The Entertainer
3.8 out of 5 stars.
Get weekly updates, new jobs, and reviews

The Entertainer Employee Reviews

Review this company
Job Title
Location

Ratings by category

3.8Work-life balance

Sort by

HelpfulnessRatingDate
Found 171 reviews matching the searchSee all 174 reviews

Insights into The Entertainer

Based on 21 survey responses
What people like
  • Feeling of personal appreciation
  • Fair pay for job
  • Supportive environment
Areas for improvement
  • Sense of belonging
  • Trust in colleagues
  • Overall satisfaction
Is this information useful?

rude management

Indeed featured review

The most useful review selected by Indeed
i made it clear that i had other commitments but they didn’t take that into consideration at all. We’re difficult when i brought up issues with my hours. also only get shifts about three days before you work them

Pros

good pay

Cons

bad management
Was this review helpful?

Good forca retail job

Well organised, not as stressful as other retail jobs apart from Christmas time when it is obviously very busy. Well managed, fun place to work, lots of training provided.

Pros

Good work life balance. .no Sunday working

Cons

None
Was this review helpful?

Official response from The Entertainer

19 November 2021
Hi,Thank you so much for your review! We're pleased to hear you enjoyed your job with us. Please contact us at Responses@theentertainer.com if you would like to give us any further feedback .

Ridiculous store

I was only there for 3 weeks. The manager, sales assistant and supervisor always nagging at the most stupidest things. They talked about me to the manager, saying I didn't care about the job and that I had no personality. Ridiculous. It felt like it was me against all the staff members. Very stressful and very pressuring over something as stupid as toys. They wanna get a life.

Pros

Money

Cons

Stressful. The manager, supervisor and sales assistants were not nice whatsoever.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from The Entertainer

19 October 2021
Thank you for the time you have taken to send us your review. We are concerned about the points you have raised and would like to discuss these further with you. Please can you email us at Responses@theentertainer.com

Christian company? ... I think not!!

My experience with this company was not great. Uncaring attitude, (management)HO needs to look more at how stores are run, and management techniques.

Pros

20% staff discount

Cons

40% mark up on products in store, as compared to e.g Amazon
Was this review helpful?

Official response from The Entertainer

12 October 2021
Hi, thank you for taking the time to leave us your review. We’re sorry you felt your experience with us was not great. We would like it if you could provide us with some extra details and get in touch to talk about your experience. Please can you email us at Responses@theentertainer.com

Fun but stressful

Great place to work if you like noise and toys Great team and management.Gets abit wild at Christmas but it's all fun.Great staff discount too, Amazing
Was this review helpful?

Official response from The Entertainer

4 October 2021
Thanks for your review!Christmas is what we like to call busy, exciting and a truly wonderful time for all our customers! We go a long way to create an amazing experience in store. We are sorry to see you go, but wish you the best of luck in your future.Thanks

Rate your recent company

Share your experience to help others

Depends who your boss is

Essentially the job isn't to bad, you've just got to sell your sole to the devil, which is funny considering Gary Grant (the owner of The Entertainer) is a born again Christian. My Experience working there started out great but I was put under constant pressure to achieve sales targets (Mainly batteries [to be honest GP Ultra are great] and any tat that they want to flog if it's linked into a film/TV series or seasonal [you end up flogging the same stuff year after year]).I was unfortunate to have a manager who used the store as if it was her own. If you spoke to customers or friends/family who popped into store shopping for to long you'd get told off, yet she was allowed. She would also go out on personal shopping sprees for hours at a time telling the assistant manager and supervisor to cover for her in case the Area Manager called. I was there years and this happened endlessly.The store I was in didn't acknowledge talent either. I excelled at everything that was thrown my way and it was ignored. They would hire staff that were incapable of the simplest tasks and ignore issues that arose such as bullying, mental health issues and staff with extreme personal hygiene issues.The management, the whole "don't mention we're a Christian company" ethos, the pressured work environment and the rubbish you put up with for such a low wage is off putting. If you have a good team of sales assistants around you, you'll get by. I didn't have this either so how I lasted so long I must have been desperate.

Pros

Depends on the team you work with to make it a pro!

Cons

The Entertainers managers
Was this review helpful?

Official response from The Entertainer

4 October 2021
Hi, Thanks for leaving your review. You has raised a number of points we would like to look into with your help. If you can get in touch with us at Responses@TheEntertainer.com that would be great.Thanks

Great Place to work

I currently work for the Entertainer have done for nearly 9 years and I absolutely love it but Covid 19 came along and changed a lot of things! My job felt secure before but now not so secure! As for the company itself it is great! I really lucked out with my manager and colleagues as we are all really close and work brilliantly together, there is days when it can get ridiculously busy and very stressful (Christmas and Holidays) and then there is days when it's really quiet and slow. If you ever get a chance to work for the entertainer then go for it! It is an amazing company!

Pros

Great Team, Great management, Great Staff Discount

Cons

During Holidays and Christmas you dont have much of a life
Was this review helpful?

