Savers Health and Beauty
Happiness score is 46 out of 100
3.2 out of 5 stars.
Get weekly updates, new jobs, and reviews

Savers Health and Beauty Employee Reviews

Review this company
Job Title
All
Location
United Kingdom960 reviews

Ratings by category

3.1Work-life balance

Sort by

HelpfulnessRatingDate
Found 960 reviews matching the searchSee all 975 reviews

Decent

Indeed featured review

The most useful review selected by Indeed
A fun job where you get to chat and get to know regulars. Pushing sales on perfumes etc gets frustrating as customers also get frustrated back. Apprentice pay was above average which was good but still not enough.
Was this review helpful?

Hard work but fun as well

I have worked in the camden store on and off since 2016 great people great products good management easy to talk to and aways something different to do and great customers
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Savers Health and Beauty

1 March 2022
Hi!Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.I'm so happy to hear you are enjoying your time with us. It's really important.Thanks, Savers

Insights into Savers Health and Beauty

Based on 151 survey responses
Areas for improvement
  • Sense of belonging
  • Energising work tasks
  • Trust in colleagues

Nice customers & staff are all nice… most of the time.

Work is fairly easy going ,however some workers aren’t the nicest and get called in all the time on your days off.Most customers are nice however, you get a few nasty ones and a lot of shop lifters

Pros

30min lunch break Nice customers Superdrug discount

Cons

Some staff are nasty Tight on hours
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Savers Health and Beauty

1 March 2022
Hi!Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.I'm so happy to hear you are enjoying your time with us. It's really important.Thanks, Savers

Poor managment

The management at the store I previously worked for was very poor work! Even with there being quite a few women working there, none of them understood general mother nature.

Pros

Customers

Cons

Poor management Low morale Low pay Overworked
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Savers Health and Beauty

1 March 2022
Hi!Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.I'm really sorry to hear you aren't happy with your experience with us, your feedback is very valuable.If you wish to discuss this in more detail, please contact the people team who will be happy to assist you.Best of luck in the future! Thanks, Savers

Great place to work

I love my job, It can be challenging & stressful but I am a believer in organisation & routine.Lots of fun can be had, If you like raising money for charity then you can have fun too.Everyday can be different, As long as you have a great team to work with it makes a difference.Support could be better but it's there when needed.

Pros

Discount card for a sister retailer

Cons

Long hours
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Savers Health and Beauty

1 March 2022
Hi!Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.I'm so happy to hear you are enjoying your time with us. It's really important.Thanks, Savers

Rate your recent company

Share your experience to help others

Rubbish place and awful management.

Starting working there on a part time contract and I worked really hard. I was treated really bad by management and head office didnt do anything when you would contact them. I hated working there and was so happy when I found a better job.

Pros

None

Cons

None
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Savers Health and Beauty

1 March 2022
Hi!Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.I'm really sorry to hear you aren't happy with your experience with us, your feedback is very valuable.If you wish to discuss this in more detail, please contact the people team who will be happy to assist you.Best of luck in the future! Thanks, Savers

Awful pay, management don't know how to do thier job properly

Would not recommend working for this company because it's awful for pay, Management do not know how to do that job properlyColleagues always slags you off

Pros

Staff discount

Cons

Work-life balance not an even balance!
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Savers Health and Beauty

1 March 2022
Hi!Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.I'm really sorry to hear you aren't happy with your experience with us, your feedback is very valuable.If you wish to discuss this in more detail, please contact the people team who will be happy to assist you.Best of luck in the future! Thanks, Savers

Never recommend and waste of time

I was a store manager who started October 2021 I walked out in February 2022 due to lack of support and nothing is worth this job and stress. Area managers and higher up are never to be seen always asking for targets that are unrealistic and is higher management used common sense the company would be a bit better. Still waiting for money owed to me from last year as payroll are useless and head office and just dumb people that you can never phone. Avoid this job its not worth it as a small discount retailer they have made everything hard for themselves. Been a store manager wasn't the best job its a nightmare as other mangers said store managers wing it through to get ahead.

