Toad Hall Nursery logo
Toad Hall Nursery
4.1 out of 5 stars.
Get weekly updates, new jobs, and reviews

Toad Hall Nursery Employee Reviews

Review this company
Job Title
Location

Ratings by category

3.8
Work-life balance

Sort by

HelpfulnessRatingDate
Showing all 76 reviews
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Excellent Friendly Progression Equality

Indeed featured review

The most useful review selected by Indeed
I have been working for Toadhall for over 4years, in that time I have progressed 3 positions up, from a nursery nurse to an Assistant Manager. The company works hard to ensure all needs are met and there are always amazing opportunities! Staff are always supporting each other and the morale is lovely, which is vital in a work place! I generally get bored in jobs but this has been my longest time with a company and I am planning to stay for a long time in the future! I can't recommend the nurseries, staff and company in general enough! If you have a passion for childcare and want to enjoy your job then come and work for ToadHall!!!

Pros

Friendly, supportive, lots of opportunities
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

great work place

i loved working there, was a great work place management was really good. pay was ok. Christmas parties was great. i only left because of personal reasons or would probably still be there.

Pros

enjoyable, lots of training to help your journey

Cons

a little too many staff meetings lol
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Lovely place to work management very questionable

It's a lovely place to work, children and parents are amazing. Hours are very long but that's part of the job. Only down full if the management if u aren't buddies buddies with maganment u don't really get anything. They don't speak to u very nicely, u basically get walked over. As a current staff member I wouldn't recommend working hear as it's mentally and physically draining ( only due to staff management ) corrupt management

Pros

Lovely place to work

Cons

Management
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Toad Hall Nursery

18 March 2021
Thank you for taking the time to review our Company. We value all feedback and proactively look into the reasons why staff would or would not recommend working with the Toad Hall family. It is sad to hear that your current experience at Toad Hall is not meeting your expectations. As a Company we aim to provide a positive working environment for all our staff and actively encourage staff members to follow the company processes. If you have concerns about your current working relationship with your manager, please contact our HR team on hr@toadhall-nursery.co.uk
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Warning, do not work here

Notice how all the 5 star reviews are from HR or managers, it's nice to see some real reviews on here tooAny initial visit to the nursery and you wouldn't see anything wrong but that's the facade they manage to keep going for parents and ofsted Working here is dreadful, they run you dry hours-wise, don't treat you well and focus more on reputation than the children, that's why it LOOKS goodThey will treat you awfully unless youre in the management's personal friend group and take any complaint you have and send it to someone else who will also just dismiss it100% do not fall for the toad hall trap

Pros

Working with children

Cons

Understaffed, lack of training, insufficient support, I could go on
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Toad Hall Nursery

1 December 2020
Thank you for taking the time to review our Company. We value all feedback and proactively look into the reasons why staff decide to depart the Toad Hall family. It was sad to hear that your experience at Toad Hall didn’t quite match your expectations. As a Company we aim to provide a positive working environment for all our staff and we offer a generous rewards package in recognition of their hard work, dedication and commitment. We have a range of reviews from staff in different roles across the company and offer support to all our Toad Hall family. As part of our leavers process, all staff are invited to a retention meeting and given an opportunity to fill out our leavers questionnaire. Should you wish to discuss your issues stated above, please do get in touch with our HR team on hr@toadhall-nursery.co.uk
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Toad Hall Nursery

I have been working at Toad Hall for over 3 years, since working for Toad Hall I have been able to progress through different job roles, starting as bank staff and then securing a role as a room leader. The company has offered me a huge deal of flexibility, whilst working for toad hall I have been able to change location of work, take time out of work to travel, change job roles to better suit my current home life situation and also I have been able to study for 3 years alongside working which has allowed me to gain higher qualifications. Working for toad hall I have been able to create some really strong bonds with children, parents and staff. The management team at Ottershaw are so supportive and always encourage staff to think of unique, fun and meaningful learning activities to support the children to thrive!

Pros

There’s never a dull day

Cons

Hours can be long- deepening on agreed shifts. Pay can often not equate to hard work which is put in
Was this review helpful?

Rate your recent company

Share your experience to help others

Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Caring, friendly nursery

A friendly, welcoming team with the childrens best interest at the forefront.A good company to work for offering a variety of benefits.Pleasant working conditions

Pros

Staff benefits
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Productive environment

I work here as Maternity cover and i have really enjoyed my time here. i have learnt so much and have been so impressed by the high standards at this company.

Pros

lovely colleagues, lovely environment, supportive management
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Fun and happy place!

