Toolstation
2.6 out of 5 stars.
Get weekly updates, new jobs, and reviews

Toolstation Employee Reviews

Job Title
Location
Found 393 reviews matching the search
See all 432 reviews
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
constant bad hours.. not caring for single parent families. management told alot of lies to cover for themselves which made it seriously difficult for anyone to put up with. i spoke out and got fired
Pros
nice customers
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Toolstation
15 April 2021
Hi there, thank you for leaving a review. I am sorry to hear about your experience. Hours are something that we do get feedback on. Hours in store are directly related to the sales level within store and are affected when we have colleagues on holiday or absent. Throughout the Pandemic it has been challenging for all of our colleagues as not only have they been working hard looking after increasing numbers of customers but we've had to cover more absence than usual. However, things are getting much better on that front and we have been hiring lots of new people into our teams. We do offer support for individuals going through a disciplinary process but it is hard to comment further without knowing the detail. If you feel there is more you wish to share then please drop me an email at glassdoor@toolstation.com. Once again thank you for your feedback and best of luck in your next venture. Emma - Head of Talent & Resourcing
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
I worked there for 9 years ......they really don't care about staff although they claim too .I asked for different hours time after time but unless you are a favourite you have no chance.
Pros
None
Cons
Hours you have no control over.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Toolstation
8 April 2021
Hi there. Firstly thank you for taking the time to leave this review. Your feedback is very important to us and we really do care! Here at Toolstation, we are working hard to be a fair and inclusive employer and we don't condone favouritism, believing our colleagues should experience fair and equal treatment. We cannot always accommodate the hours you wish because we are working together to support our customers and we need to be available when they need us. Have you tried escalating your concerns to a senior member of the management team. If you have already tried this and would like to provide some more background to your review then please contact me at glassdoor@toolstation.com Emma - Head of Talent & Resourcing
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Management lie to your face, only pay just above minimum wage. The management structure is none existent and most of all there is no structure on work patterns. Supposed to get 4 weeks in advance of work shifts, yet management always change shifts at last minute and if you say you have plans your told that your required and must change personal plans. Have to clock in and out at exactly the correct time even if your busy at end of shift. Be seconds late and you are on a report. Counter staff are nice but supervisor, assistant manager, branch manager are all jobsworth and will stand in corners running staff down, the very people who do all the work. Avoid unless your happy to be treated like a nobody.
Pros
None
Cons
Too many to mention
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Toolstation
15 April 2021
Hi, thanks for taking the time to write your review. The best way for us to improve in all areas is to listen to feedback from our colleagues both current and former. We recognise that everyone works hard to get the job done, and that our business is fast paced; but our focus is on great teams, working together to deliver for our customers. We operate a three tier approach to hours based on store sales volumes. Depending on a store's sales they are then apportioned hours appropriate to the tier they sit within, we constantly review hours for stores to flex appropriately where stores significantly exceed their sales budget. This helps us to ensure there are sufficient hours to effectively staff the store. Despite this our colleagues have likely been asked to cover additional hours during the pandemic as with many retailers who remained open. I can see that you're no longer with us so if you do have any other thoughts as to what we can look into please do contact me on glassdoor@toolstation.com.
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Very clickey no respect worse place to work the staff are rude and there is alot of favoritism i wouldn't recommend anyone working here alot of people left jue to management
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Toolstation
31 March 2021
Hello there and thank you for leaving a review. This feedback is vital for us to understand how to make Toolstation a better place to work and we appreciate you taking the time. I am sorry to hear about your experience of working at Toolstation. We certainly strive to be an inclusive and friendly employer and it is important that our all our colleagues are working together to get the job done. If you would like to share some more detail with me please do drop me an email at glassdoor@toolstation.com Thank you once again for your feedback and for your contribution.
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
I worked here for 5 years. Worked my way up to Assistant Manager to be pushed aside as soon as I couldn't do the hours that were expected of me due to sadly going through a divorce and suffering with lack of child care due to covid. The training I received to become assistant manager was good. But the managers need to be looked at and how they treat their staff.
