YODEL
Happiness score is 43 out of 100
2.8 out of 5 stars.
Write a review

YODEL Work-life balance reviews

Review this company
Job Title
All
Location
United Kingdom882 reviews

Ratings by category

Clear
2.7Work-life balance
2.6Pay & benefits

Search reviews

Sort by

HelpfulnessRatingDate
Found 312 reviews matching the searchSee all 890 reviews

wasnt my thing

Indeed featured review

The most useful review selected by Indeed
wasnt really my thing but not bad can work for people who thrive in that kind of stuff. finding houses was a pain and there was a lot of parcels and when people didnt answer doors it was fustrating.

Pros

work on your own

Cons

some places are impossible to find
Was this review helpful?

Official response from YODEL

16 August 2022
Hello,We appreciate your honest feedback - thank you!We will ensure this is fed back to the wider Yodel team. Thanks again, Team Yodel

Avoid this company

Self employment system, if you feel sick you must work work work if you don't next day you'll have to do all deliveries for yesterday you left so you gonna sick again...
Was this review helpful?

Official response from YODEL

15 July 2022
Thank you for taking the time to review Yodel. Firstly, we’re sorry to hear about the experience you had whilst working with us. Please feel rest assured that we take all feedback onboard and will endeavour to investigate further.With that said, it would be great to get some more detailed feedback therefore if you would like to get in touch please send your details to feedback@yodel.co.ukThanks again, Team Yodel

Insights into YODEL

Based on 158 survey responses
Areas for improvement
  • Ability to learn new things
  • Sense of belonging
  • Support from manager

Very pour management

Good drivers but the worst management ever Kilmarnock depo👎And not starting work till 12 or 1 in the afternoon is not the best way to get delivery’s done,we were going to doors after 10 o’clock at night at some points in the week,if you could get your drivers out on the road earlier then that wouldn’t be happening,but at the Kilmarnock depo it’s the management that needs to be changed,just not management in my eyes from top till bottom.as I said just in the Kilmarnock depo.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from YODEL

15 July 2022
Thank you for taking the time to review Yodel. Firstly, we’re sorry to hear about the experience you had whilst working with us. Please feel rest assured that we take all feedback onboard and will endeavour to investigate further.With that said, it would be great to get some more detailed feedback therefore if you would like to get in touch please send your details to feedback@yodel.co.ukThanks again, Team Yodel

I soon realised someone who wasn’t fit couldn’t do this job luckily I was fit enough 😐

I done nite shift enjoyed it but cos I had to bike 5 miles to work in the end it changed my outlook on it i then realised 2 miles was manageable it was too tiring to then be on feet after but I was gutted if hadn’t had to relocate where lived would stayed there 🙄

Pros

Gud people

Cons

Long hours and waiting for lorries
Was this review helpful?

Official response from YODEL

20 June 2022
Hello, thank you for taking the time to leave feedback. We are very happy to read that your experience with us was positive. I’ll be sure to share your feedback with the wider team. Thanks again, Team Yodel

YODEL = Bad, Subcontractor company = Good

Anyone I have come across working directly for Yodel have been unhelpful, unsupportive, self driven and never care about the drivers as we are easily replaced. eg: Ask for time off even for personal or family time and they threaten to take your route off you.Subcontractor companies who actually do the majority of the work for Yodel have been very supportive throughout and actively support you in all areas of your work.

Pros

flexible start times

Cons

long hours, pay cuts, paid per parcel so will expect a parcel to be delivered even when it will mean you LOSE money
Was this review helpful?

Official response from YODEL

20 June 2022
Thank you for taking the time to review Yodel. Firstly, we’re sorry to hear about the experience you had whilst working with us. Please feel rest assured that we take all feedback onboard and will endeavour to investigate further.With that said, it would be great to get some more detailed feedback therefore if you would like to get in touch please send your details to feedback@yodel.co.ukThanks again, Team Yodel

Rate your recent company

Share your experience to help others

Unorganised and Demanding

For the low pay you receive, this job is very demanding. You are expected to stay on until the job is finished. You are not respected by the management. Even though the rate is low, you're expected to work hard when treated poorly. It's not a company I would recommend.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from YODEL

20 June 2022
Thank you for taking the time to review Yodel. Firstly, we’re sorry to hear about the experience you had whilst working with us. Please feel rest assured that we take all feedback onboard and will endeavour to investigate further.With that said, it would be great to get some more detailed feedback therefore if you would like to get in touch please send your details to feedback@yodel.co.ukThanks again, Team Yodel

Too much that expected to delivered

No good salary . Hard work. To many middle man agency. Unworthy job.late loading and incorrect time slot. Poor environment salary unworthy long shift hours

Pros

No break

Cons

Long hours
Was this review helpful?

Official response from YODEL

20 June 2022
Thank you for taking the time to review Yodel. Firstly, we’re sorry to hear about the experience you had whilst working with us. Please feel rest assured that we take all feedback onboard and will endeavour to investigate further.With that said, it would be great to get some more detailed feedback therefore if you would like to get in touch please send your details to feedback@yodel.co.ukThanks again, Team Yodel

Hard

The work is hard, break time is very small, money is worth the job, they need to improve in timing of the job so as to make it flexible for individuals
Was this review helpful?

Official response from YODEL

20 June 2022
Hello,We appreciate your honest feedback - thank you!Please be ensured this will be fed back to the wider Yodel team. Thanks again, Team Yodel

Drivers great..management have no man management skills

Yodel under pay you Put vast amount of pressure on you talk to you with utter lack of respect Have no duty of care for there drivers no matter how many hours they do driving

Cons

Extremely long hours
Was this review helpful?

Official response from YODEL

20 June 2022
Thank you for taking the time to review Yodel. We’re sorry to hear about the experience you had whilst working with us. Please feel rest assured that we take all feedback onboard and will endeavour to investigate further.With that said, it would be great to get some more detailed feedback therefore if you would like to get in touch please send your details to feedback@yodel.co.ukThanks again, Team Yodel

You can make a difference here

Working in parcels is a tough job but you really feel part of a team here. Each service centre is like a family so if you are willing to work hard, you will be recognised for it. Would 100% recommend working at Yodel.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from YODEL

20 June 2022
Thank you for taking the time out to leave a 5* review. We really appreciate your feedback and will ensure this is fed back to the wider Yodel team. Thank you for all the hard work you have done for us so far!Team Yodel

Hard work and no hone time

The management don't look after their employees, they expect you to work 6 days a week and upto 12 hours a day, booking a holiday is a nightmare and the warehouse manager speaks to the drivers like something on the bottom of their shoe, I would never recommend anyone to work for this company

Pros

None

Cons

Long hours
Was this review helpful?

Official response from YODEL

17 May 2022
Thank you for taking the time to review Yodel. Firstly, we’re sorry to hear about the experience you had whilst working with us. Please feel rest assured that we take all feedback onboard and will endeavour to investigate further.With that said, it would be great to get some more detailed feedback therefore if you would like to get in touch please send your details to feedback@yodel.co.ukThanks again, Team Yodel

no improvement and poor organization

I worked for 8 years in yodel. For all these years nothing has improved. The organization of work in the landfill is very low. Very often the trucks are late and work starts very late. Even the last two months have reduced the price for parcels and the money you earn not enough for a normal life.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from YODEL

17 May 2022
Thank you for taking the time to review Yodel. Firstly, we’re sorry to hear about the experience you had whilst working with us. Please feel rest assured that we take all feedback onboard and will endeavour to investigate further.With that said, it would be great to get some more detailed feedback therefore if you would like to get in touch please send your details to feedback@yodel.co.ukThanks again, Team Yodel

Very nondescript interview where allyou did was turn up

Awful company if i’m honest with low pay and rude people in the office , one afternoon of training and very little support , i would never ever go back to them or recommend them to anyone .Lots of people i know left after a couple of weeks , they give you packages that are over a 5 min drive away so to get back to your route you sometimes drive for over 10 mins going backwards and forwards for 85p , it’s an awful stressful job. You spend about 40 mins scanning your packages and then around 20 mins siting your route out, that’s 1hour per day before you start your job You need to be desperate to work there

Pros

use your own car and self employed are all i can think of

Cons

long hours, 8-10 hours work for about £85 and you have to take out your fuel costs too
Was this review helpful?

Official response from YODEL

11 February 2022
Thank you for taking the time to review Yodel. Firstly, we’re sorry to hear about the experience you had whilst working with us. Please feel rest assured that we take all feedback onboard and will endeavour to investigate further.With that said, it would be great to get some more detailed feedback therefore if you would like to get in touch please send your details to feedback@yodel.co.ukThanks again, Team Yodel

Fun

The best 7 years as a delivery driver in Yodel.I feed my family and had a 7 wonderful years with this company.Hopefully soon they will compete with the other delivery companies.

Pros

Good and friendly place

Cons

Long hours sometimes
Was this review helpful?

Official response from YODEL

25 January 2022
Thank you for leaving us a 5* review! It's fantastic to hear that you enjoy your delivery driver job with us and even better to hear about your positive experience. We hope you enjoy your future with us and stay being a part of the Yodel family for much longerThanks again, Team Yodel

poor,clueless "Managers"

Run as far as you can from this company don’t waist you time energy effort or contemplate of working for Yodel.! poor management,idiotic "under managers"it didn't matter how hard you tried it was never appreciated. Very early start and not getting home till 0pm most days.avoid avoid!

Pros

none

Cons

long hours
Was this review helpful?