The one thing I loved about working at Toad Hall Watford Nursery is that everyone is so passionate about their work and has the desire to do a great job and to succeed in whatever role they are. This is a nursery who really believe in their staff and give fantastic training and promotion opportunities. The management and team are supportive and friendly which helps with everyone's positivity. Really enjoyed being part of such a lovely team!
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

A great place to work

From the minute i started working at Toad Hall I have loved every minute of it. The staff team is lovely and we work well as a team together. The management are excellent and they are always there if you ever need them. Management are always on hand in the office if you ever need them or their support. When I started at Toad Hall I was an apprentice and with the help of management I was able to work through my apprentership and become a level 3. During my time at working at Toad Hall a lot has happened. One of those things being the death of my Grandad. during this very tough time I had the support from management to help me grieve. During the pandemic of 2020 we all kept in contact as a team and the management team would check in on us to make sure we are ok and to offer support if we ever needed it. Before the pandemic and during the pandemic I myslef was going through and still going through a tough time but with the support of my manager I have been able to get the help that I need and that is all thanks to my manager. My manager has been excellent, she has been an amazing help to me and I am very great full. While being at Toad Hall I have learned a lot of things, related to the job and also a lot of life skills and that is all thanks to my manager. Working at Toad Hall is amazing the atmosphere is amazing we are a great team that work well together. Toad Hall is an amazing company to work for. Overall I enjoy working at Toad Hall.

Pros

Amazing management
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Productive and Friendly workplace!

From the minute I walked in to Toad Hall Nursery I felt safe and welcomed by the managers. Unfortunately I came from a nursery that management felt it okay to bully the staff. They would not allow me reasonable time off when it came to saying goodbye to my Auntie and shouted abuse at my mother when she collected me. I started at Toad Hall a few months after my Auntie died, they have been considerate to my grief. They have reminded me when I have had too much holiday left - in my first three years at the other nursery I lost out on holiday each year as they didn't give me online access to my contract or holiday allowance. During the pandemic of 2020 they kept in touch, made sure we were all well and have given us support in returning to work. I have to say this is only my second workplace but it is certainly my best!

Pros

Lovely managers who care

Cons

Too many lovely people to work with.
Was this review helpful?

Jobs at Toad Hall Nursery

See more jobs
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

A great place to work

Working at Toad Hall has been an excellent experience. Every day is different and there is always a new and exciting activity happening within the nursery. The whole staff team are there to support one another and have fun together at the nursery from singing and dancing around the room to staff socials outside of work. management are always on hand to offer support. Whether it is helping out in the rooms if it gets very busy or having a chat about an issue you are facing, all you have to do is ask. Management at Toad Hall are very understanding when it comes to mental health and staff well being and have put a lot in place to support this. There are many opportunities at Toad Hall to grow and development your knowledge and training and opportunities to progress within your career. These range from apprenticeships to online training, first aid training to safeguarding. Overall, my experience at Toad hall has been very positive and I have learnt a lot about my career as well as my self as a person, gaining confidence in what I do. The company has only enhanced my passion for working with children and watching them grow and develop within the setting is very much a privilege.

Pros

Excellent place to work
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Poor Management

When I worked there it had a very high turn over of staff. Management had their favourite staff who could do no wrong, other staff pulled up on things but certain staff not. I felt very undermined and not listened to after a change in management. You only get promoted if you are in the click group (the staff the manager would call friends) I was bullied by staff while I worked there, head office did nothing to help me even after my complaints. They did not follow the correct policies. Bring back the old manager to sort the nursery out. Bullies by other staff head office did nothing to help me or sort things out .

Pros

Got Paid

Cons

Management
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Toad Hall Nursery

12 August 2020
Thank you for taking the time to review our Company. We value all feedback and proactively look into the reasons why staff decide to depart the Toad Hall family. It was sad to hear that your experience at Toad Hall didn’t quite match your expectations. As a Company we aim to provide a positive working environment for all our staff and we offer a generous rewards package in recognition of their hard work, dedication and commitment. In terms of some of your feedback; The Management change you mention in your review was put in place 3 years ago and we would have welcomed this feedback when you were invited to your retention meeting and given the opportunity to fill out our leavers questionnaire. As a company we of course do not tolerate any bullying and our HR team follow all processes to resolve any staff concerns or allegations. Should you wish to discuss your issues stated above, please do get in touch with our HR team on hr@toadhall-nursery.co.uk
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Management

Management were typically rude and obviously had their favourite staff. I felt very undermined and belittled throughout my time there. There were major incidences where management didn't follow essential policies and jepodised other workers jobs to cover themselves. Staff were threatened of their holiday being taken off them, due to not being able to make a staff meeting/open day. The discipline of children felt almost military at times, telling the children not to do/touch/look/speak constantly.

Pros

I met a great coworker

Cons

All the above
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

The work was enjoyable but expensive to travel to sister nursery with no help in cost

Earnings were not enough to pay bills and work expenses too and deputy manager was very rude when voicing concerns and only send certain staff to different nurseries
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Toad Hall Nursery

5 March 2020
Thank you for taking the time to review our Company. We value all feedback and proactively look into the reasons why staff decide to depart the Toad Hall family. It was sad to hear that your experience at Toad Hall didn’t quite match your expectations. As a Company we aim to provide a positive working environment for all our staff and we offer a generous rewards package in recognition of their hard work, dedication and commitment. As part of our leavers process, staff are invited to a retention meeting and given an opportunity to fill out our leavers questionnaire. Should you wish to discuss your issues stated above, please do get in touch with our HR team on hr@toadhall-nursery.co.uk
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Poor job

I was initially excited to work for Toad Hall, but it soon came clear that staff didn't care about each other and love drama. The amazing advertised salaries and job roles are forgotten there is a ridiculous amount of pressure on staff and I left for Cherry Childcare down the road where I previously worked and it was great!
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Toad Hall Nursery

28 November 2019
Thank you for taking the time to review our Company. We value all feedback and proactively look into the reasons why staff decide to depart the Toad Hall family. We are sad to hear that your experience at Toad Hall didn’t quite match your expectations. As a Company we aim to provide a positive working environment for all our staff and we offer a generous rewards package in recognition of their hard work, dedication and commitment. We are sorry on this occasion that we were not able to retain you within our retention meeting at the setting, or formally have the opportunity at your request to discuss the issues stated above at your exit interview. If you would like to discuss your experience further at an exit interview with a member of our HR team, please contact our HR department at hr@toadhall-nursery.co.uk
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Alright place to work

Alright place to work, could be better and unfortunately it is in the middle of no where. so unless you drive would not bother. Work collegues were lovely and a nice little nursery. just needed to be run better
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

it was ok

they never understood me and always called me in the office over little things. I ended up crying some of the times. some of the staff were understanding but others loved drama.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Toad Hall Nursery

28 November 2019
Thank you for taking the time to review our Company. We value all feedback and proactively look into the reasons why staff decide to depart the Toad Hall family. It was sad to hear that your experience at Toad Hall didn’t quite match your expectations. As a Company we aim to provide a positive working environment for all our staff and we offer a generous rewards package in recognition of their hard work, dedication and commitment. You were invited to a retention meeting and given an opportunity to fill out our leavers questionnaire. Should you wish to discuss your issues stated above, please do get in touch with our HR team on hr@toadhall-nursery.co.uk
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Great interacting with the children

It is a friendly nursery to work in and it's small size helps to really know the people one works with and gives the whole place a family feel. The children have a lovely little garden which we all enjoy spending time in.

Pros

very close to my home

Cons

extremely low pay and long hours with no tea or coffee or access to mobile phones.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Toad Hall Nursery

26 September 2019
Thank you for your review. Were you meant to press 1* as your review is kind and it would be a shame for us to have this rating if you enjoyed your time at Toad Hall?Also, in regards to no access mobile phones, as I am sure you understand working in a nursery there is limited access to mobile phones and where the staff room was situated at the time, this would have been in the vicinity of children. As a childcare provider we take safeguarding very seriously.We of course are happy to talk to you if needed, so please contact me on c.litchfield@toadhall-nursery.co.uk.
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Unprofessional workplace

Here I worked with a team to build a room to have structure and a routine, however i came across many problems, the management team became very unprofessional in supporting me with the task that they set for me, then they showed that they did not like me and made it very clear.
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

Company in genral

The company in general is good but there are different rules of different people and also they say they are flexible but they are not. I left this job due to flexibility as I could not drop or pick up my son from school as the hours were to long and I felt like I was missing out on his school upbringing as the time I got home from work it was his time to go to bed.

Cons

Very long hours
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Toad Hall Nursery

8 July 2019
We are really sorry to hear your feedback and that you feel you didn’t have a good work/life balancec at Toad Hall. It is our aim to ensure all of our employees enjoy working with us, and the other reviews we have received confirm that this is the case for the majority of our staff. If you would like to discuss your experience further and have an exit interview with our HR Team, please do not hesitate to email me on c.litchfield@toadhall-nursery.co.uk as we’re always keen to seek feedback and continue to improve things across the company.
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture

fun work place to work for

this company is nice to work with the staff are friendly to work with and its a small company to work for. I learnt a lot in this company and it was not under pressure. I liked working with the children and given them there breakfast lunch and tea.
Was this review helpful?

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Toad Hall Nursery. Our community is ready to answer.Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1

Based on 76 reviews
5
48
4
8
3
7
2
3
1
10

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.8Salary/Benefits
4.0Job security/advancement
4.0Management
3.9Culture

Compare Toad Hall Nursery with

  • Companies
  • Toad Hall Nursery
  • Employee reviews