Pros
Staff friendly
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Toolstation
31 March 2021
Hi there. Firstly thank you for leaving a review for us. It is important for us to receive your feedback in order to help make Toolstation a great place to work. I am delighted to hear that you progressed through the business and received great training during your time with us. It is unfortunate to learn that you have now left the company. We appreciate that like all retailers people have had to work at pace and long hours have sometimes been unavoidable during the pandemic. We really are grateful for the efforts of all our key workers who have pulled together to get the job done. We are working hard to make sure our teams are positive and supportive but it sounds as though you didn't experience that with us. If you wish to share some more detail please feel to drop me a line at glassdoor@toolstation.com
Rate your recent company
Share your experience to help others
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
It was the first time for me working nights and I found it difficult adjusting to the working threw the nite and sleeping threw the day,the job in general was ok
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Toolstation
1 March 2021
Hi there, thank you so much for taking the time to write your review. We're really glad you enjoyed the job itself, we know that working nights does take some getting used too and doesn't always suit everyones lifestyle. Thank you again for giving us the feedback
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
The role requires you to work hard. Very hard and it can be rewarding when you know your doing well. But never will your regional manger tel you this. Instead expect your budgets cut and you’ll end up doing extra tasks to support your manager. There’s no development plans, no progression internally lately and no expansion. The business announced a record year but there’s no pay rises for managers, no benefits that would make you want to stay. No sick pay as salaried managers. No support and extremely poor management when you need help. If you have problems with staff then sort it yourself as your manager will turn his nose up and say he’s passed it onto someone else. For such low pay it really isn’t worth it and there’s absolutely no bonus lately. 2020 was a year of no bonus, no pay rise but at the same time a record breaking year for sales. How do you make this land well with those who work so hard?!
Pros
Pay and create your own rota
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Toolstation
5 March 2021
Hello, thank you for your review.These past 12 months have been a challenging time for everyone but we have all worked together to get the job done and we're incredibly proud of the resilience show by all our colleagues. Despite the fantastic efforts of the Toolstation Team to get us through this past year, the COVID pandemic has had significant financial impact on our business, such as increased costs, which has unfortunately meant we are unable to pay any colleague bonus in 2020 like so many retailers. I appreciate this is deeply disappointing for us all, but we do believe that the hard work which went into 2020 has helped set us up for success in 2021. We weren't able to pay bonus, however at the beginning of the 2020 we set ourselves quite an ambitious goal of introducing a series of new or enhanced benefits for colleagues, driven by a review we carried out earlier in 2019. Little did we realise that by March we would be in the grip of a global pandemic! However, despite this quite significant ‘plot twist’ to 2020 we felt that it was even more important to bring a series of colleague benefits into the business; benefits that hopefully provided support across a range of needs and situations, with colleague wellbeing at their heart. A total of ten new or enhanced benefits have been introduced this year, for all colleagues, by the Payroll and Benefits Team - that’s nearly 1 per month! Ranging from enhanced maternity and paternity and Cycle To Work through to financial benefits such as Wagesteam and Salary Finance. Although 2020 was a tough year, we still opened 60 - more...
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
The company is simple, the working hours when I was there were very anti-social as a CSR. Poor 4 hour day shifts meant you worked over more days of the week. Doing either opens or closes restricted your days. Very limited responsibilities & quiet when stores first open, expectations from the company are ridiculous. Poor pay, little ladder climbing available & little enthusiasm to do so.