Pros

Meeting some nice staff

Cons

Useless higher management High staff turnovers No progression Long hours
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Savers Health and Beauty

1 March 2022
Hi!Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.I'm really sorry to hear you aren't happy with your experience with us, your feedback is very valuable.If you wish to discuss this in more detail, please contact the people team who will be happy to assist you.Best of luck in the future! Thanks, Savers

Awful company, stay well clear!

Absolutely the most awful degrading company to work for the managment team are not supportive the higher you go the more repercussions you face to work for a company for over 10 years and no support with any health (mental and physical) issues. The best thing I done was to get out of there and only after a year of working else where I never been happier and more supported and now do I realise how you should be treated by an employer.

Pros

The customer relationships you build

Cons

Long hours, no support, no guidance, no recognition, no appreciation, staff are all for one no team effort. Again stay clear
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Savers Health and Beauty

1 March 2022
Hi!Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.I'm really sorry to hear you aren't happy with your experience with us, your feedback is very valuable.If you wish to discuss this in more detail, please contact the people team who will be happy to assist you.Best of luck in the future! Thanks, Savers

Not bad

Fine place to work due to having nice management at my store currently, but have came across some horrendous managers in my years here.As a supervisor work life balance was fine for me but for the managers and assistant managers alot of hours are expected of them.The budget my store was given for hours to run the store was rubbish, literally bare minimum with barely enough staff throughout the day to get the jobs done.Also have to say the whole sas thing is a major annoyance, alot of items that are the same price as last week stuck at the front on "offer" and cashiers expected to sell a ridiculous amount of them to hit targets. You miss your store target for one day and you don't hear the end of it from the area manager.

Pros

Hours that I wanted Nice colleagues

Cons

SAS Managers hours Low budget of hours
Was this review helpful?

fun work place, great team

my experience at savers was overall enjoyable, i had a great team who made work fun! it allowed me to grow as an individual allowing me to gain lots of confidence and experience.

Pros

team was amazing
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Savers Health and Beauty

1 March 2022
Hi!Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.I'm so happy to hear you are enjoying your time with us. It's really important.Thanks, Savers

If you love not seeing friends and family, this is the place for you.

Like all jobs, there are pro’s there are cons. But in the last 12 months a lot more cons. The management expect far to much from you, you can do everything that’s asked and more and it’s never recognised, but as soon as something minor appears they head straight down the formal proceedings. There is obvious favourites amongst some of the management team. Working 55 hours a week with no balance at all. Told to take time back in Lieu but never ever happens so not only under paid but not given the time back. The hours worked can sometimes mean your basically working under minimum wage, yet send out training making sure if cashiers are out 15 minutes late they are to be paid for it. But not management. No pay rise last year to make up for the loss in the pandemic, bonus has become near impossible to hit targets for now.

Pros

The team in store

Cons

No work/life balance
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Savers Health and Beauty

1 March 2022
Hi!Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.I'm really sorry to hear you aren't happy with your experience with us, your feedback is very valuable.If you wish to discuss this in more detail, please contact the people team who will be happy to assist you.Best of luck in the future! Thanks, Savers

Okay but bad management

No great but not too bad , staff is friendly but hours are tight . Management is not great . But for a part time job its not awful its pretty chill and easy job

Pros

Nope

Cons

Nope
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Savers Health and Beauty

1 March 2022
Hi!Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.I'm really sorry to hear you aren't happy with your experience with us, your feedback is very valuable.If you wish to discuss this in more detail, please contact the people team who will be happy to assist you.Best of luck in the future! Thanks, Savers

Absolutely rubbish

Very poor management team Long hoursExpected to work for free Penalised for attending important appointments Treated unfairly Very rubbish place to work

Pros

None

Cons

Worked like a slave with no recognition sa
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Savers Health and Beauty

1 March 2022
Hi!Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.I'm really sorry to hear you aren't happy with your experience with us, your feedback is very valuable.If you wish to discuss this in more detail, please contact the people team who will be happy to assist you.Best of luck in the future! Thanks, Savers

Short contracts

Short contracts low pay All about the team one bad apple spoils the bunch. 10 hour days most days then drop your hours to 16 per week

Pros

Short opening hours

Cons

Low pay
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Savers Health and Beauty