Official response from The Entertainer

4 October 2021
Hi, We're really pleased to hear you are enjoying your job with us, and it sounds like your store is a perfect example of all our values! We hope you feel more secure in your position with us now that we have got through alot together as a company. Please get in touch at Responses@TheEntertainer.com if you would like to share anything else.Thanks

Management weren’t the greatest

Throughout my time of working at the entertainer I had very mixed emotions of the store I worked in. At the beginning I enjoyed it but towards the end that’s were some certain people would start proving a bit of a problem. Them people being the management of the store. I noticed how they would be quite two faced towards the other employees, they would be nice towards them, saying they were doing a good job, but then when they were out in the warehouse they would talk c*ap about that certain someone. Now that made me feel a bit uncomfortable because how do I know they weren’t doing that to me. Now I can’t talk all bad about the company, all the other staff members there were lovely and so supportive towards me. It’s the managers, and also the supervisor that showed some concerns to me.

Pros

Gave good hours

Cons

Management
Was this review helpful?

Official response from The Entertainer

5 May 2021
Hi, Thanks for your review.We are concerned to hear about your thoughts and would love for you get in touch so we can address them.Please email us at responses@theentertainer.comThanks

Prepare to be exhausted

This company is literally the worse place I’ve worked ever! They expect you to work over with no notice for hours and hours, there is no clocking in system so often you don’t get paid for these extra hours and they try and con you out of what extras you have worked, the workload they give you is non achievable and everything is negative. You complete modules to increase your hourly rate only to have that extra money reduced every year. No incentive or appreciation whatsoever.

Pros

Discount

Cons

Everything else the job is soul destroying
Was this review helpful?

Official response from The Entertainer

5 May 2021
Hi, We are very concerned to see the points you have raised within your review and sad to hear that you didn't enjoy your time with us.Can we ask that you get in touch with us at responses@theentertainer.com so that we can discuss what you have mentioned here.Thanks

Fantastic job and fun workplace

I really enjoyed my time working here it was fast pace around the Christmas period but it was fun to see all the kids coming in and getting their toys even someone spend their own pocket money management was good and Approachable if you had any issues

Pros

Store discount

Cons

None
Was this review helpful?

Official response from The Entertainer

11 June 2021
Hi, it's great to hear you had such an enjoyable experience working in our Belfast store. It certainly is a busy time around Christmas and seeing the children enjoying themselves is what it's all about! We wish you the best of luck in the future!

Don’t recommend

I worked here for a year. At the time I felt frustrated and unvalued. Mental health was not a priority, when a colleague missed an out of hours training evening due to poor mental health, they were given a warning. I was told I was not allowed a water bottle on display while working outside in mid August as it was ‘unprofessional’. Management was mean, insensitive, and we’re quick to find mistakes (even something as small as not offering a booklet).As a company which aims to be a happy, welcoming toy shop, the way employees are treated is the complete opposite. I would definitely not recommend working here, especially not as a first job.

Pros

Sundays off

Cons

Management
Was this review helpful?

Official response from The Entertainer

9 March 2021
Hi, Thanks for taking the time to leave your review for us. We are sad to hear that you don't recommend our company, and take what you have said very seriously. We would like it if you could provide us with some extra details or get in touch to talk about your experience.If you'd like to do that, please email responses@theentertainer.comThanks

Rewarding

I started as a Christmas temp and worked my way up to a Supervisor position. My time at the Entertainer was amazing. I loved it. The company really cares for their staff and it's generally a great environment to work in . I 100% regret leaving the company.

Pros

Benefits, profit related bonus, friendly, great management / owners, monthly insentives, module pay increase, conference calls twice weekly (with updates and discuss sales)

Cons

No really anything. -
Was this review helpful?

Official response from The Entertainer

9 March 2021
Hi, and thanks for leaving your review!It's lovely to hear that you enjoyed working for us, and if you miss us, you can always check www.thetoyshop.com/careers once our stores reopen for any vacancies!Best of luck

Fun workplace

My team is great friendly and always helping each other out to get tasks done. Salary could be a bit more for how busy and hectic it can get towards xmas time- especially 18+ as they’re on the same salary as a 16 year old employee which isn’t so great. Benefits are ok, can’t really use jacks treasure chest no one seems to have heard of it better with just an over all discount at places really
Was this review helpful?

Official response from The Entertainer

9 March 2021
Hi, and thanks for your feedback.Jacks Treasure Chest has an amazing array of discounts, so we are sorry you weren't able to use it correctly, and if you would like to discuss anything else, please get in touch at responses@theentertainer.comThanks!

Amazing

I only worked there as a Christmas temp, but the pay is good, staff are so friendly, management is excellent, shifts are flexible, would 100% work here again

Pros

Friendly staff

Cons

Work late
Was this review helpful?

