shop location
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
it is a ok company to work for not a great job or pay not reliable not kind needs some more training for most management some stores need to close down asap
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Savers Health and Beauty
9 November 2018
Hi, Thankyou for taking us the time to leave this review. We are sorry that your time with us wasnt what you expected. If you'd like to raise any issues then do not hesitate to contact Savers People Team Best of luck in your career. Savers
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Started as a supervisor in the prestwick shop ! Originally went for sales asst post at ayr shop. Was quickly advised by area manager because of my exp as a asssiant manager in retail I was needed at the prestwick store .was willing to give it a try as I had retail standards I quickly realised 10 days into this position with the team i couldn't change this store around ! Manager kind hearted and too soft .Her team dosent help lazy and bone idol sickness not reported which was a constant problem ! Left to my own devices after a few days key holding doing banking for a start I was never showed before and handing thousands of pounds over to a security company which I've probalaby not signed for properly total joke! Well where do we start with cleanliness shop is filthy shelfs not stacked correct. New products lying through the back shop for weeks on end .never seen a shop with hundreds of pounds of damages in a weekly basis ..and my bug bare about this company is targets there SAS .savers active selling what a carry on you can't force customers to buy your vile smelling Beyonce perfume .what head office don't realise is these shops have there regular customers everyday even if it is just buying a can of coke. And tell you they are sick of getting asked the same thing everything day I felt like saying imagine saying it 1000 times a day drains the life from u ! It's pere pressure working for this company is honestly advise anyone going into retail to avoid savers
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Hnm
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Savers Health and Beauty
9 November 2018
Hi there, Thankyou for the review. We're very sorry to hear that you didn't have a good experience with us, and regarding the issues you raised about the store I would recommend contacting the People Team for further assistance.Thanks again, Savers