United Response
Happiness score is 54 out of 100
3.1 out of 5 stars.
Get weekly updates, new jobs, and reviews

United Response Employee Reviews

Job Title
Location
Found 221 reviews matching the search
See all 226 reviews
Featured review
United Response selected this as a representative review
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Worked for company 20 years plus, great place to work supporting some wonderful people, Company very supportive and caring of all staff.Good opportunity to develop yourself and your skills.
Pros
The people we support are great, good training opportunities, teamworking, good holiday and sick pay
Cons
It's care work funded by local authority so you'll never get rich
Was this review helpful?
Official response from United Response
12 January 2021
Thank you very much for your fantastic review and an amazing 20 years of service! It's really good to hear that you enjoyed your time with us so much; dedicated members of staff like yourself are the reason we can do the great work we do. We wish you the very best in whatever it is you go on to do next.Kind regardsJames
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Worst company I’ve ever worked for. NOrth Somerset management are so unsupportive and disrespectful. I’ve never met such bad management in my life, I was also never paid correctly.
Pros
N/a
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
My time at united response was a pleasure to go to work. Staff and management were very nice. Residents were a pleasure to look after, learned me a lot in the short time I worked there. Reason for leaving, needed to be closer to home due to fathers illness.
Pros
Having nice place to work
Cons
Short shifts at times
Was this review helpful?
Official response from United Response
18 March 2021
Hi, thank you very much for your lovely review. It means a lot to us that you enjoyed your time with United Response and felt like you learnt plenty. It's sad to hear that you had to leave us but we wish you and your family all the very best and hope that you may one day be able to come back and join us again.Kind regardsJames Browne
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Poor wages, often paid incorrectly and have to wait for another month( if your lucky) to have it amended, and it happens regularly! No extra pay for weekend/ night shift.. used to have an extra weeks pay in December and united response have even stopped that! Most management staff are inexperienced and very cliquish, if ‘ your face fits’ your ok. Overall I would avoid this company.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from United Response
18 March 2021
Hi, we appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review so thank you. We absolutely understand that the hourly rate does not always reflect the work staff do throughout the social care sector and as a charity we are limited in the hourly rates we can offer. That said we hope the other benefits and schemes staff are entitled to such as the UR Stars help to make staff realise the work they do is hugely important and appreciated. As an organisation we are very keen to give people the opportunity to develop and progress in their careers and ensure each step up is accompanied by the relevant training. If you would like to discuss your concerns further I would strongly advise that you get in contact with us, you can do this by emailing recruitment@unitedresponse.org.uk.Kind regardsJames Browne
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Rewarding work but the management and salary are poor. Demoted a staff member for being due to go on maternity leave. They also don’t pay any extra on Christmas Day or New Year’s Day. Leave staff alone with high risk service users and blame the staff if they are injured for ‘not following care plan properly’.
Pros
Rewarding, can work towards higher role, good relationships with colleagues
Cons
Management only care for themselves, poor salary, poor benefits, no extra pay for xmas, New Years etc
Was this review helpful?
Official response from United Response
18 March 2021
Hi, thank you for leaving us a review. It's good to hear that you found the role rewarding and felt able to progress your career with us. Whilst we fully appreciate that the role can be challenging, we do everything we can to support and protect our staff so if you didn't feel this way we would very much like to discuss it with you further, if you would be willing to do so please get in contact with us at recruitment@unitedresponse.org.uk.Kind regardsJames Browne
Rate your recent company
Share your experience to help others
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Managerial values higher up was really bad. They pulled services in Lancashire because of it. My line manager was very supportive tho. We all lost our jobs through closure. The residents were treated appallingly during transition period.
Pros
Residents. Working as a team
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?