Pros
Discount card for travis perkins family
Cons
Short hours, longer weeks, poor management
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Toolstation
8 March 2021
Hello, thank you for your review. The workload does vary throughout the day, with peak times of the day where we see higher customer volumes, however we manage our rotas and the times we conducted other store related tasks to reflect this where it can be predicted. When it comes to rota's we try to make it fair across the team and take personal circumstances into account where possible. We produce 4 week rota's to give our colleagues the time to plan their diaries and we try where possible to give colleagues full days. Our part time roles however provide flexibility to our operation and therefore the expectation is that these colleagues are able to be flexible across the week. We recognise that everyone works hard to get the job done, and that our business is fast paced; but our focus is on great teams, working together to deliver for our customers. Thank you again for your feedbackEmmaHead of Resourcing & Talent
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
They treat all staff as numbers instead of humans, all they want is more sales without spending any labour hours.... targets increased 60% year on year with 20% reduction in labour hours despite covid-19 pandemic
Pros
20% staff discount
Cons
Treat staff like slaves
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Toolstation
8 March 2021
Hi, thanks for taking the time to write your review. The best way for us to improve in all areas is to listen to feedback from our colleagues both current and former. We are committed to making Toolstation a really great place to work and our focus is on doing the right thing; taking the best parts of what's made us so successful and enhancing this with a true focus on getting things right for our colleagues. We recognise that everyone works hard to get the job done, and that our business is fast paced; but our focus is on great teams, working together to deliver for our customers. We operate a three tier approach to hours based on store sales volumes. Depending on a store's sales they are then apportioned hours appropriate to the tier they sit within, we constantly review hours for stores to flex appropriately where stores significantly exceed their sales budget. This helps us to ensure there are sufficient hours to effectively staff the store. I can see that you're currently working for us, so if you do have any other thoughts as to what we can look into please do contact me on glassdoor@toolstation.com.Thanks again,Emma Head of Resourcing & Talent
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Easy job, but there's easier for more pay out there.At least match our pay with call centres please. Sometimes you are told to do the same job over and over which can be boring as others stand around not doing it. You mention it to the manager, they agree and can see that they are. Not always up front to say anything, they're pretty scared.
Pros
Decent benefits
Cons
No fixed schedule. Up and down shifts
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Toolstation
8 March 2021
Hello, thank you for your review and feedback.It's great to see that you've recognised the benefits available to you at Toolstation, in fact a total of ten new or enhanced benefits have been introduced this year, for all colleagues, by the Payroll and Benefits Team - that’s nearly 1 per month! Ranging from enhanced maternity and paternity and Cycle To Work through to financial benefits such as Wagesteam and Salary Finance.It's disappointing that you feel that not everyone is working together to get the job done, as that's one of the things that we really pride ourselves on at Toolstation - so much so, "Together, we'll get the job done" is one of our strap-lines!I can see you're still working here so if you'd like to share any further details on this please contact us on glassdoor@toolstation.com Many thanks,EmmaHead of Resourcing & Talent
Help us improve!
Is Indeed your favorite place to learn about companies?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
I worked for Toolstation Contact Centre briefly during lockdown. I really enjoyed my time there, and although due to Covid we were working remotely, there was good communication with fellow employees and management. The working day of taking calls is non stop, and your activity is tracked by the managers on shift, so you will get messaged if you have been off the phone for longer than a few minutes. Each call isn't too long, however sometimes you can deal with some very unreasonable, upset people so can take longer. Overall, I found the work, the people and the pay really reasonable & fair, and would definitely recommend Toolstation as an employer.
Pros
Working from home, fair pay, relatively easy work
Cons
Short lunch breaks, fast paced work, constant calls
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Toolstation
8 March 2021
Hi there, thank you so much for taking the time to write your review and I'm so glad you enjoyed your time with us. Moving our contact centre from an office environment to a purely remote set in response to the pandemic up was a quick and steep learning curve for us, but our colleagues were phenomenal and took it all in their stride as we worked our way through this new way of working. We worked really hard to ensure that our colleagues still felt connected in the virtual world so I'm so glad that you felt that there was good communication. We recognise that everyone works hard to get the job done, and that our business is fast paced; but our focus is on great teams, working together to deliver for our customers and I'd like to thank you for being a part of that. Thank you again for taking the time to write your review, and for your hard work and support whilst working with us.Emma Head of Resourcing & Talent
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Soul destroying. A very bad environment to work in and hard work not rewarded. It's about who you get on with not what you can do. Avoid at all cost.
