West Sussex County Council
Happiness score is 58 out of 100
4.0 out of 5 stars.
Write a review

West Sussex County Council Employee Reviews

Review this company
Job Title
All
Location
United Kingdom126 reviews

Ratings by category

3.7Work-life balance

Sort by

HelpfulnessRatingDate
Found 126 reviews matching the searchSee all 131 reviews
councilwestrolechildcolleaguerewardingteamsupport

Fine

Indeed featured review

The most useful review selected by Indeed
Just like working for any other council. No problem. HR are fine and helpful if needed, though I have no involvement directly with the council. They just pay my salary and day to day life is distracted by school.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from West Sussex County Council

11 January 2023
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review, We're happy to hear that the experience you've had so far has been positive, and wish you all the best for your future with us. Many Thanks, Savannah

Great colleagues but toxic senior management

The culture at WSCC steadily deteriorated in the time I worked there. Funding cuts led to increasing redundancies even as workloads increased, but this was rarely appreciated by senior management. A revolving door of interims at the top of the organisation meant there was no real long term thinking.

Pros

Supportive colleagues

Cons

Unsustainable workloads, toxic senior management culture
Was this review helpful?

Official response from West Sussex County Council

11 January 2023
Hello, thank you for taking the time to leave your comment. We're sorry to hear you haven't had a good experience at West Sussex and would appreciate it if you could get in touch to tell us about your experiences in more detail if you feel comfortable. Please contact us at savannah.whitefoot@westsussex.gov.uk for a conversation.Thanks,Savannah

Insights into West Sussex County Council

Based on 27 survey responses
Areas for improvement
  • Fair pay for job
  • Energising work tasks
  • Sense of belonging

Bad management and bad culture

Poor management, no vision, values not lived. Long hours.not commercially minded. There was no clear direction and no clear career path. not listened to and wasting public money

Pros

There were some colleagues that displayed the values

Cons

I don’t know where to start just awful
Was this review helpful?

Official response from West Sussex County Council

11 January 2023
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and we are sorry that you have had a negative experience working for WSCC. If you feel comfortable to discuss this further, we would like to understand the issues you have experienced in more detail so that we can address them appropriately. Please contact us at savannah.whitefoot@westsussex.gov.uk.Many thanks, Savannah

Good, not too friendly though

Enjoyed working here, people were nice but management were not brilliant. The role involved lots of communication. if you are good at your job they tend to rely heavily on you and get you to do more and more which is unfair.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from West Sussex County Council

10 October 2022
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We're happy to hear that you've had a mostly positive experience at West Sussex and would like to understand more about your comments regarding management. If you feel comfortable, please get in touch with us, in confidence, to share more details about your experience. Email, megan.pritchard@westsussex.gov.ukMany thanks,Megan

Flexible workplace

This company enables staff to work flexibly to suit business and family life, creating opportunities for good work life balance. Staff are committed to improving outcomes of local residents. It feels a positive place to work.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from West Sussex County Council

31 August 2022
Hello, thank you so much for taking the time to leave your review. We're glad you've had such a positive experience at West Sussex and wish you all the best for your future with us. Thanks, Megan.

Rate your recent company

Share your experience to help others

Chaotic, disfunctional, working against themselves.

Lots of frustrated staff grinning and bearing a confused, under-skilled and arrogant management system that’s is failing to apply even basic best practice.

Pros

Easy ride if your unambitious

Cons

Frustrating if you care about excellence
Was this review helpful?

Official response from West Sussex County Council

30 May 2022
Hello, thank you for taking the time to leave your comment. We're sorry to hear you haven't had a good experience at West Sussex and would appreciate it if you could get in touch to tell us about your experiences in more detail. If you feel comfortable, please email megan.pritchard@westsussex.gov.uk for an anonymous conversation. Thanks,Megan

Perfect place to start your career

I began my first full time job at the council as an apprentice. They paid me an actual full time wage and have been incredibly supportive and patient.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from West Sussex County Council

17 March 2022
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We're really happy to hear that you've had such a positive experience during your Apprenticeship. Many thanks, Megan.

Awful

One of the worst places I’ve ever worked. Constant backstabbing and unsupportive colleagues. No support from management, long serving staff are able to trade on their longevity even if they are lying and unprofessional.Awful organisational culture

Pros

None

Cons

Literally everything
Was this review helpful?

Official response from West Sussex County Council

17 March 2022
Hello, firstly, thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we really appreciate your feedback. We're sorry to hear that you haven't had a positive experience during your time at WSCC and would appreciate it if you could get in touch to tell us about your experiences in more detail. If you feel comfortable, please email megan.pritchard@westsussex.gov.uk.Many thanks, Megan

Wonderful Employer

Great job satisfaction, work with a variety of different people from different backgrounds. Colleagues are fantastic and plenty of chances for progression. Genuinely the best employer I’ve ever worked for in my 10+ years of employment.

Pros

Plenty of discounts with company rewards scheme
Was this review helpful?

Oh dear !

Considering I was working in an educational establishment I was amazed at how little intelligence there seemed to be amongst the teaching staff and as a parent I'm disgusted at the way the "little people" , as one teacher referred to a pupils parents, are treated.

Pros

Didnt have to poke myself in the eye everyday

Cons

Felt like someone was poking me in the eye everyday as i always seemed to have a head ache
Was this review helpful?

Great job just needs larger contacts

Good people to work with and Managment help where they can. Up to date vehicles some are autos and the give good training and supply PPE. just do your job properly and you are left alone, ideal. Perfect job if there was more hours available

Pros

Keep bus at home and good hours

Cons

Lack of hours available
Was this review helpful?

Relaxed and friendly working place

I have joined the council in 2019 and since then been working within the Fire and Rescue team. It is a great place to be with a strong feeling of communal support and friendliness. What I like is that my manager doesn't micro manage me and let me do my job and she also trusts that I'd provide the greatest support within my ability.

Pros

Local govt pensions, flexible working hours

Cons

pay is less than industry standard
Was this review helpful?

Great and Friendly place to work

Great place to work for. Great management. Great pay. Everyday a fresh challenge. You make a difference to people and you feel appreciated by the managers, team and the community in general. Welcoming and Friendly. Great communication. Just wish it was a permanent job.

Pros

Pay/Team Work/Management/Training

Cons

Sometimes Quiet, but great when the calls happen
Was this review helpful?

Feel overall satisfied

Yes liked working sometime feel stressed. Found difficult to take time off from work to attend hospital appointments for my husband. Didn’t have enough staff to cover.

Pros

Only morning session

Cons

No breaks
Was this review helpful?

Pleasant but challenging environment to work in

Most work days are hectic, with multiple tasks and issues to deal with, and inconsistent support and resources to support you in this. Workplace environment can be good, dependent on where you are. Other staff are generally helpful and sociable. Quality of management is very mixed, and often not very collaborative. The organisation has had consistent changes in senior management, with some senior managers choosing to move on, and others being forced to. Hence continual poor Ofsted ratings.

Pros

opportunities to move around in roles in the organisation

Cons

Often pressured and stressed environment
Was this review helpful?

Official response from West Sussex County Council

30 September 2022
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review, we appreciate it. We're glad that you've found colleagues helpful and sociable. We are sorry to hear that you have often been in a pressured, stressful environment and would be keen to hear more about your experiences so we can prevent this happening to other colleagues. If you are willing, please contact me, in confidence at megan.pritchard@westsussex.gov.uk. Thanks, Megan

enjoyable

supported good team work, location was great for me as i live in worthing, lots of potential to progress, lots of training available - worked from home occassionally, enjoy meeting people in the community

Pros

local
Was this review helpful?

Good, flexible and nice environment

Good company, fair wages, flexible working. Good benefits, restaurant on site. Parking an issue. Training available. Nice office environment with good facilities.
Was this review helpful?

Supportive

I found my student placement very helpful and I gained experience of the workplace. Everyone was very kind, supportive and patient of me. I would recommend this work placement to any student who is interested in helping families or children
Was this review helpful?

Opportunities for different roles

I have had several different roles within West Sussex County Council, there are good opportunities to change and move location, if you like to challenge yourself.
Was this review helpful?

Friendly work place

friendly work place very customer focused it depends on what department you work for as to what your job role would entail but overall i feel this is a good company to work for
Was this review helpful?

Very Poor Workplace

You do the same thing all day. There are staff who do no work and nothing is done about them, there is no management and no direction. The management do not care at all.
Was this review helpful?

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at West Sussex County Council. Our community is ready to answer.Ask a Question

Overall rating

Based on 131 reviews

Ratings by category

3.7 out of 5 stars for Work/Life Balance
3.5 out of 5 stars for Salary/Benefits
3.5 out of 5 stars for Job security/advancement
3.5 out of 5 stars for Management
3.6 out of 5 stars for Culture

Compare West Sussex County Council with

Learn about West Sussex County Council in popular locations

  • Companies
  • West Sussex County Council
  • Employee reviews