Official response from United Response
18 March 2021
Hi, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. As an organisation we aim to ensure that our values are demonstrated at every level so we would certainly be interested in hearing more from you if that wasn’t your experience. Whilst it's true that unfortunately, there are occasions where we must hand services back there many factors that go in to that those decisions and we always do our best to minimise the disruption to the people we support. Thank you again for your review and if you could be interested in discussing your concerns further please contact us at recruitment@unitedresponse.org.uk.Kind regardsJames Browne
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Worked at the company for 8 for management to not really listen to the staff and no training is provided in order to help progress. Bullied staff into working hours when not fully knowing the laws either. No recognition for work done.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from United Response
10 November 2020
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I'm very sorry to hear that you feel you weren't listened to, we always try and encourage an envionment where people can speak up and feel like they are being heard. We have a zero tolerance policy for bullying in United Response and would be very keen to find out more about your experience, if you would be happy to discuss things further, please contact us at recruitment@unitedresponse.org.uk.Kind regardsJames Browne
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
• Great company to work for• Supported Living Service• Training Provided• DBS paid for by the company• Every day is different, always busy, always out in the community • Overtime is always available
Pros
Great vocation; No two days are the same; Fantastic Team to work with; brilliant manager
Cons
Long hours; No paid breaks; Work life balance can be tricky
Was this review helpful?
Official response from United Response
12 January 2021
Thank you for leaving such a positive review, it's great to hear you enjoyed your time at United Response. We appreciate that the days can be long but it's good to see that the variety and opportunity to work with and alongside some great people made it worthwhile. We really value the effort you put in to helping make life happen for the people we support and wish you the best of luck in your future endeavours.Kind regardsJames Browne
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Bullying , management didn't care.had nervous breakdown due to it.i worked for them for years .I really enjoyed my work ,but the bullying was rife through support worker to management.there was numerous complaints regarding support worker bullying staff ,but nothing done so the staff members just left
Pros
Training
Cons
Bullying
Was this review helpful?
Official response from United Response
22 October 2020
Hi, thank you for taking the time to leave a review and it’s good to hear that you enjoyed working with the people we support. That said we are very sorry to hear about your experience, we absolutely will not tolerate bullying at any level and take matters such as these very seriously. If you would like to discuss your concerns further I would strongly advise that you get in contact with us, you can do this by emailing recruitment@unitedresponse.org.uk.Kind regardsJames Browne
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Not valued as a member of staff, poor communication, stressful. What is expected of you as a member of staff goes way beyond support worker duties, staff undervalued in every way.
Pros
None
Cons
Poor pay, long hours, stressful.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from United Response
12 January 2021
Thank you for leaving a review, we are very sorry to hear that you feel undervalued. We know that without the fantastic efforts of our staff we wouldn't be able to do what we do. Whilst we appreciate that the pay rates across social care don't necessarily reflect the contribution our Support Workers make we have other ways of trying to ensure our staff know how much we value them such as our UR stars programme and benefits package. If you would like to discuss your concerns further, please contact us on recruitment@unitedresponse.org.uk and we would be more than happy to talk with you.Kind regardsJames
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Personally I wouldn't recommend united response to anyone Bad regional management with a bad attitude The clients and other staff are sound and some line managers are great Very often left stuck after 8-4 shift when colleagues don't turn up You'd be told its being sorted and still be there at 8
Pros
clients and colleagues
Cons
Bad arrogant upper management
Was this review helpful?
Official response from United Response
24 September 2020
Thank you for your review. We’re very sorry to hear you haven’t enjoyed your employment with United Response. Bad management isn’t in line with our companies core values and we will take your feedback on board. In the meantime, I would urge you to contact our HR department so we can discuss your concerns further recruitment@unitedresponse.org.uk Kind Regards Amy Green
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Over the years Iv had a few managers but all have been amazing and helped me progress throughout my time here. I was put through my level 3 health and social care diploma within a year & half of working for the company, I was also put forward for a team leader position which I got and managed 5 staff and 2 gentlemen for 2years until they moved on to a different company. Recently they have also been very supportive of my desire to fulfil my dreams of becoming a vet nurse and was great when I decided to go back to college and uni to train as a vet nurse. I’m currently still employed by them while I studie for the next 3 years.
Pros
Training, great company benefits, shift work
Cons
Unsociable hours, weekend working, shift work, can be lonley
Was this review helpful?
Official response from United Response
24 September 2020
Thank you so much for your review! We are pleased that you enjoy working with us. All the best with your Vet course! Kind Regards - Amy Green
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Worked for this company for over 6 years and eventually left. When things were fresh and new there was satisfaction at trying to help vulnerable people in the service, we had 2 to support. The person's we supported were amazing and at times I felt very sorry for how rigid their support was and not looked at for that! Persons needs, dancing..walking...tick boxes. Also bringing in Support staff without adequate training in restrictive intervention leaving PWS and staff unsafe...this happened numerous times
Pros
People we support
Cons
Bad management, always make you feel inadequate, just don't listen, and no confidentiality from Manager.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from United Response
13 August 2020
Thank you for your feedback, I’m sorry your time with United Response has not been a positive experience. Your comments have been noted but please feel free to contact our HR team on recruitment@unitedresponse.org.uk if you would like to discuss this further
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
- Relaxed yet motivated. - CRM systems - very good management - workplace culture was brilliant. - the hardest part of the job was integrating the various cloud systems the ITdept used. - the most enjoyable part of the job was the integrated culture.
