The Professional Fundraiser
4.1 out of 5 stars.
Get weekly updates, new jobs, and reviews

The Professional Fundraiser Employee Reviews

Job Title
Location
Found 17 reviews matching the search
See all 18 reviews
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
I enjoyed every day at tpf. Such a wonderful company with an inspirational MD who lives and breathes the company values. Great work life balance. I felt incredibly valued. I would recommend this wonderful company to anyone who is fortunate to receive an opportunity to join. Thank you to everyone at tpf for a wonderful, enjoyable experience. Very best of luck.
Pros
Great values, positive friendly teams.
Cons
No cons, absolutely loved it.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from The Professional Fundraiser
11 September 2020
Thank you so much for leaving such a glowing testimonial of our organisation, especially given that your role was one that was sadly selected for redundancy due to COVID, and prior to you leaving this review. As much as we aim to be an amazing organisation, we are only as good as the people we employ, and we are exceedingly fortunate to have an outstanding, talented and friendly team. While COVID has brought a temporary stop to our business, and has forced us into making some incredibly difficult decisions that we would not have otherwise needed to make, we look forward to the day when we can thrive again, and hopefully welcome back many of the individuals we have so unfortunately lost during this time. With my best wishes.Kelvin. Managing Director.
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Good company , makes a change from where I come from. Good information given from venues! Equipment was good condition. Here's to the future at The Professional fundraiser
Was this review helpful?
Official response from The Professional Fundraiser
31 March 2020
Thank you for leaving your review, and despite the best efforts of COVID-19 The Professional Fundraiser still has a bright future ahead of us. I am pleased that your first impressions of the company have been good - we pride ourselves on providing an exceptional level of service and professionalism, coupled with friendliness and personality. I welcome you to the team, and while we're not operational at the time of writing due to the social distancing measures imposed, I hope that you will continue to work with us past this unprecedented period. KELVIN HOPKINSManaging Director
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
I recently completed my training and wow what can I say, huge change in environment, I'm so exited for my journey with the professional fundraiser!! Nearly everyone I have met is so lovely the admin team were great and so are the venue bookers! Training was good, Shame about the grumpy trainer but maybe she was having a bad day?! If you are thinking about working here DO IT! One happy fundraiser
Was this review helpful?
Official response from The Professional Fundraiser
31 March 2020
Thank you for your review, it's great to hear from yet another 'Happy Fundraiser' on the team. Of course, and at the time of writing, COVID-19 has taken hold across the UK, however we hope to be back in full swing as early as possible, while continuing to respect any future precautions that may be necessary to help protect public health. It's great for me to learn of your excitement, and the team here at Church Farm will be very grateful of your comments - they're a great team, who constantly go out of their way to offer the best support to those out in the field. Of course, everyone does have bad days, and things going on outside of work - but our supportive culture is important in recognising individual times of stress, and being tolerant of this. We are 'all about our people', and hope to continue to have a great team throughout the company, all positive and helpful towards one another. KELVIN HOPKINSManaging Director
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
I wouldn't usually review a business where I was unsuccessful but given the fact joe the recruitment manager was so accommodating, calling me after 8PM to suit my schedule even to give me bad news was so extremely refreshing and welcomed, most places just send you an email or ignore you! Thank you
Was this review helpful?
Official response from The Professional Fundraiser
7 February 2020
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review; I am disappointed to learn that you have been unsuccessful on this occasion. It is nonetheless great to hear your positive feedback about Joe. As a business we always aim to provide the most professional standards together with an engaging experience for everyone, and in everything we do - for our clients, our charity supporters, our team, and those seeking to work with us and looking to become a part of our journey. I am sorry we were unable to provide you with a suitable role, however I wish you well for the future and hope you find a position that is both fulfilling and enjoyable, and potentially one in the highly rewarding charity sector. Kelvin. Managing Director.
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
From my initial contact through to my offer the process has been enjoyable and such a modern vibe in the office and I'm just exited to get the opportunity to be a part of this!
Was this review helpful?
