Smile Direct Club
2.9 out of 5 stars.
Get weekly updates, new jobs, and reviews

Smile Direct Club Employee Reviews

Review this company
Job Title
All
Location
United Kingdom14 reviews

Ratings by category

2.8Work-life balance

Sort by

HelpfulnessRatingDate
Found 14 reviews matching the searchSee all 396 reviews

Fun place nice colleagues but poor management

Indeed featured review

The most useful review selected by Indeed
Too much pressure. Poor bonus system.very repetitive work. Too many managers. Not being supported by the managers. Long hours. Overtime is not paid hard to take time off or in leu. The positive side - good training, good opportunity to leave nursing.

Pros

Treats

Cons

Long hours, no bonus
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Smile Direct Club

21 December 2021
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are glad that you enjoyed working with our Team Members and are concerned to learn of your feedback on leadership. As we always want to be improving. If you have any recommendations on how we can continue to improve, please send us an email at peoplesupport@smiledirectclub.com.

Stressful place

Working in very busy place with the very stressful manager is not easy especially when it's not taking actions after complaining about how hard is to cope

Pros

Free coffee sometime

Cons

Long hours and stress from manager
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Smile Direct Club

8 October 2021
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are concerned to see this as we want all of our team members to enjoy working at SmileDirectClub. Please reach out to your People and Organization Business Partner so that we can talk through your feedback. You can also send us an email at peoplesupport@smiledirectclub.com.

Great company!

I am working for SDC for 1,5 now and I am loving it. The company culture is amazing. It's very fast paced and sometimes challenging, but I love a good challenge. Pay is fantastic, it was such a great decision to move from dental practice to SDC!

Pros

great pay and benefits, company culture

Cons

Might be very busy
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Smile Direct Club

14 October 2021
Thank you for taking time out of your busy day to leave us a review and making us smile!

Fun and collaborative enviroment

I love working for this company as everyone works as a team. I really do smile everyday. We have a strong recognition culture where you efforts are acknowledge by all.Our leadership do what they say they will and are always engaging.I feel proud of my team and everyone who makes this such a great place to work.I fun enviroment.

Pros

Strong recognition and collaborate culture
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Smile Direct Club

6 July 2021
Thank you for leaving your input and making us smile! We are so happy to hear you're enjoying your journey with us.

Simply the best company I have every worked for

What a great company, fantastic product, super culture, and very supportive management. Yes, demands can be high so you certainly need the right level of energy and passion. The business constantly evolves, especially over the past 18mths. Many examples of super career progression for those that want it. Would have no hesitation in recommending SmileDirectClub as a great place to work.

Pros

Fast paced, exciting, constant evolution, real desire to delivery great Cx service

Cons

Not your normal 9 to 5 job - is this really a con though!!
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Smile Direct Club

6 July 2021
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. Everyone's voice matters and we are so happy to hear you are enjoying your journey at Smiledirectclub.

Rate your recent company

Share your experience to help others

Exciting and challenging

I've been working for Smile Direct Club for about 18 months and I love it, it's fast passed and you need to be ambitious and driven to do well. its very fun working in the shop and also going out to do events. I love that I get to run my own appointments and talk to customers. in my previous practice, my interaction with patients was pretty low. There are high expectations so it's not an easy job, but the training and support from my colleagues and manager have always been really good.I would suggest that we do more events with other shop teams

Pros

The people

Cons

Having to work most weekends
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Smile Direct Club

6 July 2021
We are happy you shared your positive experience with us. Our team members are essential, and we couldn’t spread the smiles without you!

Do not waste your time !!

Really awful experience, sold a dream that Will never come true . Seems like a great place to work from what they tell you , all about KPI’s. no care for the staffs well-being , over worked , and you will NEVER make the bonus . Think carefully before choosing to start here !! They take advantage of Dental nurses , you may think this is a step up to something new , to progress but it’s just a factory to make money , I feel like I wasted my time along with a lot of my colleagues who have also left !!!

Pros

None

Cons

Long hours, pressure from management .
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Smile Direct Club

26 March 2021
Thank you for sharing your perspective with us – I am sorry to learn this and this is certainly not the type of experience we want for any Team Member. At SmileDirectClub, our values and truths are built around providing an open and safe environment for all. We are taking active steps to always support our Team Members and acknowledge that we can always be improving. We would love any ideas or improvements on what we could have done to resolve this. Please send us an email at peoplesupport@smiledirectclub.com.

Lovely work place

It is ine of best professional experience with friendly staffThe salary is attractive The work place looks very cleaned and organised Good support from manager and area manager
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Smile Direct Club

15 February 2021
Thank you for sharing your experience. We value every piece of feedback we receive, and we know it takes time out of your busy day to complete!

Please, look elsewhere

Beware... job was nothing like what I was sold on interview. “Great place to work!!!” Bunch of fake dreams. Employees are treated terribly, overworked and under appreciated, poor leadership. Absolute chaos. Not to mention they’ve changed their company plan 3 times within the past year, lying to current or potential employees. Unrealistic metrics with insane work hours. Absolutely no work/life balance. You will hate life.

Pros

Cool uniform; jeans, grey t-shirt, some snacks

Cons

Pressure to sell, micromanagement
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Smile Direct Club

1 December 2020
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We strive to make our job descriptions and scheduling needs as clear as possible. We are a development focused business and encourage all team members to have meaningful career conversations with their leadership. We would welcome any other feedback that you may have on how we can continue to improve to support our team members. Please feel free to send us an email at peoplesupport@smiledirectclub.com.

Opaque business practices

Not much honestly. Smug senior management.Devious attitude towards employees. It’s backstabbing environment. Shady place to work.Bunch of retail/sales managers which have no idea about Dentistry.

Pros

Wages

Cons

Micromanagement
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Smile Direct Club

10 September 2020
Thank you for sharing your perspective with us – I am sorry to learn you feel this way about leadership and this is certainly not the type of experience we want for any Team Member. At SmileDirectClub, our values and truths are built around providing an open and safe environment for all. We have recently implemented leadership and development training and are taking active steps to support our Team Members during these unprecedented times. We acknowledge that we can always be improving and would love any ideas or improvements on what we could have done to resolve this. Please send us an email at peoplesupport@smiledirectclub.com.

Shocking

I have no words It's the biggest scam going and I wouldn't risk your GDC registration for the salary.Cut throat and high pressure sales.I don't advocate lies and dirty tricks to sell unhealthy products to innocent customers but you'll be encouraged to do so.

Pros

Money

Cons

Lose sleep at night
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Smile Direct Club

4 September 2020
We appreciate you leaving us a review and are disheartened to hear that you feel that we do not care about our team members or customers, which is not the case. Everyone's voice is heard and matters to us. No one should feel this way and we would love any ideas or improvements on what we could have done to resolve this. Please fee free to send us an email at peoplesupport@smiledirectclub.com.

productive and fun work place

It was a pleasure to work in SDC , i had the opportunity to approach a different way of cosmetic dentistry. I had the most amazing and well trained manager from which i learn a lot in a short time that i had there, all the team in Birmingham is amazing very hard working and very focused.I will always recomand SDC as a working place in Birmingham
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Smile Direct Club

10 February 2020
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! We love seeing this and keep on smiling!

AVOID. Listen to the bad reviews!!

The pays great, right? Money isn't everything! They will sell you a dream in the interview then make you work like a dog, change your shift patterns, store and days when they feel like it. No work or life balance. Management will lie to you and manipulate you into thinking everything they’re doing is a great opportunity for you to develop! Please avoid. You’ll only regret giving up your job!!

Pros

Nothing.

Cons

The company is a con, sales conmen.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Smile Direct Club

17 January 2020
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We strive to make our job descriptions and scheduling needs as clear as possible. We are a development focused business and encourage all team members to have meaningful career conversations with their leadership. We would welcome any other feedback that you may have on how we can continue to improve to support our team members. Please feel free to send us an email at peoplesupport@smiledirectclub.com.

Best job ive ever had

I worked as a dental nurse for 7 years prior and would recommend coming out of nursing and working as a smile guide to anyone. Great pay. Better hours. Appreciated by managers and higher ups. Best decision I've ever made.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Smile Direct Club

17 January 2020
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We love seeing this and couldn't spread smiles without you. Best of smiles!

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Smile Direct Club. Our community is ready to answer.Ask a Question

Overall rating

2.9

Based on 396 reviews
5
123
4
43
3
33
2
52
1
145

Ratings by category

2.8Work/Life Balance
3.4Salary/Benefits
2.6Job security/advancement
2.7Management
2.9Culture
  • Companies
  • Smile Direct Club
  • Employee reviews