Pros
N/a
Was this review helpful?
Official response from United Response
10 August 2020
Thank you for your review. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with UR. We wish you all the best in your future career. Kind Regards, Amy Green.
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Absolutely pathetic, don’t know how they’re surviving as management haven’t a clue . Staff are run ragged & not treat with an ounce of respect. A typical care company who just want to line their pockets and blow the consequences!
Pros
Clients
Cons
Too many
Was this review helpful?
Official response from United Response
13 August 2020
Thank you for your feedback, I’m sorry your time with United Response has not been a positive experience. Your comments have been noted but please feel free to contact our HR team on recruitment@unitedresponse.org.uk if you would like to discuss this further’
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Nice company, good team, managers very supportive, will recommend this company to anyone wishing to go further in their caring career. At this company every one matters, service users are put at the centre of their care. Staff are treated fairly, shift and working hours are excellent, staff wellbeing is taken into consideration, staff get free and confidential counselling.counselling.cconfidentialcccvcounsellingan...whenèdedneeded, p
Was this review helpful?
Official response from United Response
10 August 2020
Thank you for your review. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with UR! We wish you all the best in your future career. Kind Regards, Amy Green.
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
I really enjoyed working for UR, having come from a very corporate background every penny spend was scrutinised it was refreshing to work for an organisation that put care ahead of profit The service I managed was manageable which allowed me to get to know the staff and people we support on a personal level. I felt my salary was fair for the area I covered highly recommend
Pros
Good salary, loads of support, a nice organisation to have worked for
Was this review helpful?
Official response from United Response
10 July 2020
Thank you for your review! We're really pleased that you had such an enjoyable experience working for us and we wish you all the best in your future career. Kind regards, Amy Green
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Fun and rewarding workplace great place to work. challenging at times but very rewarding job. The clients were loving and gave me a real sense of purpose helping them
Pros
good hours lovely people
Was this review helpful?
Official response from United Response
10 July 2020
Thank you for your review. We're pleased that you enjoyed working for us. We would agree that the People we Support give us a daily purpose! We wish you all the best in your future career
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
i enjoyed working with united response nice people. nice service users very relaxed at the service i,m in as im doing nights i would recommend it to anyone
Was this review helpful?
Official response from United Response
8 June 2020
Thank you for your review. We are really pleased to hear that you enjoy working with us!
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Terrible company with bullying culture, protects the terrible staff and sacks whistle blowers. Has to use lots of agency staff at double the rate of pay of official staff. Hires dubious staff and family relations.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from United Response
4 June 2020
Thank you for your review and I’m very sorry to hear that you didn’t enjoy your time with us. In regards to your point about agency, as is the case across the social care sector, recruitment is one of our biggest challenges which means that unfortunately, we do need to enlist the help of agency staff at times to ensure we can provide the full range of service to the people we support.As an organisation we will absolutely not tolerate the bullying of staff. Bullying and whistle blowing are matters we take very seriously and we would be interested in having a longer conversation with you about your experience to understand the specifics of this case. If you would like to discuss your review in more detail please contact Hayley Chick, HR Advisor via email - Hayley.chick@unitedresponse.org.ukThank you again for your review and I wish you the best of luck in your new role.Kind regardsJames Browne
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Never in al my years have I worked somewhere with so many incompetent managers, there is one manager who is a waste of a wage never mind managing the support of vulnerable people the things I saw were unbelievable
Pros
Lovely service users and some dedicated support staff
Cons
Lazy managers very little knowledge
Was this review helpful?
Official response from United Response
15 April 2020
Thank you for your feedback, I’m sorry your time with United Response has not been a positive experience. Your comments have been noted but please feel free to contact our HR team on recruitment@unitedresponse.org.uk if you would like to discuss this further.
  1. Employee reviews