Pros
None
Cons
To long to list
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Toolstation
8 March 2021
Hello, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. It's important that we're listening to our colleagues, both former and current to understand what we're doing well and where we've still got room for improvement. Your experince of working with us is not what I would expect so if there is anything specific you feel we could do to make Toolstation a better working environment please let me know via glassdoor@toolstation.com.Thanks again,EmmaHead of Resourcing & Talent
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
I had worked at toolstation Bridgwater for 3years the people I had worked with are very supportive but the management/ supervisor could not run a bath between them I was sent up by my manager / supervisor for my behaviour I have seen a worse in the department but nothing done but I do something wrong I end up losing my job
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Toolstation
22 March 2021
Hello, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. It's important that we're listening to our colleagues, both former and current to understand what we're doing well and where we've still got room for improvement. It is important to us that colleagues are treated fairly so if there is something specific that you wish to share with us please let me know via glassdoor@toolstation.com.Thanks again,EmmaHead of Resourcing & Talent
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Where do I start... Beware, the bad reviews and staff turnover are a true reflection of this company. I’ve been working as a home based Customer Advisor for the last 6 months out of desperation after like so many others I’d been made redundant during the initial lockdown. PAY & HOURS: You won’t get two consecutive days off together and you’ll receive little more that National living wage per hour. The pay cut off is the 14th of each month, so you will only get paid 2 weeks pay for a months work if you start at the beginning of the month. I worked 6 weeks and got paid 4 weeks pay due to the ridiculously early cut off date. SYSTEMS & MANAGEMENT: The IT systems are poor and management have little experience and ability to effectively communicate and understand how to resolve matters properly.THE JOB:You’re treated like you should approach your work robotically, rather than actually effectively helping the customer resolve their issues first time without the poor customer having to recontact the business, it’s all about numbers, how many emails and calls you take rather than how many issues you’ve resolved. Ie just send an email template that doesn’t answer the customers issue and then leave it for someone else to pick up when the customer complains again. Essentially meaning the customer will email several times before getting a proper helpful response. So no job satisfaction if you like to do things properly! Clearly a great way to resource a department.CULTURE & H&SThe poor pay, poor systems and unprofessional approach to dealing with customers complaints I had handle - more...
Pros
9am - 5pm
Cons
Almost everything else:
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Had a great time working in the HR/Recruitment team. Great team of people who are very friendly and good at their jobs. A company that cares about its employees and candidates and they experience they have from application to leaving the company.
Pros
Home-working, good management, friendly colleagues, good development
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Toolstation
22 March 2021
Thank you so much for your positive feedback. We do endeavour to do the right thing by our colleagues and our candidates alike and we try not to take ourselves too seriously and make work fun. We are so delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and wish you the very best for the future.Thanks again!EmmaHead of Resourcing & Talent
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
One of the most welcoming jobs I've been too I'd definitely work for them again 100% the managers and staff are so friendly and polite any problems I had I didn't feel awkward to ask they helped 100% of the way. They always made sure that I was okay always answered any questions I had with doubts. They always go out there way to tell you that you were doing a good job. Definitely a great working environment ☺️
Pros
Friendly people
Cons
Not that much overtime offered
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Toolstation
22 March 2021
Hi there, thank you so much for your review and taking the time out to share your feedback with us. Our teams really are positive and supportive and we're really proud to have such brilliant people working here. We recognise that everyone works hard to get the job done, and that our business is fast paced; but our focus is on great teams, working together to deliver for our customers and we appreciate your contribution. So glad that you thought it was a great work environment and that you got lots of recognition during your time with us!Thank you again for your feedbackEmmaHead of Resourcing & Talent
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
The jobs is good, but the company has no interest in looking after their staff or helping them progress to bigger roles. They will not listen to your ideas or complaints.