Official response from The Professional Fundraiser
1 February 2020
Thank you for your kind comments. Our mission is to ‘offer a fresh approach’ and two of our values are ‘personable and friendly’ and ‘all about our people’ - I’m pleased that you’ve experienced this during the recruitment process, and we’re equally as excited that you’ve chosen to join us, and be a part of our journey. Kelvin. Managing Director
Rate your recent company
Share your experience to help others
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Upon commencment of my time with The Professional fundraiser, I have had a great welcome from my senior Manager and the other departments, notably IT. However the one huge disappointment is the rude training manager who is openly disregarding to everyone below her, sticks out like a sore thumb. That being said it is still a company I would recommend.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from The Professional Fundraiser
22 January 2020
Thank you for leaving a review, I am pleased from your initial comment and from the overall score that you feel the company is committed and has the further potential to be a top employer for our team. Your comment though regarding a member of our training team is disappointing to read, and we would certainly not expect any team member to be unapproachable, least of all a trainer and mentor in our business. I would like to thank you for leaving your review and making me aware of your experience with TPF. I would also like to encourage you to speak further and openly with any senior manager in our business about your concerns, either on this topic or regarding any others that may arise in the future, so that all such issues can be suitably addressed. KELVIN HOPKINSManaging Director
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Management is shocking, they don't look after their staff and offer unrealistic targets. Low salary for the job your doing and have awful venues which is extremely important with this type of job. We would turn up at venues when they weren't even expecting us and we would waste our day driving an hour to get to these places. I got 2 days of training in an office however none a actually out on the streets. W
Was this review helpful?
Official response from The Professional Fundraiser
22 December 2019
I was shocked and disappointed to read your review, and if there were failings on our side and if in particular you did fail to receive the required amount of training and support during your time with us, I would be grateful for the opportunity to discuss this with you. You can email me personally: kelvin.hopkins@theprofessionalfundraiser.co.uk.On face value however I would disagree with the comments you have made, to the point of questioning the authenticity of this review. To begin, our fundraiser inductions are four days and not two, I am exceedingly puzzled why you have not been accurate on this point, and in response to your comment about looking after our team, we would have provided you with accommodation, an evening meal allowance, and would have refunded all travel expenses for your time when training with us. After your induction, you should have been supported in the field by either a Regional Training Partner or an experienced Fundraiser. While any lack or delay in providing field support is unacceptable, I struggle to believe that one of our training partners failed to meet and accompany you at any point during your first two weeks? I would be keen to learn what field training you did receive, and how we could have supported you further. In response to your comment about low salary it is important to recognise that all fundraisers work on a self-employed and not salaried basis, with average earnings of £35k per year, and some in excess of £50k, with accommodation, parking and mileage all fully reimbursed.I do agree that venues play a hugely important - more...
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
The Professional Fundraiser is a fantastic place to work, relaxed environment, great work colleagues, gorgeous offices on a beautiful farm in Astwick. Management are very approachable and always present, no hiding away in an office! In fact it is hard to know who is management they blend in so well!! The MD is one of the most thoughtful bosses I have ever had, arranging office outings, providing refreshments everyday for his staff, to name but a few! Not only is all of the above a major plus, most importantly we are helping to raise a vast amount of money for our wonderful charity clients!
Was this review helpful?
Official response from The Professional Fundraiser
10 December 2019
Thank you very much for your review, it's pleasing for me to know how much you love and enjoy coming to work, and I hope the same is true for everyone on our team. Creating an engaging workplace culture is extremely important to me personally, and is an area that I take a lot of pride in when we get it right. To achieve what we do at Church Farm is one thing, however it's equally important to me that this same culture and human focus is followed through to all our fundraisers working remotely across the UK, and importantly translates and helps to make a great donor experience, for as you say our wonderful charity clients. Kelvin. Managing Director.
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Working for TPF is an enjoyable job most says. I have met some nice people. You can ask any of the management team anything, they are not at all standoffish. I enjoy my job.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from The Professional Fundraiser
10 December 2019
Thank you for your review below. The recruitment team certainly work hard to not only attract and select talented individuals, but equally those people that are a great fit for our company and our culture. While working at TPF is enjoyable for you 'most' days, we naturally want this to be every day. I hope that the recent additions of both an immediate line manager in Ben, and a senior team manager in Danny have been positive additions to the team, and have provided you and others with the support you require, and enable you to love coming to work, and to have the tools and opportunity to perform at your best. Kelvin. Managing Director.
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
It’s a great place to work with friendly staff members. The company treat me well and I enjoy going to work every day. The company is very productive so we are constantly achieving goals.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from The Professional Fundraiser
11 July 2019
Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you find TPF a great place to work. We really are all about our people, and will continue to strive to create a great culture and working environment for everyone.Kelvin.Managing Director
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
The interview process is seemless, staff morale is allways great the office is lovely and the MD is very nice. Overall amazing plack to work. very glad I joined
Was this review helpful?
Official response from The Professional Fundraiser
4 July 2019
Thank you for your review, and welcome to the team. I'm pleased you like the office... and myself!... and hope you have an amazing time working with us for years to come! Kelvin.Managing Director.
