The Ivy Collection
Happiness score is 46 out of 100
3.0 out of 5 stars.
Write a review

The Ivy Collection Employee Reviews

Review this company
Job Title
All
Location
United Kingdom190 reviews

Ratings by category

2.8Work-life balance

Sort by

HelpfulnessRatingDate
Found 190 reviews matching the searchSee all 203 reviews
runnerhospitalityprogressionchefrestaurantfoodcollectionfree

Productive but stressful

Indeed featured review

The most useful review selected by Indeed
Working here has been great met lots of people and have had a good time however can be very stressful and management are terrible they can put a lot of pressure on you and you can work hard but won’t get much in return as they won’t appreciate it or be able to make it a little easier for you
Was this review helpful?

Official response from The Ivy Collection

23 November 2022
Dear Receptionist - Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are always reflecting on the operations of our company and working on ways to improve, and we appreciate the value you see in your workplace and your team. When it comes to managers not showing that they care about the team, this isn’t the case at all, and we are sorry if this has not been reflected correctly. Thank you for everything that you have done at our company and please get in touch with us on email: feedback@theivy-collection.com if you would like to discuss your feedback in more detail.

Good if you're bad, bad if you're good

If you can put your ego to one side, it is a fine place to work. Unfortunately the ivy straddles that line where it's a step up for a lot of aspiring chefs and a step down for those who have worked in much better kitchens.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from The Ivy Collection

21 November 2022
Dear Sous Chef - Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are committed to creating an open and supportive working environment for all of our employees, so we are disappointed to hear about some of your experiences. Our intention is to make The Ivy a leading place of work, and we would love to discuss your feedback in more detail. Please get in touch with us on email: feedback@theivy-collection.com

Insights into The Ivy Collection

Based on 124 survey responses
Areas for improvement
  • Sense of belonging
  • General feeling of work happiness
  • Overall satisfaction

Productive and nice staff

Long hours but nice fun, always on your feet and lovely staff food. Staff are very nice welcoming and warm, colleagues are nice but sometimes bossy. But otherwise then that, it’s pretty okay
Was this review helpful?

Official response from The Ivy Collection

21 November 2022
Dear Receptionist - This review made our day! We genuinely appreciate your feedback! Thank you for everything you did for us, we wish you well.

Awful management, awful company

Working with the ivy for a substantial amount of time, communication between management is non-existent between head chef and lower sous's.If you're good at your job you'll get paid less than lower positioned chefs while also doing other people's jobs.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from The Ivy Collection

21 November 2022
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We’re sorry your experience wasn’t completely positive. Please contact us so that we can discuss your experience in more detail and try to improve our working environment for our people. The best way to get in touch is via email: feedback@theivy-collection.com

Avoid at all costs

Terrible hours, terrible management, only good thing about it was the pay was decent and you got food on your shift, head office didn’t care about any of the people that worked for them they cared more about how the restaurant looked rather than how the workers where doing. Not worth your time
Was this review helpful?

Official response from The Ivy Collection

31 October 2022
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We’re sorry your experience wasn’t completely positive. Please contact us so that we can discuss your experience in more detail and try to improve our working environment for our people. The best way to get in touch is via email: feedback@theivy-collection.com

Rate your recent company

Share your experience to help others

Not inclusive, hazard to heath

The managers here only care about running everyone to a bad place and do not care or send people hospital if they have and incident despite there being a hospital 5 minutes walk away

Pros

Nothing

Cons

Everything. Staff food
Was this review helpful?

Official response from The Ivy Collection

31 October 2022
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We’re sorry your experience wasn’t completely positive. Please contact us so that we can discuss your experience in more detail and try to improve our working environment for our people. The best way to get in touch is via email: feedback@theivy-collection.com

They make you work hard but won’t appreciate your hard work.

A hardworking employee and a lazy employee is treated the same at this workplace. The managers (except a few) are mostly treating all the fellow employees as just “workers” not family. They often underpay your wages and you have to bang your head to them for the right amount of money according to time. Most of them are non cooperative and unpleasant to work with.

Pros

Free meals

Cons

Unrealistic Hours
Was this review helpful?

Official response from The Ivy Collection

17 October 2022
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We’re sorry your experience wasn’t completely positive. Please contact us so that we can discuss your experience in more detail and try to improve our working environment for our people. The best way to get in touch is via email: feedback@theivy-collection.com

place to work

Management bad. Good Staff. Bad Management, the management doesnt care about the staff or their well being, all they care about is money. on avarage i used to spend over 300 a month to get to work, and someday after spending over £100 for travel i made less than £60 that day.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from The Ivy Collection

22 September 2022
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We’re sorry your experience wasn’t completely positive. Please contact us so that we can discuss your experience in more detail and try to improve our working environment for our people. The best way to get in touch is via email: feedback@theivy-collection.com

Terrible place to work

Probably the worst place to work in the world, management is a joke, the pay is a joke the hours are a joke the whole company is a joke, no one cares about you as an individual you’re just simply a robot for the system to make more money, if you question and voice your opinion then you’re the odd one out. My advice for anyone wanting to work there… be boring, don’t have an opinion and just do the same as everyone else does, work like a dog and don’t speak up about wrongdoing otherwise you’ll cause problems for yourself.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from The Ivy Collection

22 September 2022
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are always reflecting on the operations of our company and working on ways to improve, and we appreciate the value you see in your workplace and your team. When it comes to managers not showing that they care about the well-being of staff, this isn’t the case at all, and we are sorry if this has not been reflected correctly. Thank you for everything that you have done at our company, we definitely value you.

Fast-paced but well-organised

Very busy restaurant but the place is well-organised and everyone helps each other. Paid breaks and free meal off the menu if you work over a certain amount of hours. 50% staff discount as well as a refer a friend scheme

Pros

Free staff meals

Cons

Inconsistent schedule
Was this review helpful?

Official response from The Ivy Collection

12 September 2022
This review made our day! We genuinely appreciate your feedback! Thank you for everything you do for us, we really value you!

Worst workplace.

Worst company to work in. All they care is money and themselves( managers and whoever is on top of you) No lunch breaks , no support no help, mental health is the least important thing for them. All they do is stressing you out. Even HR is not willing to help or to listen.

Cons

Long hours no breaks no help no support lots of stress
Was this review helpful?

Official response from The Ivy Collection

4 September 2022
Dear Reception Manager. Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are committed to creating an open and supportive working environment for all of our employees, so we are disappointed to hear about some of your experiences. Our intention is to make The Ivy a leading place of work, and your insight helps us to understand where we can improve. We want to assure you that we most certainly do have time for you and would love to discuss your feedback in more detail. Please get in touch with us on email: feedback@theivy-collection.com.

Poorly managed staff

20 hour week contract agreed - expected to work 45-50 every week. No option for working less, management not interested in ensuring staff are happy with their rota. Wages incomplete each month and no help in getting it sorted. Overall struggling to retain staff due to appalling management

Pros

Free meal

Cons

Not adhering to contractual agreement
Was this review helpful?

Official response from The Ivy Collection

22 August 2022
Dear Waitress from Chichester. Thank you for taking the time to write this review - we are always reflecting on the operations of our company and working on ways to improve. When it comes to managers not showing that they care about the hours of work for our team members or their wage queries, this isn’t the case at all, and we are sorry if this has not been reflected correctly. Please get in touch with us so that we can discuss your experience in more detail. The best way to get in touch is via email: feedback@theivy-collection.com

Very VERY busy

At times, this was a very stressful job. The Ivy is usually very busy and visitors are often demanding. Often understaffed so picking up extra hours or extra covers is inevitable. Closes were long, and you would be looking at leaving most days past 2 AM and expected to close many days in a row. Work-life balance is not great, you get 2 days off a week but these are never next to each other. I did enjoy the people that I worked with and the cash tips were great (if you work hard you can earn around £500 per month) but the company do not give you the card tips which is completely unacceptable. You get a free meal every shift.

Pros

Free lunches and great cash tips.

Cons

Long hours, stressful and demanding.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from The Ivy Collection

8 August 2022
Thanks so much for your review – we really appreciate your feedback and we’re so glad you liked the team. We’re sorry your experience wasn’t completely positive, but please do get in touch with us so that we can discuss your experience in more detail and try to improve our working environment for our people. The best way to get in touch is via email: feedback@theivy-collection.com

A good friendly workplace however under staffed

In certain departments they will not have enough people and make the team work with less people then needed and its too much stress and work. However the co workers are friendly just management dont listen
Was this review helpful?