Pros
Very few
Cons
Bad hours, bad management, bad pay
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Toolstation
22 March 2021
Firstly I would like to thank you for taking the time to leave this review. Your feedback is important to us. We value our colleagues’ ideas and input and as a business we could not have delivered our ambitious growth objectives without them. This is why we have our colleague voice initiative on Toolstation Together to make sure that your suggestions are heard by the people who can make decisions. Please do feel free to use Colleague Voice to share your thoughts.If you have made a specific complaint and you feel that your matter has not been dealt with then please do take the time to share the details with me via glassdoor@toolstation.com.Although 2020 was a tough year, we still opened 60 new stores which resulted in new opportunities for growth and development of our colleagues. We also introduced two new Retail Apprenticeships and this year we've just launched our Toolstation Academy which provides our colleagues with the knowledge and skills that matter to them, help them perform at their best, and put them in the best possible position to progress through the company. I really hope that you're able to get some real benefit from the Toolstation Academy in 2021.Thank you for your contribution and for leaving your feedback. EmmaHead of Resourcing & Talent
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Company has always been supporting me in my job and customers always make me feel liked they help me understand there jobs Most of our customers come in and greet us with smiles and make us feel like family
Pros
Help is only a call away
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Toolstation
22 March 2021
Hi there, thank you so much for your review and taking the time out to share your feedback with us. Our teams really are positive and supportive and we're really proud to have such brilliant people working here. I love that you also seem to have great relationships with your customers. Its our colleagues that make the difference to our customers!Thank you again for your feedbackEmmaHead of Resourcing & Talent
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
I enjoyed working here, it is a great place to meet interesting people and learn a lot about customer service and the products on sale! I would recommend this job to anyone, but of course, being a retail company, the working days are 364 days a year and the teams are usually small, so getting days off is a little tricky sometimes.
Pros
Staff Discount, easy going atmosphere, energetic staff, decent breaks
Cons
long opening hours
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Toolstation
22 March 2021
Thank you so much for your positive feedback. We do endeavour to do the right thing by our colleagues and our candidates alike and we try not to take ourselves too seriously and make work fun. We are so delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and wish you the very best for the future.Thanks againEmmaHead of Resourcing & Talent
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Very little going for Toolstation's IT department. Travis Perkins have installed some failed directors into the department in an attempt to keep the company running profitably.These is no leadership, very little management and most firefighting due to years of failed management.While working for Toolstation's IT department you won't receive any thanks, job satisfaction or enjoyment however you will be rewarded with more jobs that the manager's don't want to keep for pet projects.There is almost no communication from department management to senior IT staff, it's a game of Chinese whispers and rumours. If you are well connected and have family within the company that helps a lot.The only blessing has been working from home so basically being able to do what you like most of the time.
Pros
They keep paying me
Cons
Poor leadership and lack of communication
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Just left here, poor place to work long hours and hardly any support. The company is all about money at your expense they do not care about there staff or building your skill base. The stores run on minimal staff meaning more work and stress than is needed. Avoid like the plague.
Pros
None
Cons
Staff, management, structure and Support
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Toolstation
22 March 2021
Hello, thanks for taking the time to write your review. The best way for us to improve in all areas is to listen to feedback from our colleagues both current and former. We are committed to making Toolstation a really great place to work and our focus is on doing the right thing; taking the best parts of what's made us so successful and enhancing the colleague experience. One of the initiatives that we have recently launched is the Toolstation Academy which is designed specifically to enhance our people’s skills and grow our own talent that can progress within the business. We recognise that everyone works hard to get the job done, and that our business is fast paced; but our focus is on great teams, working together to deliver for our customers. We operate a three tier approach to hours based on store sales volumes. Depending on a store's sales they are then apportioned hours appropriate to the tier they sit within, we constantly review hours for stores to flex appropriately where stores significantly exceed their sales budget. This helps us to ensure there are sufficient hours to effectively staff the store. I am sorry that your experience of working with us was not what you hoped for and wish you the best of luck in your future endeavours.Thanks againEmmaHead of Resourcing & Talent
  1. Employee reviews