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
As soon as I walked into the building I immediately felt so relaxed and felt the warmth from the people working. The hospitality I was shown on arrival was outstanding and the nerves went away rather quickly. Can’t wait to start at the professional fundraiser and help them achieve great things.
Pros
Location and employees
Was this review helpful?
Official response from The Professional Fundraiser
4 July 2019
Thank you for your review, we have a great team here at Church Farm and I'm pleased that you were made to feel so welcome when you arrived. Congratulations on the job offer and we look forward to having you start with us soon. Kelvin.Managing Director.
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
So welcoming from the get go. Great recruitment and training was exemplary! All the venue planners are understanding and help you out so much, so glad I made the move and dont regret it one bit!
Pros
Pay and venues
Cons
Have to work multiole campaigns at times
Was this review helpful?
Official response from The Professional Fundraiser
4 July 2019
Thank you for your review and comments about the recruitment process and training. We aim to be best in sector with what is now a 4-day residential induction, so I'm delighted to read that you found this exemplary. I will pass your comments back to both Joe and Liz in recruitment and training, and also the campaign/venue team in the office who will be very appreciative of the acknowledgement of their hard work and effort. Kelvin. Managing Director.
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Initially a small family run highly respected gundraising agency with good standardss. However, the influx of new senior management has transformed their credo to a desire to become an industry giant. Unfortunately their overly ambitious approach has turned the company culture to a dictatorial enterprise ruling by expediency any a scant regard for integrity or promises made and broken. All resources are channelled to a few 'stars' with others bing forced to promote low yielding charities at over exploited venues. In short many are leaving and have paid a high price by way of non existent high earnings. BEWARE GREEKS BEARING GIFTS 0!00!00
Pros
High commissions if you sell
Cons
Promises, Promises, Promises
Was this review helpful?
Official response from The Professional Fundraiser
4 July 2019
I was disappointed to read your comments, and while saddened that you feel let down by us, I do disagree with some of the comments you have made. The only addition to our management team is that of a single Relationship and Development Manager, a role aimed at providing greater support to fundraisers, and a key decision maker that you can immediately go-to in light of any issues or concerns. As you commented, we are an agency with high standards, and the result of this has been the on boarding of two new charity clients this year, that has led to the growth of our business and the number of fundraisers we are working with. Our values and focus on quality however are still the beating heart of our business, and we would never aim to compromise the quality of what we do. I think it is unfair to refer to some of our charity clients as low yielding - it is true that some campaigns perform better than others however many fundraisers have worked on these 'low yielding' campaigns for a number of years, without complaint, and with good earning potential. We are a business all about our people, and not the numbers - a 'star' for us is someone that shares in our company values and behaviours, with good feedback and low cancellations. That said, we do not favour any fundraiser over another, and aim to ensure that all fundraisers are given equal earning opportunities. I am sorry that TPF was not the right fundraising agency for you.Kelvin.Managing Director
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Personalised roles to suit skills Early Friday finish Can be very busy at times MD is very active which is good Nice comfortable offices Good training offer
Pros
Md
Cons
Hours
Was this review helpful?
Official response from The Professional Fundraiser
4 July 2019
Thank you for your review, I'm pleased that you like the offices, and feel that the training we offer is of good quality and value. This year has been extraordinarily busy with the on boarding of new clients and fundraisers, and we hope that the larger infrastructure we now have in the place in the office will help to make the workload more manageable in the future.
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
A growing family run business that is disrupting its industry! Visible progression and a clear management structure. Well rewarded and culture is exactly what I was looking for
Pros
Culture
Cons
Could do with private health care
Was this review helpful?
Official response from The Professional Fundraiser
4 July 2019
Thank you for the review, I'm pleased that you feel rewarded and recognised for your contribution. We do review our benefits package from time-to-time, and additional benefits is something we could look to include as the company continues to grow and develop. KelvinManaging Director
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
If you're looking for somewhere to work that is exciting, challenging, going through huge growth, supportive and fun, TPF is the place. Lead by a passionate and caring MD who supports everyone in the organisation, and with brilliant individuals across all the teams, every day is filled with opportunity and fun. And, on top of all that, the work we do benefits major national charities, so you can go home with a warm fuzzy glow that you've helped make the world a better place. We work hard but enjoy it, and everyone has a voice.
Pros
Great culture, great working environment
Cons
Computer systems are going through an overhaul
Was this review helpful?
Official response from The Professional Fundraiser
4 July 2019
Thank you for your review, I'm pleased you enjoy our culture and working environment.KelvinManaging Director
See more The Professional Fundraiser reviews
You may want to try: