Vision Express
3.2 out of 5 stars.
Get weekly updates, new jobs, and reviews

Vision Express Employee Reviews

Job Title
Location
Found 242 reviews matching the search
See all 310 reviews
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Regional managers change like the wind. Every year there is a recruitment freeze for 3-6 months which has a domino effect of stressing and over working remaining staff, this causes more people to leave and the situation gets worse. At one point was managing 3 stores only 1 has employed staff members the other 2 I was having to pull in staff from up to an hours drive away just to keep open. This happens every year. Clinics are also cancelled at short notice on a regular basis if minimum test numbers are not hit or the region is over budget. This leads to angry customers on a frequent basis. The admin procedures are time consuming and unnecessary repetitive such as daily and weekly reporting of KPIs that the head office and regional managers already have access to. Recognition of good sales results goes unnoticed but have a bad day or week and you won’t hear the end of it. The teams in store are what make people stay but they are being eroded by shortsighted upper management decisions. Such a shame as was once a fantastic company to work for.
Pros
Great instore teams
Cons
Poor recognition, excessive admin tasks, poor staff turnover
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Vision Express
1 February 2021
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, I am sorry to see your time with us wasn't as we would have hoped. If you would like to discuss your feedback further with us, we are always looking to improve our colleague experience, please get in touch at human.resources@visionexpress.com
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
The company is very good Good productive business place everyone is attentive workers Free coffee and free tea and drinks and always 'the company is very organic and clean
Pros
No
Cons
8hr shift
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Vision Express
1 February 2021
Thank you for leaving us a 5 star review! It is great to see that you had a great team around you to support you in your work
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Great place to work, the managers and team leaders are super helpful and friendly, they are ready to help
Pros
Voucher for glasses
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Vision Express
1 February 2021
Thank you for leaving us a 5 star review! I am glad to see your management team were supportive during your time with Vision Express
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Not supportive, poor shift patterns and last minute changes, no formal training on the shop floor and just left to do it.............
Pros
Free glasses
Cons
Long shifts poor training, poor management
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Vision Express
1 February 2021
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, I am sorry to see your time with us wasn't as we would have hoped. If you would like to discuss your feedback further with us, we are always looking to improve our colleague experience, please get in touch at human.resources@visionexpress.com
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
The rate of pay is not good for the amount of work they expect from you, they hype you up with all of these benefits of working there yet you never receive them (free eye test, money off etc) for the nearly whole year I worked there they never seemed to have time to let me have an eye test, things that were agreed on for the rota kept changing, the rest of the holiday i had was booked without being asked first. The training courses provided are not the best and most of the time are irrelevant to the job an OA does.on the plus side the coworkers/staff are friendly and nice, and very understanding, and the manager was lovely.
Pros
coworkers, and hours.
Cons
rate of pay, training, not receiving benefits they offer
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Vision Express
1 February 2021
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, I am glad to see that you had a great team around you. However, I am sorry to see your time with us wasn't as we would have hoped. If you would like to discuss your feedback further with us, we are always looking to improve our colleague experience, please get in touch at human.resources@visionexpress.com
Rate your recent company
Share your experience to help others
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Booking appointments,pre-screaning patients taking handover and dispensing recommend prescriptions helping patients choose the right pair frames for their prescription and fit there is great satisfaction helping people and making people happy with fantastic frames that they will be 100% happy with and excited to wear with pride
Pros
Breaks
Cons
Stressful at times
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Vision Express
1 February 2021
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a 5 star review! I am glad to see that you enjoyed your time at Vision Express!
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Very nice people hard working there but was ok got different times of hours to work 6-2 8-4 and 10 -6 so you can work around family. All good and was happy to be they
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Vision Express
1 February 2021
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, I am glad to see you had a great team around you and were able to work your hours around your lifestyle.
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Under appreciated. Optom was a bit of a bully. They expect you to grasp the systems quickly and the training - it is a long learning curve, expect some leeway. Customers were generally the reason I stayed there, absolutely lovely people but unfortunately, the staff and the whole business itself was dreadful
Pros
Customers
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Vision Express
1 February 2021
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, I am sorry to see your time with us wasn't as we would have hoped. If you would like to discuss your feedback further with us, we are always looking to improve our colleague experience, please get in touch at human.resources@visionexpress.com
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
I worked 3 months at Vision Express Grimsby. The only part of the job I enjoyed were the training days I spent in Nottingham. The staff made out they all got on great and described themselves as a "family", and this could not be further from the truth. They are extremely two-faced and are very stuck in their ways. I experienced several occasions where people were bad mouthing me behind my back. On one occasion I had made an error inputting data on the system (roughly 4 days after I started - and I was left alone in the initial assessment room). I overheard the optometrist complaining to another member of staff about me 'making the diary run behind due to doing it wrong', and when I actually stuck up for myself and approached the person, ensuring them that they could just tell me if I was making a mistake (as I was new and didn't fully understand yet), believe it or not, it was me that ended up being collared by management and told of for being 'confrontational'. The most horrible place I have ever worked and even if I had passed my probation (not entirely sure why I didn't), I ensure you I would've quit anyway.