Official response from The Entertainer

9 March 2021
Thanks for the lovely feedback!We're really pleased to hear you enjoyed your role as Christmas Temp, and we'd love to see you back next year.. or sooner! Check out our latest vacancies when the stores reopen at www.thetoyshop.com/careers

Fantastic place to work

I thoroughly enjoyed my time at The Entertainer. The staff were friendly, helpful and dealt amazingly well with the pressures of Christmas retail - true professionals. It was a great opportunity for me to learn how to deal with the pressures of fast-paced retail and customer service and I feel like the store team were always there to help me increase my confidence in the role.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from The Entertainer

9 March 2021
Hi, Thanks so much for your leaving your review and I think it would be great for us to share this feedback with the store!Best of luck for the future.

Fun

It’s a fun job with loads of perks including playing with some of the toys. Friendly co-workers with a relaxed environment, some targets to reach but are always easily obtained.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from The Entertainer

9 March 2021
Hi, and thanks for leaving your review!We're glad to hear that you enjoyed working for us and wish you the best of luck for the future.

Fun place to work

Excellent collegues to work with. All super friendly. Training on the job. Hours to suit and loads of overtime available if wanted and needed. Fun place to work.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from The Entertainer

22 December 2020
Hi! We're really glad to hear you are enjoying your job at The Entertainer! Please get in touch if you would like to discuss anything else with us at responses@theentertainer.comWe hope you and your family have a very Merry and safe Christmas.

Good manager makes a great team

My manager made that team and the team loved the manager. Organised and fair Daily rota from tills to replenishment, sales to deliveries. Can't fault them & every Sunday off without fail is always a plus. I worked temporarily at one of their busier stores over Christmas and moved on to a different full time job. Highly recommend. One star lost for assistant manager with a repetitively poor attitude.

Pros

Easy work, happy environment, good team, fun place.

Cons

Tiny tea room.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from The Entertainer

22 December 2020
Thanks for taking the time to leave us your review!We're really happy to hear that you had a mostly pleasant experience at our Orpington store, and we're sorry about the staff room being so small, hopefully that made it nice and cosy at least!If you would like to discuss with us further, anything else, please get in touch with responses@theentertainer.com and we would be happy to help.Stay safe, and we wish you and your family a very Merry Christmas.

Unsympathetic

I was critically ill and medical evidence recommending my return to work because I was fit to was ignored. I left with nothing but a massive feeling of disappointment given the potential and excitement I had when I was initially offered the role. My experience has left me anxious when I see any opportunity that I feel would be something I could find challenging, the opportunity to progress and that is a chance for a long, settled career.

Pros

None

Cons

Too Many to List
Was this review helpful?

Official response from The Entertainer

23 December 2020
Hi, We are sorry to hear you felt this way and hope that you are feeling much better now. Please get in touch with us at responses@theentertainer.com if there is anything you would like to discuss with us further.Wishing you and your family a very Merry Christmas.

Fantastic company

I worked at The Entertainer for 4 years whilst attending university! I was a Christmas Crew member originally before they employed me full time.What a pleasure it was to work for a family-orientated company. They were extremely caring and took your personal situations very seriously. They would make every effort to move your shifts if something came up. I made great relationships with colleagues, always feeling supported. I now have friends for life.Don't get me wrong, there are times where it was extremely challenging, especially during the Christmas period. You will be busy putting out stock, ordering items into store, creating customer relationships, demonstrating products, setting up promotions etc. However, when looking back at my time there, it was probably the most fun I've ever had. The workplace culture is very different at The Entertainer in comparison to anywhere else. Area managers and those above not only look to employ intelligent retail managers with the knowledge and drive to take the company forward, but they ask for that little bit more. They search for those who will bring a fun, exciting atmosphere and be there for all staff members at all times.I wouldn't hesitate to go back if there was a position in the company that suited me. I highly reccommend this company to anyone out there. Whether you are looking for a part time job or to sink your teeth into the business and move into the company looking for that special career. There are plenty of opportunities to better yourself with online training and modules, as well as internal opportunities for promotions - 

Pros

Management including board members respectful and caring. Great atmosphere. Can be very rewarding.

Cons

Christmas period very busy. Sometimes long hours.
Was this review helpful?

Fun workplace

Amazing place to work. Management was amazing. Christmas was busy, but the music and the staff made it a great place to work. Seeing kids writing their letters to Santa. Won’t be the same this year without the demos.

Pros

Friendly staff
Was this review helpful?

Official response from The Entertainer

7 October 2020
Hi!Thanks for taking the time to leave your review. We love hearing about how people enjoy working in our stores, and Christmas is the most brilliant time to experience it working in a toy shop.It sound's like you may be joining us again this year, so we wish you the best of luck in your store and hope you have an equally great experience with us.Thanks

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at The Entertainer. Our community is ready to answer.Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8

Based on 174 reviews
5
72
4
47
3
27
2
12
1
16

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.6Salary/Benefits
3.4Job security/advancement
3.6Management
3.8Culture

Compare The Entertainer with

  • Companies
  • The Entertainer
  • Employee reviews
Tell us how to improve this page
What would you add or change?