1 March 2022
Hi!Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.I'm really sorry to hear you aren't happy with your experience with us, your feedback is very valuable.If you wish to discuss this in more detail, please contact the people team who will be happy to assist you.Best of luck in the future! Thanks, Savers

it was ok

it was ok. Good enough job for Mr. mainly weekends but got some overtime in offered. staff all ok, just got on with whT I had to do really. so its fine
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Savers Health and Beauty

1 March 2022
Hi!Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.I'm so happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us. It's really important.We wish you all the best for your future.Thanks, Savers

It's okay

Job itself is ok. You are pressured into active selling every single day. Rotas change with little to no notice. High up management are clueless when it comes to instore issues. Pay is poor considering the amount of work you do and when compared with similar jobs in other companies.

Pros

Stable

Cons

Small contracts Not great pay Constant rota changes Pressure on selling Unrealistic targets
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Savers Health and Beauty

1 March 2022
Hi!Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.I'm really sorry to hear you aren't happy with your experience with us, your feedback is very valuable.If you wish to discuss this in more detail, please contact the people team who will be happy to assist you.Thanks, Savers

Fun workplace

It was a good first job, helped me gain skills to progress further and the people were friendly however didnt have mant hours available so not a good full time job.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Savers Health and Beauty

1 March 2022
Hi!Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.I'm so happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us. It's really important.We wish you all the best for your future.Thanks, Savers

Overworked and underpaid

You are severely underpaid for the job you are doing. Managers walk all over you and even bully people who don't trip over themselves to please them. Managers also have their favourites and you might just be lucky to be one if you can sell whats on offer... which is impossible. Made to mop the floors every night with stringy mops and washing up liquid, and if you don't do it right then you are made to feel useless and belittled. Expected to sell whats on offer and if you don't then they openly display that you aren't doing well enough to all your colleagues. Made to face up the shop in little time while you are on the tills and then they get mad that you can't do both. Only upside is that all the staff hate the managers so you can get on well with them.

Pros

Other staff who are misused are easy to get on with

Cons

Overworked, useless equipment, Managers make you feel useless, literally everything
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Savers Health and Beauty

1 March 2022
Hi!Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.I'm really sorry to hear you aren't happy with your experience with us, your feedback is very valuable.If you wish to discuss this in more detail, please contact the people team who will be happy to assist you.Best of luck in the future! Thanks, Savers

Competitive, good teamwork & flexible.

I enjoy my job, competitive, good team & relaxed. Flexible for my shifts with family commitments if given enough notice. I wouldn't enjoy it as much if it wasn't for my team I work with.

Pros

My team

Cons

Sales targets & repetitive
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Savers Health and Beauty

1 March 2022
Hi!Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.I'm so happy to hear you are enjoying your time with us. It's really important.Thanks, Savers

Steer clear!

If you value yourself and your mental health steer well clear of Savers. There was no training just watch someone else do everything on the computer and be expected to pick it up straight away. Management talking about other colleagues to you and about you to other colleagues nothing is confidential! I should have been looking for something else when a very long standing colleague left to go elsewhere. Colleagues and management who smoke standing right outside the shop - not a good look to potential customers. Hands down has to have been the worst place I've ever worked in 30 years even the area manager didn't speak to staff or introduce herself to you when you met for the first time.

Pros

A couple of decent staff members

Cons

Promised hours but then don't get them, advised that you were told you weren't getting the hours, when you've got proof of messages sent between you!
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Savers Health and Beauty

1 March 2022
Hi!Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.I'm really sorry to hear you aren't happy with your experience with us, your feedback is very valuable.If you wish to discuss this in more detail, please contact the people team who will be happy to assist you.Best of luck in the future! Thanks, Savers

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Savers Health and Beauty. Our community is ready to answer.Ask a Question

Overall rating

Based on 975 reviews

Ratings by category

3.1 out of 5 stars for Work/Life Balance
2.8 out of 5 stars for Salary/Benefits
3.0 out of 5 stars for Job security/advancement
3.1 out of 5 stars for Management
3.1 out of 5 stars for Culture

Compare Savers Health and Beauty with

  • Companies
  • Savers Health and Beauty
  • Employee reviews