Official response from YODEL

25 January 2022
Thank you for taking the time to review Yodel. Firstly, we’re sorry to hear about the experience you had whilst working with us. Please feel rest assured that we take all feedback onboard and will endeavour to investigate further.With that said, it would be great to get some more detailed feedback therefore if you would like to get in touch please send your details to feedback@yodel.co.ukThanks again, Team Yodel

Terrible Place to Work

Warning if you are working at this place via an agency, don't even bother.Still have not been paid for the work I have done even a month after me leaving, they put my finish times 30 minutes before I actually finished and still have not paid me for that work.No Induction when you come in everyone just starts at 2am and you are expected to know what to do, no one is assigned to train you, you just have to find out from other who have only been working there a week as well.2am start time meant I had to leave 3 hours before because of the trains stopping at 11pmThe night manager was the only redeeming apart about this place but apart from that stay clear of this place it is not worth your breath

Pros

None

Cons

2am Start, Underpaid Consistently
Was this review helpful?

Official response from YODEL

25 January 2022
Thank you for taking the time to review Yodel. Firstly, we’re sorry to hear about the experience you had whilst working with us. Please feel rest assured that we take all feedback onboard and will endeavour to investigate further.With that said, it would be great to get some more detailed feedback therefore if you would like to get in touch please send your details to feedback@yodel.co.ukThanks again, Team Yodel

Horrible company

Not a good company to work for owed wages still and not very polite in the office and treat there employees like they are in prison not a very good work environment

Pros

Nothing

Cons

Really long hours
Was this review helpful?

Official response from YODEL

16 November 2021
Thank you for taking the time to review Yodel. Firstly, we’re sorry to hear about the experience you had whilst working with us. Please feel rest assured that we take all feedback onboard and will endeavour to investigate further. With that said, it would be great to get some more detailed feedback therefore if you would like to get in touch please send your details to feedback@yodel.co.uk Thanks again, Team Yodel

Rubbish , stressful and no management

Management is absolutely awful, lot of delivery with big and heavy stuff for low money. No help from management at all. They didn't realize how the bills and price is rising, just give a rubbish money

Pros

Everything pay youself

Cons

Long hours
Was this review helpful?

Official response from YODEL

16 November 2021
Thank you for taking the time to review Yodel. Firstly, we’re sorry to hear about the experience you had whilst working with us. Please feel rest assured that we take all feedback onboard and will endeavour to investigate further. With that said, it would be great to get some more detailed feedback therefore if you would like to get in touch please send your details to feedback@yodel.co.uk Thanks again, Team Yodel

Understaffed, back breaking work!

If you want to get fit this job is perfect. But the lack of staff makes this job unsustainable. Parcels flying everywhere,no health and safety, everyone overworked and stressed. Parcels getting crushed because a lack of organisation. I kept on asking myself is this a joke! How can a company be run like this! If you don't mind working at a breakneck speed in an unorganised mess non stop for 8 or 9 hours then go for it, not for me. The lads you work with are great tho! Just feel sorry for them :(

Pros

Getting fit.

Cons

Long Hours, Back breaking work, Unorganised Chaos!
Was this review helpful?

Official response from YODEL

16 November 2021
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We’d love to learn more about your experiences and how we can improve. Please email us at feedback@yodel.co.uk

too long

Too much time spent in the depot at the start of the day, needs to be streamlined to make it more efficient. If they could sort that it would have been a lot better. Pay also needs to increase not decrease.

Pros

sometimes van home

Cons

very long hours
Was this review helpful?

Official response from YODEL

16 November 2021
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We’d love to learn more about your experiences and how we can improve. Please email us at feedback@yodel.co.uk

11-8/9 none stop

Sorting parcels into correct postcode, Sorting through piles of parcels which were thrown on the floor into postcode cage ready to be sorted. Overtime pay is very poor. Worked hard and really grafted hoping for a contract, got told maybe I'd get one then new starter was told if HE liked it they'd give him contract at the end of the week, he was told this on his first night.

Pros

None

Cons

Long hours, overtime is time and quarter. Not worth it
Was this review helpful?

Official response from YODEL

26 January 2022
Thank you for taking the time to review Yodel. Firstly, we’re sorry to hear about the experience you had whilst working with us. Please feel rest assured that we take all feedback onboard and will endeavour to investigate further.With that said, it would be great to get some more detailed feedback therefore if you would like to get in touch please send your details to feedback@yodel.co.ukThanks again, Team Yodel

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at YODEL. Our community is ready to answer.Ask a Question

Overall rating

Based on 890 reviews

Ratings by category

2.7 out of 5 stars for Work/Life Balance
2.6 out of 5 stars for Salary/Benefits
2.4 out of 5 stars for Job security/advancement
2.6 out of 5 stars for Management
2.7 out of 5 stars for Culture

Compare YODEL with

Learn about YODEL in popular locations

  • Companies
  • YODEL
  • Employee reviews
  • Work-life balance
Tell us how to improve this page
What would you add or change?