Official response from The Ivy Collection

8 August 2022
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We appreciate and value your input as an employee. We’re sorry you feel that your experience hasn’t always been a positive one – our intention is to make The Ivy a leading place of work, and your insight helps us to understand where we can improve. We would love for you to discuss your concerns with a member of our People team (on email: feedback@theivy-collection.com). Thank you again for sending us your thoughts.

A typical day at work

Long working hours, and very less time to rest. But overall the company is good, managers are kind and friendly. Good pay and company benefits. Learned new things working at Ivy Collection.

Pros

Paid break

Cons

Long hours
Was this review helpful?

Official response from The Ivy Collection

4 August 2022
Thanks so much for your review – we really appreciate your feedback and we’re so glad you enjoyed your time with us. Thank you for being part of our community at The Ivy Collection, and for putting up with some long hours.

You need to think about It.

The IVY collection is a big company , and usually you have training on the other site. But every site is different and there I failed because where I had a training , site was really organized. But when I moved it was absolutely different.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from The Ivy Collection

25 July 2022
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We’re sorry your experience wasn’t completely positive. Please contact us so that we can discuss your experience in more detail and try to improve our working environment for our people. The best way to get in touch is via email: feedback@theivy-collection.com

Fast paced

Senior Management is very poor, no leadership, show favouritism to certain staff members. You’re expected to work long hours for a not very competitive and industry leading salary Can be an extremely toxic environment

Pros

None

Cons

Long hours
Was this review helpful?

Official response from The Ivy Collection

25 July 2022
Thank you for the feedback – we are committed to creating a comfortable and supportive environment for all of our employees, so we are disappointed to hear about some of your experiences. We would be happy to discuss your concerns in more detail, so please email is feedback@theivy-collection.com to continue the conversation.

Stressful

Rude management, they wouldn’t think twice to shout to you in front of whoever. horrible staff food is meant to be exactly as the guests dishes however that’s nothing alike.over 60h work a week, salaries are low

Pros

None

Cons

Rude, abusive management
Was this review helpful?

Official response from The Ivy Collection

20 July 2022
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We’re sorry your experience wasn’t completely positive. Please contact us so that we can discuss your experience in more detail and try to improve our working environment for our people. The best way to get in touch is via email: feedback@theivy-collection.com

Fair

Quite respectable company as it’s pay good salary . Offer good possibility to grow up in different professionals as its offers many courses to be attempt with related certifications too.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from The Ivy Collection

20 July 2022
Dear Sous Chef - Thanks so much for your review – we really appreciate your feedback and we’re so glad you are enjoying your time with us. Thank you for being part of our community - we really value you.

Underpaid and demanding

The Ivy seems to think of itself as a high-end restaurant that pays fair wages to its employees. However, in reality, the company does not respect its key workers and is willing to jeopardize their financial situation only to provide hours for more important team members, like the managers. The job itself and the hours are very unstable, and the food they serve is of poor quality and overpriced. Not to mention the wages which are ridiculously low considering how much they charge their customers for a meal.

Pros

30 minutes of paid break

Cons

Wages, high demands, unstable working conditions
Was this review helpful?

Official response from The Ivy Collection

20 July 2022
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We appreciate and value your input as a former employee. We’re sorry you feel that your experience wasn't always a positive one – our intention is to make The Ivy a leading place of work, and your insight helps us to understand where we can improve. We would love for you to discuss your concerns with a member of our People team (on email: feedback@theivy-collection.com). Thank you again for sending us your thoughts.

Hard work, no tips, bad management, great coleages.

Always short of staff due to poor management and sicknesess, the work loads is too much in all departments. No tips. Long hours.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from The Ivy Collection

4 July 2022
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We understand that sometimes the hours can be long and really value your time with us. If there is anything further that we can improve on, please do email feedback@theivy-collection.com. Take care and all the best.

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at The Ivy Collection. Our community is ready to answer.Ask a Question

Overall rating

Based on 203 reviews

Ratings by category

2.8 out of 5 stars for Work/Life Balance
3.2 out of 5 stars for Salary/Benefits
3.1 out of 5 stars for Job security/advancement
2.7 out of 5 stars for Management
2.9 out of 5 stars for Culture

Compare The Ivy Collection with

Learn about The Ivy Collection in popular locations

  • Companies
  • The Ivy Collection
  • Employee reviews