Pros
Nothing
Cons
The staff
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Vision Express
1 February 2021
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, I am glad to see that you got to benefit from your training and development program during your time with us, however I am sorry to see your time wasn't as we would have hoped. If you would like to discuss your feedback further with us, we are always looking to improve our colleague experience, please get in touch at human.resources@visionexpress.com
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Culture was a bit too relaxed for work which would lead to stressful month end periods. Pay was very low for the role with no room for rises and minimal advancement.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Vision Express
1 February 2021
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, we are always looking for ways to improve our colleague's experience, if you would like to discuss your feedback further please get in touch at human.resources@visionexpress.com
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
I’ve been working at Vision Express for the past 5 years, and with every job there’s pros and cons. The biggest pro is helping customers, there’s no better feeling of success than seeing a customer happy with the service. There’s a lot of knowledge about eye care health that you need to know but you do pick this up during your training. I work with a fantastic small team. The biggest con is the salary, it’s peanuts in respect of what we do.
Pros
No two days are the same, team memebers
Cons
Salary
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Vision Express
1 February 2021
Thank you for leaving us a five star review! It is great to see you have taken full advantage of our training and development program and have a great team around you!
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
It was a fast paced environment as it is a business area where individuals want everything done asap however, it was a fun store to work in with friendly colleagues.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Vision Express
25 August 2020
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, we are glad to hear you enjoyed your time at Vision Express and had some great colleagues around you!
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
In this work, only performance matters, and maybe also whether you are accepted by long-working employees.The environment is quiet and work-friendly for people who come to work to work!
Pros
Free drinks
Cons
Good work time.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Vision Express
25 August 2020
Thank you for leaving us a review. I understand that you have spent some time in our retail fulfilment hub and glad to see that you enjoyed your time with us. We are always looking at ways to continue to improve so if you have any feedback you would like to share please do contact us at human.resources@visionexpress.com
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
- Started well with my first 2 managers - Third Manager was horrendous & allowed of 50% of my monthly salary to be taken without reason or warning! - Regional team was unsupportive of any raised issues. - Toxic environment to work in at the time, due to a lot of talking behind backs (started by the third manager)
Pros
Discount
Cons
Everything else!
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Vision Express
25 August 2020
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I am sorry to hear that your time at Vision Express isn't how we would have hoped. We are always keen to discuss feedback further, please do get in touch at human.resources@visionexpress.com
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Pandemic what pandemic ? Business as usual , no extra time for cleaning , changing ppe etc . Staff are demoralised , stressed , targets all the time , what once was a nice job has steadily turned into a money grabbing operation at the expense of the hardworking staff.Not interested in staff welfare , ticking time bomb !
Pros
Free glasses
Cons
Great if you like no lunch !
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Vision Express
25 August 2020
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. During the current pandemic we have adapted and changed our ways of working to put our colleagues and customers safety as our number one priority. I can see that you are currently working for Vision Express and I would encourage you to reach out to discuss your feedback in more detail at human.resources@visionexpress.com
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
I wouldn’t consider working for this company I’m only there because I tuped over from Tesco your stressed out all they talk about is targets which is a stress in itself let alone not enough staff
Pros
Free glasses
Cons
The pay
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Vision Express
25 August 2020
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I can see that you are currently a colleague of ours and I would encourage you to reach out to discuss your feedback further at human.resources@visionexpress.com
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Working at vision express varied wildly day to day. Often running clinics solo, and at 3 tests per hour it can be a little stressful. Typical customers you'd find in a retail setting especially since it's so sales focused. I enjoyed the training at HQ, it was much more prolific than at previous opticians. Regional managers far to inconsistent in their approach and switch regions far to often. Dispensing software is oddly convoluted. It needs a complete rework from the ground up to make it more intuitive. As a result some processes are overly complex.
Pros
Free pair glasses each year
Cons
Work life balance is nil if you want to progress.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Vision Express
25 August 2020
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.It is great to see that you got to take full advantage of our training and development program at Vision Express and were able to progress during your time with us.We are always looking for ways to continuously improve and your feedback is invaluable for this, should you have any further feedback you wish to share, please get in touch at human.resources@visionexpress.com
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
After working in Poole store for nearly 5 years the only thing kept me going was the customers. Very clicky staff especially with manager. The job its self is great. I would never have left if a certain someone didn't rub me up the wrong way and it was 2 against 1. 1 being manager so i didn't stand a chance.
Pros
The customers money ok.
Cons
Clicky company.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Vision Express
25 August 2020
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. It is great to hear that you made some strong relationships with our customers in your local store. We are sorry to hear that your time in store isn't how we would have hoped, if you would like to discuss further please contact us at human.resources@visionexpress.com
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Incredibly high pressure with very little support. Poor pay for responsibilities. Feedback is not appreciated or taken on board by senior management. Very much thrown in.
Pros
If you play the game and your face fits, you will be promoted
Cons
Low pay at all levels.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Vision Express
25 August 2020
We are sorry to hear that your time at Vision Express wasn't how we had hoped. We are disappointed to see that you didn't get to take full advantage of our store manager training program. We have recently made some exciting changes to the way our training is delivered to our colleagues based on valuable feedback from our teams. We would encourage for you to make contact to discuss in more detail at human.resources@visionexpress.com
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Extremely poor wage and unrealistic expectations for staff. All the benefits go to those who are higher up that aren't putting in the work. Stressful, often short staffed due to be staff leaving all the time, generally as a result of very poor treatment. Low salary and wages were messed up all the time. Not paid for performing a higher job role.
Pros
Nothing.
Cons
Everything.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Vision Express
25 August 2020
I am sorry to see that your time at Vision Express wasn't as we would have hoped. I would encourage you to get in touch with us at human.resources@visionexpress.com to discuss your feedback further.
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Really enjoyed working there. Learned a multitude of interesting things rated to the eyes and importance of an eye test. Great team and great chances of promotions .
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Vision Express
25 August 2020
Thank you for leaving us a great review! I am glad to see you got to take full advantage of our training and development program.
  1. Employee reviews